Question about Malacca

tiowher

Dont forget the crazy queue long waiting Hassan’s Mee Goreng (Mee Bodoh) at Jalan Tengkera
nv875f.png

d3n

back from my first drive trip to Melaka! will post more. rest first.

d3n

back from my first drive trip to Melaka! will post more. rest first.

Some FR from me.

This is my first drive trip to Melaka.

29/12 - Set off from my place around 620-630am. Reached Melaka around 1000-1015am. Was driving constantly on the left lane along NSH at 110-120 speed. But on and off will overtake from the right when I come across slow vehicles or coach/trucks. Drive is smooth and easy following the GPS (Garmin) direction. Did 2 10 min stop over along the way to go for toilet break. Not much jam along the way.

I stayed at Hatten Hotel for this trip, overall the hotel is very good. Only complain is the lift is super super slow... and no in room WIFI. Check in is pretty fast and I got the room at 1030am since happens so got a room available. No need to wait till afternoon.

Did the usual tourist stuff, visited Jonker street, tried the chengdol and chicken riceball (the super long queue on just at the entrance of the bridge to Jonker street). Find the chicken so so but riceball is good.

268665_10151223860607523_1662984932_n.jpg

734281_10151223860502523_1972214788_n.jpg
Damage - RM 23 or 25 I think for half a chicken.

Bought some white coffee in a cup from San Shu Gong to hotel to drink.

Tried to go to Portugese Settlement to shoot some sunset shot before trying the BBQ seafood but the GPS showed me a wrong path (not accessible), end up missed the sunset shot although did a blue hour shot.

543908_10151223860727523_8219104_n.jpg

321185_10151223860732523_1323375240_n.jpg
Damage - RM 66

d3n

30/12 - Again did some tourist stuff to visit some old church and attractions along the way. Found 3 cute kittens at St Paul Church.

398610_10151223861202523_194142418_n.jpg

531860_10151223862062523_107448319_n.jpg

Met up with my gf's friend and her bf (malaysian staying in Melaka), brought us go try Nadeje Cake and a local satay stall (forget to take pics), quite nice, the satay sauce quite watery and with pineapple (can really taste the pineapple). Was introduce by her bf that we should try Big Nyonya (used to be known as Kenny's Delight) for perankan food. So we tried it in the evening and I really like the sambal prawns! Will definitely come back here for the perankan food again.

66781_10151223862537523_2089954374_n.jpg

407552_10151222284047523_374984110_n.jpg

Not a cake person but this cake made of layers of crepe is really very nice! Damage - RM 9.90

565021_10151222293792523_1393305047_n.jpg

546187_10151222293437523_2056718257_n.jpg
Damage - RM 67

d3n

31/12 - Time to go back sillypore. Had dim sum + bah kuh teh introduce by gf friend's bf.

735228_10151223863002523_1789747634_n.jpg

184412_10151223863142523_968130657_n.jpg

Did some last min shopping. Wanted to try Ban Lee Siang Satay Celup but not open yet... so drive down to Bei Zhan but missed their lunch hour... so in the end tried a Korean food near Bei Zhan.

Drove back to Sillypore around 3+pm and reached Sillypore ard 720-730pm. Was raining heavily in some parts of the journey and traffic is slower compared to first day but still smooth although got more cars on the road.

Overall experience? GOOD! I will do another road trip to Melaka again. :D

__CcW__

hey ppl,

I'm thinking of doing a weekend trip to melaka 19-20jan.. just a few qns on the transport

it is advisable to travel via sg-melaka or sg-larkin-melaka?

I read that it is much cheaper to go via sg-larkin-melaka, but I'm afraid that I might not be able to get the larkin-melaka tics. May i know what are the bus companies offering the services from larkin-melaka? Should i pre-book in advance or buy on the spot at larkin?

for the return trip, I should buy the melaka-sg bus tics when I reach melaka sentral right? price is ~22rm?

many thx in advance! :s12:

buswhiz

hey ppl,

I'm thinking of doing a weekend trip to melaka 19-20jan.. just a few qns on the transport

it is advisable to travel via sg-melaka or sg-larkin-melaka?

I read that it is much cheaper to go via sg-larkin-melaka, but I'm afraid that I might not be able to get the larkin-melaka tics. May i know what are the bus companies offering the services from larkin-melaka? Should i pre-book in advance or buy on the spot at larkin?

for the return trip, I should buy the melaka-sg bus tics when I reach melaka sentral right? price is ~22rm?

many thx in advance! :s12:
Hi, it will be much cheaper if you go to Larkin and buy ticket. However, please remember to buy tickets from reputable bus companies such as Delima Express, KKKL Express. Normally for JB departure, you can buy on the spot, but please be there earlier to avoid the bus to be sold out earlier. As you are returning on Sunday, normally the bus will be full 1 to 2 weeks before departure, you are advised to buy much earlier for return ticket. Thanks

buswhiz

how is the korean food? Is it nice? From what i know, its a newly open restaurant

d3n

how is the korean food? Is it nice? From what i know, its a newly open restaurant

its not that bad... but maybe i had too full breakfast (dim sum + bah kuh teh), I am still quite full when i ate this korean food hence... find it slightly above average, but the bbq chicken is good (my gf ate this). i ate the zha jia mian though.

Soule

The Durian chendol is actually better than the one at Jonker88.
Not exactly sure why but the San Shu Gong one is stronger in durian flavour than the Jonker88 one. Jonker88 quite diluted in durian taste and inconsistent...

I'll be updating that in my blog soon...
Gary's Yay or Nay

me not a chendol person lah haha.

but i see them selling ready made durian chendol in a box for take away. so i doubt its good... :D

o0KelviN0o

me not a chendol person lah haha.

but i see them selling ready made durian chendol in a box for take away. so i doubt its good... :D

i heard that's what they're famous for thus the takeaway option

d3n

The Durian chendol is actually better than the one at Jonker88.
Not exactly sure why but the San Shu Gong one is stronger in durian flavour than the Jonker88 one. Jonker88 quite diluted in durian taste and inconsistent...

I'll be updating that in my blog soon...
Gary's Yay or Nay

ok, i will try next time

apex84

31/12 - Time to go back sillypore. Had dim sum + bah kuh teh introduce by gf friend's bf.

Did some last min shopping. Wanted to try Ban Lee Siang Satay Celup but not open yet... so drive down to Bei Zhan but missed their lunch hour... so in the end tried a Korean food near Bei Zhan.

Drove back to Sillypore around 3+pm and reached Sillypore ard 720-730pm. Was raining heavily in some parts of the journey and traffic is slower compared to first day but still smooth although got more cars on the road.

Overall experience? GOOD! I will do another road trip to Melaka again. :D

Bro where is this dim sum n Bah Kut Teh place? Any good? Wah good thing I'm taking a 9am coach tmr! Hopefully can check into hatten early seeing as it is a thursday :s13:

d3n

Bro where is this dim sum n Bah Kut Teh place? Any good? Wah good thing I'm taking a 9am coach tmr! Hopefully can check into hatten early seeing as it is a thursday :s13:

dun really know the location cos my gf's friend's bf drove us there...

284925_10151223863072523_235059977_n.jpg

this dim sum is slightly outskirt of Melaka... around Batu Barendum (not sure i spell correctly)

307202_10151223863097523_359118391_n.jpg

the bah kuh teh is near Jalan Laksamana area (next to the old address of Kenny's Delight)

buswhiz

I tried there before, its nice.. this stall is the same row as the Tan Kim Hock.. Normally people will say Shun Fa Ba Kut Teh is nice, this one also comparable..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.