Question on tracking an iphone

Lit3s

Senior Member
Joined
May 18, 2003
Messages
2,154
Reaction score
9
Hi, do hope to get some answers here...

a friend of my dropped/got stolen of his Iphone 6 just last night. Tried to login Find-My-Iphone to track but to no avail. Suspect the phone was turned off already. We use the erase iphone option to prevent data from taken over.

Now we log-on to Find-My-Iphone app and can still see the lost phone status showing "erase pending" All options is now being grey out.

Would like to ask, in view of the above, any chance of still recovering the iphone? Or would it be that the person turn on the iphone connecting to the internet would be looking at a screen that will auto erase and that's it.
 

dawntime

Supremacy Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2011
Messages
6,503
Reaction score
10
I believe the phone is off and so the remote wipe doesn't work.
Chances of recovering phone or data?
Phone wise, no chance I guess. Since the moment it has internet connection, it will get remotely wiped.
Same goes to data.
 

Lit3s

Senior Member
Joined
May 18, 2003
Messages
2,154
Reaction score
9
i'm not too concern about the data since the moment the phone is turn on and connected to wifi/4g, it will get wipe out. However, is there anyway if checking where the phone will be still? or totally no chance to even see where the phone is anymore the moment the phone is turn on?
 

EldonChew

Senior Member
Joined
May 6, 2011
Messages
1,789
Reaction score
0
i'm not too concern about the data since the moment the phone is turn on and connected to wifi/4g, it will get wipe out. However, is there anyway if checking where the phone will be still? or totally no chance to even see where the phone is anymore the moment the phone is turn on?

There's a warning when you try to remote wipe which is that when you select remote wipe - you will not be able to track it's location anymore
 

Lit3s

Senior Member
Joined
May 18, 2003
Messages
2,154
Reaction score
9
There's a warning when you try to remote wipe which is that when you select remote wipe - you will not be able to track it's location anymore

oh ok. i am not the activator so not sure on this part. When we login to find-my-phone app now, we can still see the phone at the last known location, as well as time etc.

So you mean to say it will always just stay this way even if the person who got the phone try to turn it on and connect to the internet? the app won't show anymore update? like location
 

EldonChew

Senior Member
Joined
May 6, 2011
Messages
1,789
Reaction score
0
oh ok. i am not the activator so not sure on this part. When we login to find-my-phone app now, we can still see the phone at the last known location, as well as time etc.

So you mean to say it will always just stay this way even if the person who got the phone try to turn it on and connect to the internet? the app won't show anymore update? like location

When the phone is connected to the internet, it will check the Apple server and if the Apple server returns a remote wipe command, the phone will be wiped and therefore you can't track it anymore(as everything like iCloud(Find My iPhone) is wiped too)
 

Lit3s

Senior Member
Joined
May 18, 2003
Messages
2,154
Reaction score
9
When the phone is connected to the internet, it will check the Apple server and if the Apple server returns a remote wipe command, the phone will be wiped and therefore you can't track it anymore(as everything like iCloud(Find My iPhone) is wiped too)

oh ok. thanks for the information. Just out of curiosity, what if let's say someone pick up the phone or my friend found it back and it's not turn on. If he login to the app from his ipad and delete away iphone from the app under device. What will happen from there after he turn on the phone?
 

Conan1986

Supremacy Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
6,544
Reaction score
79
The person shouldn't be able to wipe it with another device as it will request for him to login to the iCloud account to enable wiping. In any case, the phone would most likely be unusable if it has iCloud activation lock. Deleting the app (Find my iPhone) wouldn't change anything as the tracking/wiping mode is built into iOS.

However, if your friend had no passcode/Touch ID active, it is possible to access content and use the basic phone function by not connecting to any network..
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.
Top