Question about Malacca

Beefsteak

Which hotel do you guys usually stay in Melaka?

Last time I stayed in Hatten hotel before. The location of the hotel is great but only thing that it was quite crowded during the weekend and there were long queues at the check in counter so checking in took some time.

So I might want to stay other hotels the next time I go there.
Any recommendations?

Nemesis Alien

Last time I stayed in Hatten hotel before. The location of the hotel is great but only thing that it was quite crowded during the weekend and there were long queues at the check in counter so checking in took some time.

Any recommendations?

Got a lot of hotels walking distance from hatten

Habrosus

Any recommendations?

Casa del Rio. I like that location better, as many places are within walking distance. Like The Shore, even walked back from Jalan Gajah Berang, Jonker obviously, then Dataran Pahlawan all the way to Mahkota Parade. Could have walked to the Portuguese Settlement too, as got as far as somewhere near there.

But that's back when Grab Car wasn't available, only Grab Taxi at best. Grabbed to Aeon Mall.

Now looking at something cheaper in the same area... narrowing down to Hotel Puri, Heeren by the River, and possibly even Quayside.

Beefsteak

Casa del Rio. I like that location better, as many places are within walking distance. Like The Shore, even walked back from Jalan Gajah Berang, Jonker obviously, then Dataran Pahlawan all the way to Mahkota Parade. Could have walked to the Portuguese Settlement too, as got as far as somewhere near there.

But that's back when Grab Car wasn't available, only Grab Taxi at best. Grabbed to Aeon Mall.

Now looking at something cheaper in the same area... narrowing down to Hotel Puri, Heeren by the River, and possibly even Quayside.

Casa del Rio a little expensive though. Don't want to spend so much. I'm also looking at something cheaper in the same area.

Timez Modern Heritage Hotel looks not bad too.

Habrosus

Casa del Rio a little expensive though. Don't want to spend so much. I'm also looking at something cheaper in the same area.

Timez Modern Heritage Hotel looks not bad too.

Sounds good, will go check that out.

So many hotels have opened in that area since my last stay. :s13:

gentoro

My fav all time at melaka is strait hotel. It's suite is cheap s$100 per night and good parking lots. Walking distance to hatten and restaurant below open till 4am Lok Lok shoik while couple of mama shop open 24hrs.

Stayed there like 8-9 times already. Hygiene and cleaniness not there yet but still cheap.

For those not driving, heritage hotel is the next best for cheap and big room. Minus pt - no carpark lot for customer.

koolaid

My fav all time at melaka is strait hotel. It's suite is cheap s$100 per night and good parking lots. Walking distance to hatten and restaurant below open till 4am Lok Lok shoik while couple of mama shop open 24hrs.

Stayed there like 8-9 times already. Hygiene and cleaniness not there yet but still cheap.

For those not driving, heritage hotel is the next best for cheap and big room. Minus pt - no carpark lot for customer.

ls this the one beside novotel? i think they are probably < 4 yrs old?

one of my melaka client gave me a 2 night stay when they first opened for biz. it was the suite which was damn big. yes beside the hotel is the 24h mamak. opposite is a bar with cute xmm waitress. ;)

gentoro

ls this the one beside novotel? i think they are probably < 4 yrs old?

one of my melaka client gave me a 2 night stay when they first opened for biz. it was the suite which was damn big. yes beside the hotel is the 24h mamak. opposite is a bar with cute xmm waitress. ;)
Woah, meaning I have going there since it's open. Planning again in June school holiday. Usually I drive there n novetel carpark good n secure. I usually go with my friend family of 4 also tgt book same suite opps me. Total 8 pax squeeze into my mpv. ,😁

Last year go eat at hotel opps restaurant Taiwan style, quite good n cheap n 24hrs!

koolaid

Woah, meaning I have going there since it's open. Planning again in June school holiday. Usually I drive there n novetel carpark good n secure. I usually go with my friend family of 4 also tgt book same suite opps me. Total 8 pax squeeze into my mpv. ,😁

Last year go eat at hotel opps restaurant Taiwan style, quite good n cheap n 24hrs!

yes. try to book early. shouldnt be that expensive, should be around sgd40 per night for the normal rooms.

very good if u drive cos there're plenty of food all over melaka. can oso consider driving to tangkak (about 1 hour). no need to go via ns hwy. take small road there and enjoy the countryside view. can makan famous food like char siew sio bak mee, beef noodles, bak kut teh, shanghai seafood (this one is ok ok only but my wife nn her friends say nice)...

Epi_curean

Will be driving up to Melaka this Fri morning.
Would like some suggestion/s on a breakfast/toilet stopover onroute there.

much thanks

koolaid

much thanks

i usually have bf in jb before driving straight to melaka. after bf, i will drive straight to kl.

wanton mee, chicken rice, kway chap - cedar point

roti canai, murtabak - abmh (along this row of shophouses, there's a kopi tiam selling wanton mee, kolo mee, laksa...) there's also a money changer beside the restaurant. rates r ok.

taman sentosa area has quite a few kopi tiam and hawker center opened for bf at 6+am too.

i think holiday starts next week. so if u can, try to be at customs before 6 or 630am. :(

Broadwalk

i usually have bf in jb before driving straight to melaka. after bf, i will drive straight to kl.

wanton mee, chicken rice, kway chap - cedar point

roti canai, murtabak - abmh (along this row of shophouses, there's a kopi tiam selling wanton mee, kolo mee, laksa...) there's also a money changer beside the restaurant. rates r ok.

taman sentosa area has quite a few kopi tiam and hawker center opened for bf at 6+am too.

i think holiday starts next week. so if u can, try to be at customs before 6 or 630am. :(

I am driving in this Saturday.:o

sunsetbay

Any recommendations?

had stayed bayshore, the shore & swiss garden before~ would recommend swiss garden~ :s22:

some pics posted at earlier page~
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/malaysia-269/question-about-malacca-2012210-124.html

ixora2007

If you refering to Imperial Heritage hotel, do not get the last room at the end of the corridor. the room is small, only walking space between the 2 beds.
i was there 2 years back with a big group and stayed in the last room. was ok when i entered the room, then got a shock when i enter my relative's room, it's almost double the size of my room.

really_noob

much thanks

Might be a good idea to have breakfast in JB like what someone else said. Take it as a reward for waking up early to clear customs, or take it as a reward for having survived the custom jam if you go in a bit late.
Dim sum is my favourite for early bird breakfast in JB. Because some dim sum shops the things will get sold out even if you go at 10am.
Try to take the chance to explore JB. Don't go and eat at those places near KSL, which you can do on any day trip. But don't detour too much, plan it in a way where you're heading north and it's easy to join the NSHW.

I find Yong Peng a good stop because it's really in between JB and Melaka. Can either go into the town itself or just stop at the R&R. There're are two on the same stretch of road, won't miss it, the coaches stop there. Maybe I'll explore other rest stops on my next trip.

That time I exit Jasin and went by the small road into Melaka for a different scenery. I think it's one exit before Ayer Keroh with a lot of Sime Derby plantations. The Ayer Keroh toll is more expensive, so if you've time and want to save money, then take the Jasin exit or other earlier exits and go by the small road. Just google map and navigate to some location in Jasin and when you exit, you reprogram again.
Coming back to SG I follow the navigation which took me to Ayer Keroh.

LWZ

how is the traffic going to Melaka from SG on saturday late afternoons ? might need to do that trip in June...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.