• The HardwareZone forums will be temporarily unavailable on January 21, from 5:00am to 6:00am (+8GMT) while we perform scheduled maintenance.

ranger

Sapnis

Anyone. Know how's the training like in ranger course? How long does it takes?

Onelastwish

Heard from my BMT sgt, very tough course.

Toughest SAF course.

60 days outfield. :s22:

reddevil0728

Go watch surviving the cut on YouTube see can find on the ranger course in us

BlitzStryker

60+ days course. Half of it at local ground,another half oversea. Mainly outfield missions.

Go by points system,do smth good and gain pts,do smth bad and deduct pts. Below minimum pts needed,you will be kicked out.

In camp,they will tekan you everyday. Turn out at night go route march then next morning 5BX straight or outfield straight. If caught sleeping in class cfm ganna jialat jialat. Got free ice cold bath sometimes too. Go outfield few weeks straight. Missions after missions,attk,defend,trench escape/evasion all lump into 1 big continuous combo.

They emphasis alot on teamwork and initiative. Selfish pple sure sure out. No initiative also will minus pts.

Got 1 incidents is they didnt eat for 5days in outfield,everyone all hungry,tired and wet,then the instructor want 1 person from each team to volunteer and not eat,while the rest eat. Another is 1 from each team have to volunteer to stay awake after a week long continuous mission,have to guard their team while they slp. If ganna caught sleeping,the team will minus pt and everyone rifle overhead in water for whole night.They wan to see who is selfless and etc.

Those who are in there are usually team-players and never-say-die attitude. Their ranger creed is super satki too,suits their style.

Sapnis

60+ days course. Half of it at local ground,another half oversea. Mainly outfield missions.

Go by points system,do smth good and gain pts,do smth bad and deduct pts. Below minimum pts needed,you will be kicked out.

In camp,they will tekan you everyday. Turn out at night go route march then next morning 5BX straight or outfield straight. If caught sleeping in class cfm ganna jialat jialat. Got free ice cold bath sometimes too. Go outfield few weeks straight. Missions after missions,attk,defend,trench escape/evasion all lump into 1 big continuous combo.

They emphasis alot on teamwork and initiative. Selfish pple sure sure out. No initiative also will minus pts.

Got 1 incidents is they didnt eat for 5days in outfield,everyone all hungry,tired and wet,then the instructor want 1 person from each team to volunteer and not eat,while the rest eat. Another is 1 from each team have to volunteer to stay awake after a week long continuous mission,have to guard their team while they slp. If ganna caught sleeping,the team will minus pt and everyone rifle overhead in water for whole night.They wan to see who is selfless and etc.

Those who are in there are usually team-players and never-say-die attitude. Their ranger creed is super satki too,suits their style.
icic thanks alot for the info! haha

Sapnis

icic thanks alot for the info! haha

Kyoji83

See this video first before you consider to sign on because being a regular is more then just like to attend field camp and out field.

S

Just thinking about it. cause i like field camp and out field hahaha!

Sapnis

thanks man! the video give alot pointers, but im not planning to sign on just thinking about going through ranger course

xxduckxx

ranger course only for regulars.. and special preference given to commandos if im not mistaken.. also if im not wrong the intake not very big a year.. maybe 1 platoon size?

anyway TS i think if you REALLY like outfield so much you should aim for OCS and get the JCC badge (if the course is still being done) .. if you enjoy JCC then maybe you're cut out for ranger (then you can sign on and i'll respect you for life haha) .. but rarely does anyone enjoy JCC from my experience.. and thats just 2-3weeks outfield in Brunei with the basic survival tests liao

BlitzStryker

Just voluntarily extend your ord,appeal to superior to go for JCC. Forgot the requirements for JCC,thinks it ippt,soc,and survival training in camp and tekong.

In a way,JCC is like a mini ranger without the points system and higher demand of Ranger. Ranger need infantry backgrd then can apply,does not apply for JCC.

Kyoji83

Not true. It is open to all as long as you have the Trainee Pre-requisites.

Trainee Pre-requisites

He/She must clear an FFI prior to attending the course. To meet its physical demands, the candidate must have attained at least the IPPT Silver Awards standards within the year prior to the commencement of the course. As the course involves certain river crossing training, it is preferred that all candidates be able to swim at least 50m in any stroke. No other admission criteria is imposed. However, all trainees are advised to prepare themselves physically for the course.

There are 2 types of JCC course. 1st type is JCC is part of SCS & OCS Infantry course. 2nd type belong to open group. I think there are point system because this video show how Assessor give points to OCT in their JCC.

Link: Ep 14: The Home Stretch (Every Singaporean Son II - The Making of an Officer) - YouTube

Just voluntarily extend your ord,appeal to superior to go for JCC. Forgot the requirements for JCC,thinks it ippt,soc,and survival training in camp and tekong.

In a way,JCC is like a mini ranger without the points system and higher demand of Ranger. Ranger need infantry backgrd then can apply,does not apply for JCC.

BlitzStryker

Not true. It is open to all as long as you have the Trainee Pre-requisites.

Which is what i meant what:s13: I said Ranger need infantry backgrd then can apply,does not apply for JCC. Not applicable to JCC. My ang moh rusty

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.