PruLink SuperSaver Account

stitchy08

I have this PruLink SuperSaver Account since 2009. Placed a sum of money from my CPF OA as an investment. Recently, I requested for my PruAccess password to see how's the progress.

My funds are made up of "Asian Equity Fund", "China India Fund", "Singapore Managed Fund". Instead of gaining the CPF interest of 2.5% pa, my investment is currently at nett loss of 4.22%.

Can anyone advise me? Are they worth keeping in the long run?

kebinu

Fund unable to make even any gain during the bull run. Time to consider allowing it to rot and accumulate a confirmed return in cpf.

matchy

pru are recognised for their investment leh....last year they are top for investment returns...

wat did ur agent say?

matchy

Fund unable to make even any gain during the bull run. Time to consider allowing it to rot and accumulate a confirmed return in cpf.

the agent nv help to change funds mah....but i think if TS take control...he can still salvage the situation...

dun alway give advice such as rot in CPF pls....if that is the case, why ppl still invest? :s22:

stitchy08

the agent nv help to change funds mah....but i think if TS take control...he can still salvage the situation...

Agent didn't give any advice. My old agent just disappear suddenly last year. Was assigned a new one by prudential. Do u have any funds from prudential? Any advice on which fund to switch?

xiaoevil

Change agent to one that can help you analyse your fund performance. You probably need to do a portfolio rebalancing. There is no best fund to switch in, it all depends on your investment horizon and how pro-active you are in monitoring it.

Axisx

I also think my agent never monitor my investment and there is a loss. I also considering DIY myself. Can we just switch it to STI or something like that.

matchy

Agent didn't give any advice. My old agent just disappear suddenly last year. Was assigned a new one by prudential. Do u have any funds from prudential? Any advice on which fund to switch?

suddenly disappear? :eek:

i not agent from prudential but i help a few of my clients who hold prudential policy to recoup their losses....

currently where are all ur funds?

u might wan to pm me

xiaoevil

I also think my agent never monitor my investment and there is a loss. I also considering DIY myself. Can we just switch it to STI or something like that.

Don't switch more than 50% into STI benchmarked funds (PruLink Singapore Growth Fund), otherwise you will be too narrowly focused on 1 country.
Look into Emerging Market Funds and a little on Global Bond. There are some very good portfolios done up. Speak to you Prudential agent for details. If they have no idea what you are talking, then look for me.

WuMing1234

ur funds all "chiong" one. Losing 4% till now already not bad given so high volatility in your portfolio. Only you can help yourself, afterall it's your money and not your agent's money. I suggest you picking up books on mutual funds to read on which is very similar.

matchy

evil...u in prudential ah?

how come the funds crashing rike no tml.....i notice some of the funds from $2.xx to $1.7x

matchy

ur funds all "chiong" one. Losing 4% till now already not bad given so high volatility in your portfolio. Only you can help yourself, afterall it's your money and not your agent's money. I suggest you picking up books on mutual funds to read on which is very similar.

pls hor...not all agents are rike tt...

i treasure my clients money rike my own...

WuMing1234

i'm not making generalisation here. But i can tell you that most of them are like that. Sell and bye bye. Some worst, totally dont know what they sold. I have friends who lost money and tell me that ILP is long term commitment and they decide not to do anything with it. Clearly, they cant be bothered and of course their agent as well. . They believe whatever agents tell them so i really dont know what to say.

xiaoevil

evil...u in prudential ah?

how come the funds crashing rike no tml.....i notice some of the funds from $2.xx to $1.7x

You mean China-India fund? It's due to issues in both China and India. China is hard landing, growth not as good as before. India got corruption and many issues also.

Singapore Growth on the other hand performed pretty well in the recent months.

PruCorgi

Hi Stitchy08,

First, as WuMing1234 rightly pointed out, your funds are the "chiong" type, invested in higher risk, volatile/highly focused equity instruments.

Generally, such equities (stocks/shares) are generally not doing too well at this time, especially in China/India, so it's only expected that your portfolio won't be doing well at this time.

Secondly, whether these funds are worth keeping for the long run, go to PruLink Fund

Look for the fund factsheets. Consider overall returns since inception, how it performs relative to its benchmark.

Personally, I'd say the following are worth keeping:
Singapore Managed Fund = Yes and Asian Equity Fund = Yes

China-India Fund = Neutral/Up to you
In the long run, it should perform positively, but compared to its benchmark, it is not performing as well. In other words, you will probably do OK holding on to this, but you will probably do even better putting the funds into another China-India fund.

I'm assuming you are willing to "sacrifice" this CPF money in return for potentially higher returns because you find the 2.5% OA interest too low.

If that's not the case and the volatility is bothering you, then you could consider taking the loss and switching it back to CPF-OA or to a slightly lower risk fund like the Asian Reach Managed Fund.

No point switching it to a low risk fund because you can do better going back to CPF-OA.

Hope that helps a bit. Info above given on best-effort basis. Use at your own risk. :)

lousylah

if read up on your own then what for buy ilp and have agent?

and i feel most agents are not as savvy as they make themselves out to be.

WuMing1234

agents are salesman and as well as personal bankers in the bank. There are still good agent providing advice but very few. As mentioned many times, the fact that you must be market savvy enough and yet buying into ilp is contradicting. You are right that most agents are not savvy. This industry is mainly how the agents smoke out and portrait themselves to gain the trust and rapport isnt it? This is the same everywhere but it is just more obvious in this industry.

endlssorrow

Don't switch more than 50% into STI benchmarked funds (PruLink Singapore Growth Fund)

Prulink Singapore growth fund is tied to STI? So far should be doing ok mah. Unless there's so minor hiccupor what..

z050188

Hi guys,

Can anyone enlighten me on how to calculate whether my Prulink SuperSaver account is making money anot? I have this account for almost 7 years but I have no idea how is it doing?

TIA

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.