Proposal Ring - Part 3

kyteo79

FYI, I bought one from JP:
Octagon 0.43ct E VS2 including default setting with around SGD3.7K :)
Just got back the ring from resizing few weeks back... great service by JP
My fiancee loves the octagon diamond a lot... probably is a good option... :)

congrats ...

kyteo79

Don't feel like getting the stock from House of hung ..

you happy where spend money ... just go ... dun be restricted by brands, shop name, sales person attitude, etc .. it is your money, your call... HOH or JP or Overseas dealers

xiaolaohu

Feel like it is like sub of JP, hence don't feel any much assurance/comfort. So rather get directly from JP. Just personal feel.

xiaolaohu

FYI, I bought one from JP:
Octagon 0.43ct E VS2 including default setting with around SGD3.7K :)
Just got back the ring from resizing few weeks back... great service by JP
My fiancee loves the octagon diamond a lot... probably is a good option... :)

Thanks Jack for sharing. I think it is worth for me to consider this as well.

kyteo79

Feel like it is like sub of JP, hence don't feel any much assurance/comfort. So rather get directly from JP. Just personal feel.

Yeah ... then get from JP direct loh...

Funny thing is they push me to HOH as well ... when i ask for JP

KinoChoco

Like i said, house of hung is their parents company, JP can sell both JP and HOH's stocks. However, if you're talking about JP's stocks then they only carry signature cuts, which like what me and mero mentioned that based on your budget, it might be better for you to get HOH Ideal rather than JP Super ideal.

Super ideal might only be like 5-10% sparkier than ideal....and i always think that a decent size (IMO) should be at least 0.5, which i suspect based on your budget, you might not be able to get super ideal 0.5.

JP might recommend either JP or HOH's diamonds based on your requirements and budget, it's not surprising, after all they are not commission based, they will recommend whats best for you :)

CheeRs87

1) I think JP facebook page today got a picture of how different carats look on a hand :) how big is her finger though? A 0.5carat covers like only 30% of my finger. :o

2) means your filagrees don't too kuazhang? anyway some girls like solitaires cos classic, some find it "boring". Maybe can consider side melees. This you have to probe more ahaha maybe show her some pictures, listen to her comments and work from there. Eg: ask her, This one not bad hor? If she says eeyerrrr then you know haha out.

3) No shape is better than one! :p super ideal is just the best of round ones. So doesn't mean you get any other shape it is "lousier". Depends more on cut!

I went down JP already. I was assisted by Casey. Very humble and nice guy.. only at the end of the appt I realised he's one of the partners there. omg..

I chopped their Super ideal cut 0.61 F VS1. Originally I wanted their Solasfera but they didnt have much left. I think you guys here cleared their Solasfera stocks issit? Sibei hot cake leh~ They didnt have any left in 0.3-0.6ct liao.

The 0.6ct should be covering about 60% of her finger. I used my last finger which is around her 4th finger size to estimate. I even used a ruler and photo to measure :s13: Somehow I feel it looks damn big leh... 60% of finger doesnt sound much but when I see it physically, waaaaa.... Think looks abit big ah.. I'm not sure if my gf really knows what she's talking about when she hint me 50-75%. She only use her imagination to guess and never see a diamond on her finger before.

JHRN8z6.jpg

I KIVed this 3 designs. I like the 4 arms over the 6. Can see more of the main diamond. I believe these designs is towards the direction of her ''simple but yet unique''. lol

8O2jmDh.jpg

I'm leaning to this one the most. There's a tiny diamond on the setting also. Might change it to a pink sapphire.

I remembered someone recommending the best credit card for rebates. I just applied the UOB one card and will swipe it there every month and maximize the cash rebate. Any particular conditions I need to pay attention to? Or go there swipe the monthly max and the rest is auto liao right?

gRyTfKb.jpg

bb_100

I remembered someone recommending the best credit card for rebates. I just applied the UOB one card and will swipe it there every month and maximize the cash rebate. Any particular conditions I need to pay attention to? Or go there swipe the monthly max and the rest is auto liao right?

They have one of the most flexible and straightforward payment methods in Singapore, JB and some say Batam!

Once you have decided on your diamond, just tell them that you will go down and manually swipe every month then can liao. Don't even have to mention how much. Can even swipe $500 if you are a bit tight on that particular month. They know exactly what you are trying to do lahh...maximise cashback. As long as you finish paying before you collect your ring then you are fine.

That's exactly what I did. My ring is due to be completed next month and I still have a small balance left. So when I go and collect my ring I will pay up the balance then all is good liao.

Ohh yes, I am using Amex True Cashback Card. 3% cashback for the first $5,000 and 1.5% thereafter.

xiaolaohu

I went JP over the weekend assisted by Sam. I have to agree with most of the people here that they have an excellent service. He went through every single steps to explain how to see the quality of the diamond, under different circumstances (e.g. day light, fluorescent, etc...). I have showed him few photos, including the size of the ring of my gf middle finger. Based on that, he is able to gauge roughly the size of the proposal ring. The budget I told him is between 3k to 3.5k, and he recommended the following with no hard selling:

0.42 - D VS1 - 2950
0.43 - D VS1 - 3050
0.43 - E VS1 - 2800

At the end of the day, I decided to go for 0.43 D (VS1). I think I got a good deal (GIA report - 6232024737). Anyone want to give further advice?

zzzzzz87

I went JP over the weekend assisted by Sam. I have to agree with most of the people here that they have an excellent service. He went through every single steps to explain how to see the quality of the diamond, under different circumstances (e.g. day light, fluorescent, etc...). I have showed him few photos, including the size of the ring of my gf middle finger. Based on that, he is able to gauge roughly the size of the proposal ring. The budget I told him is between 3k to 3.5k, and he recommended the following with no hard selling:

0.42 - D VS1 - 2950
0.43 - D VS1 - 3050
0.43 - E VS1 - 2800

At the end of the day, I decided to go for 0.43 D (VS1). I think I got a good deal (GIA report - 6232024737). Anyone want to give further advice?
i think D and E difference under naked eye is not too obvious so taking the last option would also be alright :)

bb_100

0.42 - D VS1 - 2950
0.43 - D VS1 - 3050
0.43 - E VS1 - 2800

Agree with bro zzzzz87. D and E hardly any difference so not worth spending $250 more.

Have you gotten the scope images?

KinoChoco

Oops, sorry.

My mistake. It is $250 extra for the D colour. The $250 can use to up your carat weight or make a more fancy setting.

IMO, paying 250 more for a 'perfect' color, i wont mind. but up to individual la haha.

Are these super ideals or ideals?

xiaolaohu

Bro, I had mentioned that I went for 0.43 D (VS1)... ya.. what I trying to say is more on what you guys think of this purchase.. psps..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.