Proposal Ring - Part 3

kyteo79

If the guy paid according to how much he can afford, and if the girl rejects the proposal because of the size of the ring, then i would say she is very materialistic and the guy deserves better.

you mentioned the gem too big dun suit the princess hands mah ...

CheeRs87

Thanks for you for all the advises guys! I did some digging...
1) She wants the diamond to cover about 50-75% of her finger
2) Doesn't like too fancy design but dont want it too boring either (this is a very vague.....)
3) Must be very sparkly - I assume this is to do with the cut

I read JP's blog and saw that there is different types of cut. Super ideal cut, Solasfera, Octagon, etc. Are they just different shape but same quality? Or different quality? Is the Super ideal cut meant to be the best?

Sorry for the many qns :o

hisdearqueen

Thanks for you for all the advises guys! I did some digging...
1) She wants the diamond to cover about 50-75% of her finger
2) Doesn't like too fancy design but dont want it too boring either (this is a very vague.....)
3) Must be very sparkly - I assume this is to do with the cut

I read JP's blog and saw that there is different types of cut. Super ideal cut, Solasfera, Octagon, etc. Are they just different shape but same quality? Or different quality? Is the Super ideal cut meant to be the best?

Sorry for the many qns :o

1) I think JP facebook page today got a picture of how different carats look on a hand :) how big is her finger though? A 0.5carat covers like only 30% of my finger. :o

2) means your filagrees don't too kuazhang? anyway some girls like solitaires cos classic, some find it "boring". Maybe can consider side melees. This you have to probe more ahaha maybe show her some pictures, listen to her comments and work from there. Eg: ask her, This one not bad hor? If she says eeyerrrr then you know haha out.

3) No shape is better than one! :p super ideal is just the best of round ones. So doesn't mean you get any other shape it is "lousier". Depends more on cut!

bb_100

Go see part 1 and part 2. Part 3 mostly just JP scope pictures. Part 2 had the most info I think

This I agree.

Fellas who bought Super Ideals, Solasfera, Octagon, also need to post scope images and request for "review". Those already the best liao review what sai???

It is like getting 100 marks for your exam and still ask your teacher to check if there are any mistakes.

mero_cwj

This I agree.

Fellas who bought Super Ideals, Solasfera, Octagon, also need to post scope images and request for "review". Those already the best liao review what sai???

It is like getting 100 marks for your exam and still ask your teacher to check if there are any mistakes.
No lah a lot of people don't know. So they will ask cos unsure mah. I also did the same thing cos I was unsure

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX using GAGT

bb_100

No lah a lot of people don't know. So they will ask cos unsure mah. I also did the same thing cos I was unsure

Should know one mahh after attending the one-hour JannPaul diamond lecture. Solasfera for example has a blood red ASET image throughout, some more what you expect people to comment?

"Bro, there is a tiny blue patch at the top right corner lahh, this Solasfera no good" like this mehh bro?

While this thread is open for forum members to post whatever they want about their engagement rings, please don't anyhow post stuff lahh. It makes it difficult for people who really wanna look for info here.

darkfox

this part 3 thread is mostly JP biased.. not sure if it's because they are really so good or the entire Singapore only has one reputable jeweller.

chottohen

this part 3 thread is mostly JP biased.. not sure if it's because they are really so good or the entire Singapore only has one reputable jeweller.

I visited 6 different jewelers before buying my ring in 2014 from JP. JP is miles ahead in terms of their diamonds (price and quality). No other jeweler even came close.

xiaolaohu

Finally I have read through 200+ pages... but I still feel new here.. It seemed like JP has quite a lot of good reviews. Hence, I decided to book an appointment with them for this sat.. I have a Budget of 3k to 3.5k for everything (ring plus diamond).. What do you think I can get with this Budget?

kyteo79

Finally I have read through 200+ pages... but I still feel new here.. It seemed like JP has quite a lot of good reviews. Hence, I decided to book an appointment with them for this sat.. I have a Budget of 3k to 3.5k for everything (ring plus diamond).. What do you think I can get with this Budget?

they will tell you on the spot so dun worry ..

mero_cwj

My advice is for your budget, skip the super ideals and fancy cuts from JP, ask them to recommend an ideal quality round brilliant cut from house of hung stocks. The differences between super ideal and ideal is not very apparent at smaller carat weights.

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX using GAGT

KinoChoco

agree with mero's suggestion, go for ideal cut F/G color, VS2 clarity and maximize your carat. If you're only looking for simple ring design (without side diamonds), the setting should only set you back about 600-700, so you got 2.8-2.9k for your diamond.

xiaolaohu

agree with mero's suggestion, go for ideal cut F/G color, VS2 clarity and maximize your carat. If you're only looking for simple ring design (without side diamonds), the setting should only set you back about 600-700, so you got 2.8-2.9k for your diamond.

Thanks for your advice. What will be the carat size?

KinoChoco

Thanks for your advice. What will be the carat size?

I can't remember the pricing for ideal cut, but 2.9k maybe 0.4 above or 0.5.

Do note that their ideal cuts are under house of hung, they are related companies...House of Hung's son is one of the main partner in Jann Paul.

Dont worry about their diamond quality, they are classified as Ideal by Jann Paul altho the stocks are HOH's so the quality is there, not some random dodgy diamonds.

Jack CWK

FYI, I bought one from JP:
Octagon 0.43ct E VS2 including default setting with around SGD3.7K :)
Just got back the ring from resizing few weeks back... great service by JP
My fiancee loves the octagon diamond a lot... probably is a good option... :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.