Psu explode? Help troubleshoot!

Teng Zai

Hi all,

Gonna buy new rig, so i clean up my old rig to put in my sister room for her to use.

After moving rig, pc turns on, games and everything all running okay, no weird temps etc for a few days.

Suddenly one day turn it off overnight, turn on cant on. When power button presses, there will be a faint 'click' sound coming from what i think is the PSU. Nothing powers on. Fans do not spin, no beep, nothing. Tried removing, reseating rams, permutations of unplugging wires, unplug everything except mobo and psu but to no avail. However, mobo green power button lights up and gpu power indicator also lights up, but nothing spins or works.

So i left it overnight, next morning plug back in socket. Turn on the socket and there goes a pretty loud "POP" sound. Everything looks okay in the case except from a faint burnt plastic smell. Smell should be from PSU.

Any idea what could be the fault? Using AX1200 PSU, rest of the specs on the right of my profile. Also check mobo, the capacitators dont seem damaged but i could be wrong.

ZrE0_Cha0s

did u smell anything funny from the psu or inside your pc?

well if u have another psu, maybe can test and see?

Teng Zai

did u smell anything funny from the psu or inside your pc?

well if u have another psu, maybe can test and see?

No extra but buying new rig soon, can use to test.
Faint burnt plastic smell lor, feels like its coming from inside psu. Other pc parts dont really have smell.

ZrE0_Cha0s

No extra but buying new rig soon, can use to test.
Faint burnt plastic smell lor, feels like its coming from inside psu. Other pc parts dont really have smell.

ah den u have to get your psu rma lei.

Teng Zai

ah den u have to get your psu rma lei.

Confirm psu? Dont think the mobo short right, cause it worked before even after i clean up and move to another room.

My sis poor thing, excited for a few days now cant use the pc alr. Hahaha.

Teng Zai

Something in the pc is causing it to blow the psu maybe a short somewhere......check thoroughly and i recommend not to test with different psu first(might do the same thing to the other psu) until you are sure everthing is okay and no shorts.
BTW do you have an NZXT hue plus connected to the psu?

No hue. I do have an nzxt fancontroller though.
Okay i'll disassemble the rig i guess and put the mobo on cardboard box.

FlushX

Something in the pc is causing it to blow the psu maybe a short somewhere......check thoroughly and i recommend not to test with different psu first(might do the same thing to the other psu) until you are sure everthing is okay and no shorts.

is there an issue with NZXT Hue+?

MoneyFace =p

Had this with my AMA Axe Power Plus many years ago too....

Confirm PSU GG. You can always conduct a PSU fan start up pin test.

Solution: RMA or throw

DJSnip3r

Just RMA
Don't try turning on again. You can do a fan test to see if it's PSU fault.

Mine had same issue, except tripped the entire house.:s22:

Teng Zai

How to be sure no shorts? I check all parts of the mobo no bare wires touching any funny places thats all?

And the rig was working fine the day before. Just suddenly cant turn on. Im heading out to buy a new psu now, but i scared it'll do the same to this psu.

jtjt00

How to be sure no shorts? I check all parts of the mobo no bare wires touching any funny places thats all?

And the rig was working fine the day before. Just suddenly cant turn on. Im heading out to buy a new psu now, but i scared it'll do the same to this psu.

You should not worry as reputed branded PSU do come with protection circuitry which will prevent power up should there is a short-circuit.

Teng Zai

You should not worry as reputed branded PSU do come with protection circuitry which will prevent power up should there is a short-circuit.

Just the answer i needed. Thanks bro.
Going out to get a superflower now.

wwenze

Better explode now than later.

The trigger is when you powered down the wall switch.

Teng Zai

Thanks all.
I was wrong to doubt the motherboard or anything else. It's the bloody PSU.
I've really never had any luck with CORSAIR. First the H100i, then a case fan failure, followed by shitty keyboard, now PSU explode.

Anyway, Superflower WHITE color LEADEX GOLD ---> SIBEI CHIO. Got LED one.
Hooting it for my new rig also.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.