Questions regarding Asus VG284QE

5adisticD3vil

Planning to hoot a Asus VG248QE but there is some issue i need to clear up, my last monitor is a VA702b viewsonic so its a big jump for me.
this is for purely gaming and maybe some movie or porn :s13::s13:

hope you guys can help clear things up

1. i read somewhere that the 144hz refresh rate for the VG248QE only works when connected in DVI-D and not HDMI.... is this true?

2. my PowerColor TurboDuo R9 280X 3GB have DL DVI-I, HDMI and 2 DP connections, does it mean i can't set refresh rate to 144Hz when i connect the DL DVI-D ( monitor ) to DL DVI-I ( graphic card ) ??

3. But if i get one of those DVI-D to DVI-I adapter, it should work right??

4. Does DP supports 144hz as well?

planning to hoot from amazon so i need to be absolutely certain before i click on the place order button :s13::s13:

buying from local need to pre order and the wait is 1 month

btw anyone got lobang to hoot this locally without the long wait time?? =:p

thank you in advance

shadow84

1. DL-DVI-D/I, DP can support 1080p, 120/144 hz. I think HDMI cant.

2. As point 1

3. DVI-D and DVI-I not much different, either 1 is fine.

4. Yes, Best to get it over DVI/HDMI as it can transmit audio as well, and has better bandwidth than HDMI.

Only way right now is to patiently wait for ASUS to send to you. Only ASUS is bringing very limited sets in. Reason due to the monitor only cater to niche market, aka FPS gamers who dun wan motion blurness. But, not many will buy coz too ex.

So either wait, get from amazon or find another brand (benq).

5adisticD3vil

hoot via amazon :s13:

my monitor up lorry and i'm using a borrow Samsung SyncMaster S24A850DW from sis

i can't wait so long

shadow84

At us$279 ah? U paid for shipping?

Pray it does not come with cracks.

5adisticD3vil

yar around that price

amazon waived off the shipping, one time exception

and CHOI dun like dat leh, simi crack.... :(

shadow84

yar around that price

amazon waived off the shipping, one time exception

and CHOI dun like dat leh, simi crack.... :(

I also bought my monitor frm amazon. They shipped just like what u will get frm stores. No bubble wrap, etc.

Evaday, i pray gt no cracks.

5adisticD3vil

:eek::eek:

wtf i was told by CSO that the item not covered under free shipping because it need delicate handling the sort of things, even though its over 125usd min req and its under free amazonglobal

now you tell me they ship like normal normal

pls no damage:(

shadow84

:eek::eek:

wtf i was told by CSO that the item not covered under free shipping because it need delicate handling the sort of things, even though its over 125usd min req and its under free amazonglobal

now you tell me they ship like normal normal

pls no damage:(

Erm for ur first point, do read the t&c, there is a limit for volumetric weight of 9kg. If ur parcel over shoot 9kg in volumetric weight, den cant free shipping. Thats the reason why cases, monitor, tv, speakers dun really qualify for free shiping even though its in fssg.

DHL jus stick the DO on the box and thats it. Since when shipping frm online dun have risks de....

5adisticD3vil

lol noted.
i skipped the t&c part :s34:

anyway purchased riao, now i will have to pray like you for no cracks

chucks

1. In short, no, HDMI doesn't support 144Hz. For VG248QE, use either DisplayPort or DL-DVI.

2. The VG248QE's DL DVI-D supports the digital video that your card's DL DVI-I outputs, so I don't see why it shouldn't work.

3. If you get a DL DVI-D to DL DVI-I adapter. And since both monitor and card has DisplayPort, you can just try a DP cable.

4. ASUS' website says the 144Hz mode is also available over DisplayPort.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.