PS4 spoilt..

kidz

what thing spoil?

Mine too.... cant start liao.. ask shop they say fix $200... also will spoil very soon.. now thinking should just buy ps4 pro

kindaichi83

yah, i called them and say motherboard is $290!!!

sianz...

my ps4 can on, got white light but no picture and sound

Paper_Dragon

Not worth to repair imo. $290 ask them go fly kite. You spend a bit more can get 2nd hand set that is still fairly new.

My launch set also got quite a bit of problem. I may get the Pro but I'm not gonna buy it immediately unless my current set suddenly up lorry.

kindaichi83

is pro worth it? me thinking of just getting slim since i dont have 4k

PierceLee

is pro worth it? me thinking of just getting slim since i dont have 4k
Even without 4k tv, you can still use it to run existing games at better frame rate (and other graphics enhancements) on 1080p tv since it has better processors, though each game has to be patched first to support the enhanced mode. Newer games can also have enhanced option for playing on the pro and normal option for normal ps4. Note that Sony mandated that games must not have extra gameplay features when playing on pro, but extra graphics option seems to be ok since many games already announced such enhanced graphics option. And if you are going to get PS VR some day, the pro also runs VR games at better frame rate.

enhanced.jpg

kindaichi83

so pro can actually have enhanced graphics on norm tv as well?

but it wouldnt make much difference right?

does it make the game faster though?

PierceLee

so pro can actually have enhanced graphics on norm tv as well?

but it wouldnt make much difference right?

does it make the game faster though?
Many games are already pushing the limits of the normal ps4 hardware. They look very pretty but in order to achieve that prettiness the games may have to run at 30fps (frames per second) 1080p (standard full HD tv) instead of the preferred 60fps. Or some games may experience a big fps drop during scenes where there are too many enemies on the screen or when everyone is casting spells with flashy visual effects or something like that. When that happens, you will feel that the animation is very jerky (cos it only updates the picture less times per second). The ps4 pro has higher end hardware, so it will be able to better handle the workload and give a stable frame rate. The games don't run 'faster' though, meaning you won't see the enemies move faster and you have to react quicker. They just run smoother.

It's not just the fps either, it can be other graphics options (like anti-aliasing, higher detail texture maps, etc) that can be turned on or run at higher fidelity. Think of the PC, on PC games you typically have many graphics options too. If you have an average PC, you will select to run at 'Medium' graphics with many options turned off or lowered. If you have a high end gaming PC, you might run it at 'Ultra' graphics with everything maxed. So basically the PS4 Pro lets you run the same games better. (iirc the ps4 pro is equivalent to an nvidia 970 or 980.)

Again, existing games need to be patch (if the developer chooses to do so) before they can take advantage of the pro.

Be@rbrick

sorry to hijack your thread TS, mine spoilt too this morning. white screen of death upon switching it on.

so brothers should i just buy a regular PS4 or buy the PS4 Pro? i read online that PS4 Pro is releasing in November. any advice?

fi5hbone

Mine also spoil. Play halfway keep on saying the PS4 is overheating. I scared it does a Note7 so I turn it off. Then try again, same thing happens. Sian.

Be@rbrick

Mine also spoil. Play halfway keep on saying the PS4 is overheating. I scared it does a Note7 so I turn it off. Then try again, same thing happens. Sian.

i feel you bro. u gonna buy a new one or repair your current PS4?

pikafunk3

if have money, go for the ps4 pro..... new games will have pro support in some way. e.g. enhanced framerate and graphics, will benefit even for non4K TVs.

if not so much money, get a ps4 slim or fat (fat is more expensive but it has the cool light bar, and optical input, if you need it).

repair if you dont have much money, but they will charge you 100 to 200 at least. and there is an increased chance of breakdown AGAIN in the future.

if no money at all, can attempt DIY eg. clean up the inside, clear out any dirt, see if that helps with overheating, for example. but this one chance of success is low lah.

for white screen problem, do try changing the hdmi cable, just in case its a cable problem

Kapish

if the games are not patched to run using ps4 pro dual gpu, it is as good as running on the original ps4. example is the upcoming ff 15 although a patch may come later.

Be@rbrick

if have money, go for the ps4 pro..... new games will have pro support in some way. e.g. enhanced framerate and graphics, will benefit even for non4K TVs.

if not so much money, get a ps4 slim or fat (fat is more expensive but it has the cool light bar, and optical input, if you need it).

repair if you dont have much money, but they will charge you 100 to 200 at least. and there is an increased chance of breakdown AGAIN in the future.

if no money at all, can attempt DIY eg. clean up the inside, clear out any dirt, see if that helps with overheating, for example. but this one chance of success is low lah.

for white screen problem, do try changing the hdmi cable, just in case its a cable problem

thanks for the input. awaiting to see the price of ps4 pro now.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.