Proposal Ring - Part 3

MikeLou

Woah, came across this threat and found out there are still many options, I means jewellery shops to choose from.

Been survey around for a diamond proposal ring with a very low budget of $2-$3k.
Went to following reputable stores and realised that my budget is fall under 0.3c range.

SK: 0.31c, H, VS2: $2700 (with 18k white gold setting)
PH: 0.32c, D, VS1: $2700; 0.33c, D, VVS2: $2900 (with 18k white rose gold setting)
GH: 0.33c, F, VVS2: $2800 (with 18k white gold setting)
LH: 0.32c, E, VVS2: $3788 (with 18k white gold setting)

Which one is more worth?

Below are some information for you guy information as well,
SooKee: 0.55c, H, Sil: $4600
LH: 0.56, G, VVS2: $8600
Tiffany: 0.59, I, VS1: $8500

By the way, what is BN? HOH and MK seems like another good options as well, but any review of these stores?

For that price, you can easily get a 0.4ct Super ideal cut from JP liao. Summore the quality will be way better. A 0.3ct Super ideal cut is only 1k+.

Miltah

For that price, you can easily get a 0.4ct Super ideal cut from JP liao. Summore the quality will be way better. A 0.3ct Super ideal cut is only 1k+.

Reposting for the benefit of others. Plain ring setting at JP is $550 onwards

Price guide past 10mths

JP/ HOH
0.41c, F, VS2, $1950 (ideal)
0.31c, E, VS2, $1850
0.37c G, VS1, $1950
0.35c F VS1, $2450 (Solasfera)
0.37c G VVS1, $2400 (Solasfera)
0.41 D VVS2 $2950
0.41 E VVS1 $2850
0.43 E VS2 $2750
0.43 D VS1 $3050
0.43 E VVS2 $2900
0.52 G VS1 $4200 ( including white gold ring)
0.54 G VS1 $5000 (ring plus side melee include)
0.63 F VS2, $5100
0.6c, E, VS1, $5400
0.76 G VS1 $7200
0.77 G VVS2 $7700
0.6c G VVS1 $6k (Solasfera)
0.6c, G VS1, $6k+ (Solasfera)
0.65c E VS1, $7.1k (Solasfera)
0.96c G VS1, $10.2k
0.96c E VS2, $10.7k
0.98c F VS2, $10.8k
0.92 F VVS2 $12,400
0.95 F VVS2. $13,600
1.01c G, VS1, $14k
1.02 G VS1 - $14,300
1.09 G VS1 - $15,000
1.10 G VVS2 - $15,300
1.05 F VS1 - $15,800
1.01 E VS1 - $16,000
1.21c G VVS2, $18k
1.54c, G, VS2, $25k

lance88

Reposting for the benefit of others. Plain ring setting at JP is $550 onwards

Price guide past 10mths

JP/ HOH
0.41c, F, VS2, $1950 (ideal)
0.31c, E, VS2, $1850
0.37c G, VS1, $1950
0.35c F VS1, $2450 (Solasfera)
0.37c G VVS1, $2400 (Solasfera)
0.41 D VVS2 $2950
0.41 E VVS1 $2850
0.43 E VS2 $2750
0.43 D VS1 $3050
0.43 E VVS2 $2900
0.52 G VS1 $4200 ( including white gold ring)
0.54 G VS1 $5000 (ring plus side melee include)
0.63 F VS2, $5100
0.6c, E, VS1, $5400
0.76 G VS1 $7200
0.77 G VVS2 $7700
0.6c G VVS1 $6k (Solasfera)
0.6c, G VS1, $6k+ (Solasfera)
0.65c E VS1, $7.1k (Solasfera)
0.96c G VS1, $10.2k
0.96c E VS2, $10.7k
0.98c F VS2, $10.8k
0.92 F VVS2 $12,400
0.95 F VVS2. $13,600
1.01c G, VS1, $14k
1.02 G VS1 - $14,300
1.09 G VS1 - $15,000
1.10 G VVS2 - $15,300
1.05 F VS1 - $15,800
1.01 E VS1 - $16,000
1.21c G VVS2, $18k
1.54c, G, VS2, $25k

Bro this list, unless otherwise stated its ideal/solasfera, its 3ex? same goes for the ring setting cost.

Miltah

Bro this list, unless otherwise stated its ideal/solasfera, its 3ex? same goes for the ring setting cost.

These are all JP SIC, think only the first one is ideal from HOH
If Solasfera I would state, if not SIC
Think the minimum requirement for JP and HOH is triple ex. I haven’t seen any lower ones from HOH

htaginfo

Thanks for your information. Will try to go down to have a look.

Been told by the PH salesperson that D colour is very rare in the market, is it worth to top up $200 to upgrade from VS1 to VVS2?

0.32c, D, VS1: $2700;
0.33c, D, VVS2: $2900.
(both with 18k white gold setting)

Anyone recently came across 0.4ct and 0.5ct pricing from JP?
Will be great if someone can share here.

Miltah

Been told by the PH salesperson that D colour is very rare in the market, is it worth to top up $200 to upgrade from VS1 to VVS2?

I just shared the JP pricing.
Personally I dun think D is rare. If u punch in triple ex from bluenile, there are close to 6000 choices between 0.3-0.4c that u can buy now
In fact, some pple would avoid D color as it’s a premium in paper not visual. But to answer your qs, between the 2 options, I would not pay for vvs clarity

mrashford86

PH = Poh Heng? I don't think D Color is rare either. It is less in supply but not rare. Its just whether you're willing to spend a premium for it or not. If those are from Poh Heng, I'm not familiar with their Cut or if they have super ideals. You need to factor in the rest of the other things like the cut, fluorescence, etc too.

For me I will focus more in the Cut than the Color. Theres a good video explaining this. In the same budget, I will drop the Color and Clarity, and up the Cut and Carat.

Maccabi

Got my diamond ring today. Woohoo
adP9MTE.jpg

mVJlmms.jpg

mfDXV3u.jpg

OK3vZWe.jpg

Nobody help me see see.sad

H0cusP0cus

0.52 G VS2 (super ideal) - $3700
0.48 F VS1 (ideal) - $3150
0.47 G VS2 (ideal) - $2950
0.45 F VS1 (super ideal) - $3050
0.43 G VS1 (super ideal) - $2600

Honestly D, E, F and to some even G looks very similar when in natural day light. I can barely even tell the difference between them when compared side by side!

F or G is good enough for me, don’t need to buy a D. Rather up carat size if have budget.

Maccabi

Very beautiful!! Mine is also pave :D it's really nice and glittery but because I don't want to dirty it, I often have to go without hand lotion hahaha

The photos don't do justice to it. But am really happy with the ring although I'm not the one wearing it

FroztSpectre

Went Bugis Junction, Lee Hwa, SK, Goldheart, Meyson.
All promote how well their diamonds are,
D or F color, VS1 or VVS2 colors etc. But nvr say cut.

Otherwise say got Excellent cut, but no ASET image for me to see also =[
How to compare like that =[

Naked eye i honestly can't tell a difference ):

Maccabi

Went Bugis Junction, Lee Hwa, SK, Goldheart, Meyson.
All promote how well their diamonds are,
D or F color, VS1 or VVS2 colors etc. But nvr say cut.

Otherwise say got Excellent cut, but no ASET image for me to see also =[
How to compare like that =[

Naked eye i honestly can't tell a difference ):

With good aset and hearts and arrows plus good hca score wont go wrong

FroztSpectre

With good aset and hearts and arrows plus good hca score wont go wrong

Problem is those "branded" stores don't provide ASET scans :s22:

Whoa jialat headache.
Blue Nile got cheaper diamonds, but no ASET scans, only GIA certs.
Whiteflash got ASET scans, but will break my budget. 0.3 carat AGS-104100649003 costs like $1k SGD without setting already.

Any good ways of telling if the diamond is potentially not as good, despite the GIA being triple excellent. (Just relying on GIA). Steepness? Depth?

(Still googling at the moment, so much info! So hard to process)

Edited:
Dayum. JannPaul videos are good. Too bad budget constraint, otherwise I'll definitely get my ring from them lol.

Maccabi

Problem is those "branded" stores don't provide ASET scans :s22:

Whoa jialat headache.
Blue Nile got cheaper diamonds, but no ASET scans, only GIA certs.
Whiteflash got ASET scans, but will break my budget. 0.3 carat AGS-104100649003 costs like $1k SGD without setting already.

Any good ways of telling if the diamond is potentially not as good, despite the GIA being triple excellent. (Just relying on GIA). Steepness? Depth?

(Still googling at the moment, so much info! So hard to process)

Edited:
Dayum. JannPaul videos are good. Too bad budget constraint, otherwise I'll definitely get my ring from them lol.

Even with the right depth and table percentage, and with a good hca score, there is no guarantee that they will pass the aset.

FroztSpectre

Even with the right depth and table percentage, and with a good hca score, there is no guarantee that they will pass the aset.

Yep understand.
A good HCA score doesn't guarantee it'll be good.
But a bad HCA score = just reject.

Goddamn pricescore HCA tool only allow 3 HCA checks zzzz.
Used them up liao RIP.

Miltah

U can use this .. it’s partly based on the HCA
Jusr try to keep depth ard 60-62

NM1b696.jpg

Yep understand.
A good HCA score doesn't guarantee it'll be good.
But a bad HCA score = just reject.

Goddamn pricescore HCA tool only allow 3 HCA checks zzzz.
Used them up liao RIP.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.