[PSA] Everyone renewing your electricity contract, see clearly if it is non-standard price plan

Subprimer

Already felt very cheated when they introduced the 25.85 just days after i opted with their renewal offer months before contract ends in Jan.

Then now realise there is also this non standard plan. Next renewal have to really take my time to consider their renewal offer and also read through every single line.

First time i heard their fixed rate still can add charges.
sucks,
yes, read through clearly, I guess there will be more stunts as they are testing market now with this non standard price plan

No choice lah right. Want peace of mind then pay slightly more lor. At least still lower than what I am paying for right now.

my issue is they call it fixed rate plan but the rates are not fixed. How many consumers would be misled by this new change

Initial sign up is standard plan

Then offer renewal become non standard plan even though name of the plan remains the same

Sneaky sia
yes this, same name but contract is not the same. Is this even legally allowed

If price can change then why contract tie us. I will write to authorities to complaint and feedback.. U guys better too.. Knn.. Now all this companies all like scammer.. Last time simba now this idiot geneco

and most importantly, why called it fixed rate plan when the rate is subject to changes + potential additional charges

weng0202

sucks,
yes, read through clearly, I guess there will be more stunts as they are testing market now with this non standard price plan

my issue is they call it fixed rate plan but the rates are not fixed. How many consumers would be misled by this new change

and most importantly, why called it fixed rate plan when the rate is subject to changes + potential additional charges
I think can complain to authorities and see what they say.

Subprimer

If price can change then why contract tie us. I will write to authorities to complaint and feedback.. U guys better too.. Knn.. Now all this companies all like scammer.. Last time simba now this idiot geneco

I think can complain to authorities and see what they say.

yes i have feedback to EMA with screenshots of the contract

ChiongAh

sucks,

The consolation is that for my dad's plan which i previously helped him to renew with them from April 2024 to April 2026, which i just checked the contract, it was also renewed from a standard plan to a non standard plan, the rates charged never changed.

Thus, i am hoping the fixed rates i renewed for will also stay the same for the next 2 years.

sharpshooter9

im also under geneco and im eligible for renewal as my 24m plan is expiring in jan 2026.

so i checked my renewal offer is 25.80c for 24m but price plan is under non-standard while my existing contact is 29.79c but standard.

then i checked their website and the ongoing promotion now is 25.85c for 24m and under standard price plan

so how can we get the ongoing promotion for new signups since this looks more attractive than my renewal options

wahkau

why renew with geneco while you can get promo as new sign up at new provider? geneco gives only $30 rebate while others give hundreds of voucher or whatever

passingbye

im also under geneco and im eligible for renewal as my 24m plan is expiring in jan 2026.

so i checked my renewal offer is 25.80c for 24m but price plan is under non-standard while my existing contact is 29.79c but standard.

then i checked their website and the ongoing promotion now is 25.85c for 24m and under standard price plan

so how can we get the ongoing promotion for new signups since this looks more attractive than my renewal options
Same as you mine also expiring next year Jan. Currently also on standard price plan but if i were to renew for the 24 month plan it will be non-standard

ChiongAh

I chatted with them and this is their reply on the Non-Standard Plan:

Thank you for sharing with us. There is no changes to our renewal plan, all the while it is a non-standard plan. The reason why the manual renewal plan is a non-standard price plans because in case if any incremental Use of System Charge and Market Development and System Charge implemented by SP and approved by EMA after the sign-up date may be passed on to the consumer at cost (without any mark-up). Geneco rate will remain fixed.

You can find the charges for the incremental Use of System Charge and Market Development and System Charge in the OEM website.

Today, this charge is not implemented.
For example, if the Geneco rate is 26.57 cents per kWh and if MDSC is passed through to customer, the rate will be 26.57 cents per kWh + x.xx cents per kWh (inclusive of GST).

Geneco customers will be notified 10 business days before the incremental charge is applicable to customers.

Subprimer

I chatted with them and this is their reply on the Non-Standard Plan:

Thank you for sharing with us. There is no changes to our renewal plan, all the while it is a non-standard plan. The reason why the manual renewal plan is a non-standard price plans because in case if any incremental Use of System Charge and Market Development and System Charge implemented by SP and approved by EMA after the sign-up date may be passed on to the consumer at cost (without any mark-up). Geneco rate will remain fixed.

You can find the charges for the incremental Use of System Charge and Market Development and System Charge in the OEM website.

Today, this charge is not implemented.
For example, if the Geneco rate is 26.57 cents per kWh and if MDSC is passed through to customer, the rate will be 26.57 cents per kWh + x.xx cents per kWh (inclusive of GST).

Geneco customers will be notified 10 business days before the incremental charge is applicable to customers.
Thanks for the info. Just a few points I’d like to raise:

1. It doesn’t explain why existing customers have to pay more to renew under a standard price plan, or otherwise risk rate/charge changes by renewing under a non-standard price plan.
  2. In the contract terms, this isn’t stated explicitly as what you have mentioned though — it mentions that the rates and charges may be changed and electric retailer can set its own price structure
  3. Lastly, why is it called a “fixed rate” plan when the rates can change?
  4. Even if Geneco notifies the customer of these changes, it doesn’t mean the customer can freely terminate the contract and switch to another provider.

Subprimer

why renew with geneco while you can get promo as new sign up at new provider? geneco gives only $30 rebate while others give hundreds of voucher or whatever
yes, you are right. The only reason why I consider renewing with them is because of their rate @ 25.8 cents.. But since now it is subjected to changes, I am looking for alternative and taking advantage of the new subscriber voucher .

leonaheidern

geneco is singtel right

wasn't there someone complaining about the add ons in their broadband plan recently

better keep a lookout for the contract terms especially if its under Singtel group.

their lawyers are paid to write the terms to benefit them.

dont want fuss just stay away

wheelloader

Pang pui sia this geneco

Then why can offer new sign up @ 25.85 standard plan? Renewal become 25.8 non standard plan?

Allow existing consumers to renew at 25.85 standard plan lor

Lemonkey

geneco is singtel right

wasn't there someone complaining about the add ons in their broadband plan recently

better keep a lookout for the contract terms especially if its under Singtel group.

their lawyers are paid to write the terms to benefit them.

dont want fuss just stay away

it was just a partnership. they broken up long ago :crazy:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.