Questions on "Erase Data" option

runtime

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2001
Messages
413
Reaction score
1
Not sure if this was raised before.

Note on iPhone: Enabling this option will "Erase all data on the iPhone after 10 failed passcode attempts."

Searching through the Internet and it seems that there is an option to restore as new phone.
Does anyone knows if the original PC/icloud account which sync the iPhone is required?

Just want to confirm this is true as it will be great for iPhone thief right?
Just try 10 times, restore as new and sell.

So is best to disabled the function unless those with sensitive data?
 

wharzhee

Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
464
Reaction score
0
As long as your iPhone never had the Find my iPhone disabled.

Even if you erased it remotely or there had been an erase after 10 consecutive wrong password, you will encounter an activation lock screen.

It looks something like this:
find_activation_lock.png
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.
Top