Random crashing

froztheart

My 480GB Sandisk Extreme (SATA) worked well for 6 or 7 years until I RMAed it due to user error (thought it was bad SSD, ended up being the cable) :D
Wow, that's pretty long. Heavy usage or
i check sandisk sata SSD only have 3 years warranty which I think upon your new OS installation and update all your software and try new reading see if anything changes?

you can download the Sandisk specific tool from the following website instead of using the WD tool.

https://support-en.wd.com/app/answe...ernal-ssd:-check-endurance-and-life-remaining
EOL when I entered the link, only referred to WD tool instead, can't seem to find any download link for SanDisk.
oh it is possible nevertheless something is very off from the reading as with 73% health yet other stat is still all show 100 and very possible the SSD controller is not giving accurate information based on this reading.
Meaning I got a factory faulty set?

froztheart

at least you still can reinstall os. mine dying nvme can even lock up during usb install windows:o
Having some funny issues like chrome webpage suddenly dying/apps force closed/restart randomly. Now suspect its memory thought it was tested okay... dafuq
Have to wait for my new SSD to come liao.

TieI50g.jpg

royfrosty

Having some funny issues like chrome webpage suddenly dying/apps force closed/restart randomly. Now suspect its memory thought it was tested okay... dafuq
Have to wait for my new SSD to come liao.

TieI50g.jpg
That's why I feel. Memtest can only test rough guage not fully despite showing complete.

I really don't feel good with your set of vengeance ram.

froztheart

That's why I feel. Memtest can only test rough guage not fully despite showing complete.

Yeah, feels off. Let me do another round of test to ensure its serviceable...
Damn lehceh, I JUST WANNA PLAY MY DOTO 😭

kimsix

my recent experience tightening ddr5 timings too much, can boot into windows but when run chrome, it shows tab crash :o

revert ram timings, no more tab crash.

Phen8210

my recent experience tightening ddr5 timings too much, can boot into windows but when run chrome, it shows tab crash :o

maybe TS CPU spoil? :s13:

I have my stuff crashing when my CPU oc unstable too.

Cos if the memory corruption so bad, likely memtest will fail liao, and memory even artifacts n stuff.. but he didnt say any of this :unsure:

good luck to ts, hope the SSD replacement will work

froztheart

maybe TS CPU spoil? :s13:

I have my stuff crashing when my CPU oc unstable too.

Cos if the memory corruption so bad, likely memtest will fail liao, and memory even artifacts n stuff.. but he didnt say any of this :unsure:

good luck to ts, hope the SSD replacement will work
Only the CPU, MOBO ,GPU and drives are old parts, RAM and PSU have been upgraded cheap during COVID.
At this rate, I can just buy a new rig.. lol

Hopefully the SSD change fixes and that is the root cause of my problems.

kimsix

Sorry, how do you chage the timings? in the BIOS DRAM frequency?

yes in bios, should have section for dram timing control. but this is for OC tuning.
as phen8210 said, try to run stock for troubleshooting :o

royfrosty

Yea. But the issue is TS xmp got issues, I feel he already need to RMA his rams.

hlots123

u shd try clean the ram contacts as i mentioned earlier, then put back 2 sticks to test
u run 4 sticks dual rank rams from 2 diff kits, on daisy chain mobo is "hard"...
now after 4 yrs maybe some oxidation made it "harder" to work...

hlots123

but need to reinstall windows yet again! to test

since u just installed the os in current unstable state, all that was written prone to error...

froztheart

ALRIGHT IM BACK TO GIVE AN UPDATE.

Crashed earlier when I tried to test by playing Dota after I was about to enter the game after hero selection.
So, I decided to test each one of the RAM sticks and slots and they worked fine.
Cleaned up my rig of the dust build up, changed the thermal paste.

u shd try clean the ram contacts as i mentioned earlier, then put back 2 sticks to test
u run 4 sticks dual rank rams from 2 diff kits, on daisy chain mobo is "hard"...
now after 4 yrs maybe some oxidation made it "harder" to work...

Looks good for now..
Edit: Just tested dota, no more crashing.
No idea what went wrong, maybe the CPU thermal paste require a change?
4H7uQpO.jpg

jrwong84

Crashed earlier when I tried to test by playing Dota and it crashed again after I was about to enter the game after hero selection.
So, I decided to test each one of the RAM sticks and slots and they worked fine.

Looks good for now..

I oso kena bosd yesterday night all memory error knn end up is two stick ram got problems. Wahliao i scare already next time don't dare 4XRam liao.

Yongkit

Crashed earlier when I tried to test by playing Dota and it crashed again after I was about to enter the game after hero selection.

Looks good for now..
4H7uQpO.jpg
may I know if you running your ram at xmp or stock now?

jrwong84

Any recommendations on 64gb ram best is 2x32GB current i using 4x16GB, after bsod now 2x16gb i don't dare to put back the other 2 ram:mad:, i got a hard time trying to recovery yesterday night whole freaking windows crash w10 needed to factory reset.:cry:

Very critical damage to system already so i don't wish to try the other 2 ram since now is back to normal with 2 ram same kit number.

System
B550 Tomahawk
Ryzen 5700X
Ram 2X16 XGP D60 After bsod 4X before
Gpu Rtx 3070 evga ftw 3
Cooler Silent Loop 2
Extra 2 HDD at 6TB
PSU Seasonic Focus 750W

froztheart

Any recommendations on 64gb ram best is 2x32GB current i using 4x16GB, after bsod now 2x16gb i don't dare to put back the other 2 ram:mad:, i got a hard time trying to recovery yesterday night whole freaking windows crash w10 needed to factory reset.:cry:

Very critical damage to system already so i don't wish to try the other 2 ram since now is back to normal with 2 ram same kit number.

System
B550 Tomahawk
Ryzen 5700X
Ram 2X16 XGP D60 After bsod 4X before
Gpu Rtx 3070 evga ftw 3
Cooler Silent Loop 2
Extra 2 HDD at 6TB
PSU Seasonic Focus 750W
What do you do that requires 64GB of RAM though, design softwares?

Might want to run test that was previously mentioned in the thread and provide screenshots.

hlots123

nice
reseating the ram sticks helps if contacts weren't in too bad state
but still suggest u clean them...

froztheart

may I know if you running your ram at xmp or stock now?
I'm still on XMP though as seen below in CPU Z.
I've got a question, why is my stick #1 showing "Single" while my stick #2 shows "Dual" under the "Rank" field.

Crashed earlier when I tried to test by playing Dota after I was about to enter the game after hero selection.

Looks good for now..
4H7uQpO.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.