Question regarding SSD

HappyLee

Hi people, I'm actually considering getting a SSD for my computer as my desktop ( almost 3 years old) is still using the traditional HDD. the thing is, whats the size of the sdd should I be getting? I'm looking to put my OS ( Windows 7 home prem 64bit) and maybe 1 or 2 game? And how is the installation gonna be like? Honestly I've never done a DIY before, so very new to this. And games like dragon nest, if I were to put the game in the SSD, the loading speed would increase by quite abit compared to HDD right?

Thanks in advance for the help

Just to add, the setup profile that's being listed at the side is outdated. I forgot which mobo I'm using, iirc it's asus p5e something

MoneyFace =p

Hi people, I'm actually considering getting a SSD for my computer as my desktop ( almost 3 years old) is still using the traditional HDD. the thing is, whats the size of the sdd should I be getting? I'm looking to put my OS ( Windows 7 home prem 64bit) and maybe 1 or 2 game? And how is the installation gonna be like? Honestly I've never done a DIY before, so very new to this. And games like dragon nest, if I were to put the game in the SSD, the loading speed would increase by quite abit compared to HDD right?

Thanks in advance for the help

Just to add, the setup profile that's being listed at the side is outdated. I forgot which mobo I'm using, iirc it's asus p5e something
128GB will be sufficient for OS + 1-2 games. Plextor M6S 128GB @ $119 with 5 years warranty will be your best bet.

If you think you want more capacity for more future games, Crucial M500 240GB @ $175 has the best value in town so far.

Installation on SSD will be the same as on HDD. Do note your motherboard's SATA 3 Gbps will bottleneck SSD performance to certain extent.

HappyLee

Oh, but the difference between the SSD and HDD would still be significant right? If that's the case my options would be get a SSD, then upgrade my MOBO in the near future?

Does the SSD comes with the bracket? Cause it's a shame to say, I dont even know how to install the HDD myself, because what I normally do is I'll get my rig set up at the shop and then I'll use it for years and not change anything, that's why I'm a total noob in this DIY thing. :( I've watched a few videos on youtube, I know it requires one SATA cable and a power cable? Is it included in the SSD? And if I were to get the SSD, it'll be recommended to actually reformat the whole thing and do the OS installation in the SSD right? Sorry for the series of questions bombarded.

Ark Law

With SSD, no need to put on bracket also can. Upside down, suspended in air, any position you like as long as power and sata cables are connected.

Yes, it is recommended to do a fresh installation on the ssd. In recent memory, I only recall Intel SSDs to come complete with sata cable, molex to sata power cable and 2.5 to 3.5" bracket.

HappyLee

With SSD, no need to put on bracket also can. Upside down, suspended in air, any position you like as long as power and sata cables are connected.

Yes, it is recommended to do a fresh installation on the ssd. In recent memory, I only recall Intel SSDs to come complete with sata cable, molex to sata power cable and 2.5 to 3.5" bracket.

Oh actually I just plug in the SSD and just place it somewhere inside can already? Dont need to mount also can? So If I were to buy other brand SSD, I'll need to purchase the cables separately ?

shadow84

The data cable is fairly cheap, and the power cable can be gotten from your psu. Even if the ssd u bought dun have the cable, can get the data cable from SLS.

HappyLee

Which cable should I be getting? It's better I go home and double check my mobo then post here right?

HappyLee

So actually both set of wires I also can buy outside separately right? I'm just afraid I dont know which to buy.

Ark Law

TS u will need
- 15pin (i.e. 15 contactpoint) cable which comes from the psu. this part is for power i.e. to send power to power up the ssd. this part of the cable can buy separately if your psu is modular type (i.e. the cables[with the exception of the thick 24pin and the 8 {or 4pin}] can be detached.). if your psu is non-modular (i.e. nothing can be detached} then look for the one with 15pin.
- 7 pin (i.e. 7 contactpoint) cable which should come with the mobo when u bought the mobo long ago. this cable is commonly called "sata cable", its for the data transfer portion. one end goes to the mobo, the other end goes to the ssd. this cable can buy separately

all the 15+7=22 pins are gold coloured. they are not really pins in the classical sense of the word, rather, they are metallic contact points. both 15 and 7 pin if u look closely, there is a "L" shaped plastic groove

as for placement of ssd in chassis, just use gaffer tape and tape it sufficiently, how much tape u want to use is up to u, at a place that is further away from the hot parts (heatsinks, psu, exhaust fan)

All that words about pins can be replaced with this simple image-cum-diagram.

sata_drive.gif

Anyway, TS can just dump the ssd somewhere inside the case, below are a few examples :D

Capture177838.jpg

Capture178104.jpg

plshelp

according to
ASRock > 880GM-LE
it says there are

"6 x SATA2 3.0 Gb/s connectors,"

and if u see the picture they are basically the blue colour slots, 3 in a row, 3 in another row,

so yes you can plug in ssd to your mobo but will be limited to sata2 speeds since ssds that are sold brand new nowadays are sata3 (6 Gb/s)

understand thanks bro!

HappyLee

lol bo liao, tio warning for posting at hardware clinic. SSD also hardware mah, then software meh. lol

Anyway if i were to change to SSD, is there a need to upgrade the PSU?

HappyLee

ahhh okay okay, I'll go and check out my MOBO when I reach home to be safe. haha

Ark Law

lol bo liao, tio warning for posting at hardware clinic. SSD also hardware mah, then software meh. lol

Anyway if i were to change to SSD, is there a need to upgrade the PSU?

SSD/HDD fall under Storage Clinic subforum, not Hardware Clinic. And ditto jtjt's reply.

HappyLee

Hey I just checked my mobo is Asus P7P55D-E. So it should be compatible for the SSD right?

HappyLee

So for the my mobo Asus P7P55D-E, which ssd is not compatible? or how do I go about checking it ?

cKm

Try not to use the Sata 6 ports. I'm using the similar series from you P7P55D-E Evo. Speed on Sata 6 port is slightly faster but marvell controller has alot of issues. I have quite abit of stuttering on games as compared to Native Intel Sata ports which are Sata 3Gb port but stable.

HappyLee

Try not to use the Sata 6 ports. I'm using the similar series from you P7P55D-E Evo. Speed on Sata 6 port is slightly faster but marvell controller has alot of issues. I have quite abit of stuttering on games as compared to Native Intel Sata ports which are Sata 3Gb port but stable.

Ah so if i dont use the sata6 ports, where should I connect the ssd to on my mobo? sorry for the noob question

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.