PSU Experts - Do quality capacitors really matter that much

Yowzer

Been trying to buy an above 600W PSU.

Usually the recommending factor seems to be the type of caps.
China Teapos are supposed to be lousy and Japanese one are the good ones.

Even 'good' Corsair PSUs are loaded with Teapos. Is it just a few incidents blowing things out of proportion?

Isn't these PSUs tested to run at maximum load for their time before failure? So if they are rated to pass the test means it works right?

I intend to buy a good 2nd one. How does that factor? How many years should the warranty have left to be safe?

TIA

yukita

just look at RMA location and warranty provided by the distro, nearer to your place and longer warranty.

the rest all hang suay things (aka depends on luck)

but try to read the review site such as JohnnyGuru one ....

If you sibei heng, experience PSU explosion before that fried everything in your casing you will be paranoid.

I am still waiting for external PSU.
Don't know why so long liao still dont have.
All we need are just longer cables.

Swiftbladez

If you sibei heng, experience PSU explosion before that fried everything in your casing you will be paranoid.

buy extensions?

Yowzer

I assume you experience PSU explosion?

Did it actually have a fire or just burned out all components & tripped the circuit breaker?

Felfirez

DIY cables for modular PSU or extensions for easy remove. That's why there's no external PSU.

As usual, nonsensical comments from you.

jtjt00

Why you want to put PSU outside casing? Look odd with all other parts in casing except PSU.

...I am still waiting for external PSU.

crystalnox

Even 'good' Corsair PSUs are loaded with Teapos. Is it just a few incidents blowing things out of proportion?

Isn't these PSUs tested to run at maximum load for their time before failure? So if they are rated to pass the test means it works right?

I intend to buy a good 2nd one. How does that factor? How many years should the warranty have left to be safe?

TIA
Teapos are still quite decent and usually used only on the primary side on better PSUs. Caps also degrade over time and under high operating temps, so passing tests at the factory doesn't mean you won't see a failure 5 years down the road. Usually under 5 years no good PSUs will fail. Plus good PSUs come with protection ICs and safety components, rarely will take out your computer when it goes boom.

Yowzer

Thx for the replies,

Can I gauge how much power I can safely draw via the cables provided? For eg, I saw the seasonic 750w has 6 x 8pin connectors. That means I can safely load up to 3 GPUs which require 2 x 8pins each? Assuming minimal power is required for the rest of the PC?

They provide the cables to do it. But seems quite a load for only 750w psu?

Jian19

Psu see heng suay to be honest..

Even premium brand sometimes have certain model many problem ~

MoneyFace =p

Your premium Seasonic full Japanese Chemi-con solid caps packed, 80 Plus Gold rated PSU can still fail...

MoneyFace =p

If there were to be such so-called high capacity 'external PSU', and if you sibei heng, experience PSU explosion that fried everything in the surrounding, including the entire PC, monitor, speaker, peripherals, table, chair, wall, lovey dovey alarm clock, calendar, tablet, etc.... You will be UBER paranoid. :s22:

MoneyFace =p

TIA
You don't need to have OCD over the origin of capacitors used in PSUs to judge their longevity. Your best bet is to read buyer's review and just follow the crowd....

evq

My Seasonic psu is 7yr liao. Now then noticed

saysuzu

i waiting for corbell service center to open tomorrow then i go RMA my PSU

heng i stay woodlands, ang mo kio still ok

that time i go asus service center is hell man

morgankell

quick answer to ts question: yes. caps matter to the quality of the psu

to simplify psu choosing for quality aspect only, 2 key parameters should be looked into

- the design of the psu
- the type of capacitors

unless u got triple e background, i suggest sites like jonnyguru to help to screen if the psu design is modern
-> the design controls the ripple, distribution of wattage in the various 12v/5v/3v rails, overcurrent protection etc

with regards to caps, the importance is in the longevity -> cheap caps have lower life expectancy esp in high heat env [life expectancy halves with every 10 degree increase in temp]

if caps fail, the psu eventually fails regardless of the design although it may first show as worsening ripple. this ripple will destabilize overclocks, fry yr electronic parts etc

if you change yr psu every 2-3 years the quality of capacitors probably doesnt matter as much; even cheap teapos will last that long

but if you intend to use yr psu for long periods/ expensive computer/ high heat env, please consider psu with decent caps

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.