Pull-ups glorification thread

Keverus

Pull-ups lover fall in! Pull-up haters, kindly please exit! :s13:

OK, not sure if this is a good idea, but somehow this light bulb just lit up after the thread abt bodybuilders doing pull-ups.

Basically, this is a thread where we count our pull-ups together. Everytime we do pull-ups, we report to this thread. If you did 20 pull-ups today, then u come in and add 20 to the tally we have.

Rules:
1. A weighted pull-up still only counts as 1. :(
2. Any grip is fine-overhand, underhand, neutral/hammer or even rings.

There would be two tally. One is the total tally, the other is the personal tally-this will also allow individuals to track their own work as well.

So each post will look something like (for instance)

Grand total: 210

Contributors:
Person A-100
Person B-99
Person C-10
Keverus-1

Then the next person to post will update accordingly. If want to chit-chat in between, ok la, but let's help each other by quoting the figure on every post so wont have to dig high and low for it? :s13:

We have more than half a year, let's see if we can hit a nice number? Then afterwards can go buy TOTO and huat arh! :D

So let's go do some pull-ups!
ptimg0830.gif

cowed77

To those that say pullups lead to arm size gain, can I assume u all use supinated/palm facing u, or hammer/neutral grip?

Have any of u truly experienced it, or just say because everyone else says so?

Uncle chay, u are a big supporter of it right? If u could still remember, last time when u do hor, how much u experienced?

Hahaha anw, cos I've been doing pullups for the longest time, never did notice my arms getting swole hahaha.

cowed77

Oki later I contribute. Cute idea, dunno for wat, but I'll play.

jctan77

Style: Pullups
Total bodyweight: 69 + 8 kg
Total reps: 5 + 5 + 5 + 5 + 5

cwong

To those that say pullups lead to arm size gain, can I assume u all use supinated/palm facing u, or hammer/neutral grip?

Hahaha anw, cos I've been doing pullups for the longest time, never did notice my arms getting swole hahaha.

I 60% palm facing, 30% palm away, 5% one away/one facing, 5% one arm (palm facing). :s13:
But strongest still palm facing.

pullups build my lats more than biceps.

gkhchay

Uncle chay, u are a big supporter of it right? If u could still remember, last time when u do hor, how much u experienced?

This was what I did last time to add arm & overall upper body mass:

Total of 3 drop sets of chin-ups ie supinated grip done HIT style:
- Set 1: weighted done to failure, drop 10 kg & do to failure, drop more weight & do to failure.
- Set 2: weighted done to failure, drop 7 kg & do to failure, drop more weight & do to failure.
- Set 3: weighted done to failure, drop 5 kg & do to failure, drop more weight & do to failure.

This was supersetted with weighted dips also done HIT style with drop sets.

IIRC, I did for about 2 mths, gained 5 kg & my arms grew half an inch...

ketua

I 60% palm facing, 30% palm away, 5% one away/one facing, 5% one arm (palm facing). :s13:
But strongest still palm facing.

pullups build my lats more than biceps.

Wah lao I read your palms facing north south east west until I face palm :s13:

Shall we standardized?

PULL-up - palms facing out
CHIN-up - palms facing in
Hammer-Chin - Palms facing each other
Alternate-Chin - Palms 1 in 1 out

:

To focus more on biceps, do close grip chin.
To focus more on the brac.... (fug the spelling), the muscles below biceps that will push the bicep out, do hammer.

However, to focus on the long head ('outer' biceps), you need to curl when your upper arm is behind your torso.
i.e. Incline curl

And that's still the triceps part that make up the guns.

My tiny 12" 'achievement', if any, is in my FB pic. I started curling frequently only few weeks ago, hence I attribute to all the chin-up in the past.

cowed77

Total: 66

Jc tan 25
Wormy 41

Think ppl cannot understand English, or don't bother lol.

Keverus

******* lah, all dunno how to follow simple instructions izzit? See that tree over there? Run to it and say sorry. :mad: :( :crazy:

cowed77, as for ur saying that pull-ups=big guns...i read this article by dave tate (dont ask for link, either tnation or elitefts lol) saying that he believes that if u want big biceps, u need direct bicep work. pull-ups can get ur arms bigger, but there's a limit to it.

personally, i havent seen my arms getting bigger/more swole from pull-ups. there was even a period where i train pull-ups very extensively(might do it again lol). my pull-ups was in the region of 20+ (but dont think now can) but my arms remained more or less the same.

Keverus

Total: 87

Wormy 41
Jc tan 25
Plumper 21

EDIT: Let's rank the indv also? HAha.

ketua

:
cowed77, as for ur saying that pull-ups=big guns...i read this article by dave tate (dont ask for link, either tnation or elitefts lol) saying that he believes that if u want big biceps, u need direct bicep work. pull-ups can get ur arms bigger, but there's a limit to it.

personally, i havent seen my arms getting bigger/more swole from pull-ups. there was even a period where i train pull-ups very extensively(might do it again lol). my pull-ups was in the region of 20+ (but dont think now can) but my arms remained more or less the same.

Some people, incl me, are back-dominant when pull/chin up.

Besides the close grip chin, try also Arnold's muscle-mind connection, and play around with your torso angle to feel for the best positions for biceps, also feel for the point along the ROM that hit your biceps most and do isometric hold, or, pre-fatique your back before the chin.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.