Re-contract or not

derrickgoh

In a bit of a dilemma. Am running on M1's now defunct iPhone Value + (I think) plan and paying $39 a month. I could get IP6+ without contract for $1,288 and stick with my existing plan. For the sake of calculation that means I will pay $936 in total for subscriptions after 2 years.

However if I recontract with M1 on their I-Lite+ plan I will have to pay $41 a month. Over a 2 year period that is $984. Which is slightly more than my current plan. However by recontracting I can get the 64GB iPhone 6+ for $805.

To me its logical to recontract as its cheaper. But my friend was saying its more expensive as the cost of phone is factored into the monthly subscriptions. However I have done the breakdown and it still seems cheaper to recontract.

If I don't recontract, phone costs $1,288 and my 2 years on current plan costs $936. In total I am $2,224 poorer.

If I recontract, phone costs $805 and my 2 years on new plan costs $984. In total I am $1,789 poorer.

By recontracting it looks like I save $435. So is my friend's calculation wrong or am I missing something here?

madcampus

Either way, you're screwed. The only way to get out of this cycle is to go pre-paid. Or you can change telco every 2 years for new sign-ups benefits/freebies to offset the monthly subscription.

I'm also facing similar dilema. Jin buay song the price increase - especially the monthly subscription.

denilson

In a bit of a dilemma. Am running on M1's now defunct iPhone Value + (I think) plan and paying $39 a month. I could get IP6+ without contract for $1,288 and stick with my existing plan. For the sake of calculation that means I will pay $936 in total for subscriptions after 2 years.

However if I recontract with M1 on their I-Lite+ plan I will have to pay $41 a month. Over a 2 year period that is $984. Which is slightly more than my current plan. However by recontracting I can get the 64GB iPhone 6+ for $805.

To me its logical to recontract as its cheaper. But my friend was saying its more expensive as the cost of phone is factored into the monthly subscriptions. However I have done the breakdown and it still seems cheaper to recontract.

If I don't recontract, phone costs $1,288 and my 2 years on current plan costs $936. In total I am $2,224 poorer.

If I recontract, phone costs $805 and my 2 years on new plan costs $984. In total I am $1,789 poorer.

By recontracting it looks like I save $435. So is my friend's calculation wrong or am I missing something here?
you math seems correct. The logic works assuming you do not want to change telco and only want to get the IP6+

nutz1943

Complained to IDA, the 4G signal sometimes is not even guarantee.
How can they force and charged ppl to pay for 4G when its so unstable?

kmkimlo

u will need to see your data usage as well.. will you exceed?

for me.. i have to stay on my 12gb as my avg usage is 4gb per month on singtel 39.90 plan.. I dun think i will be able to survive on just the measly 2gb quota per month.. :)

doomed

Is your defunct plan the 12g one? If it is than that is worth more. So keep that.

htngwilliam

You are correct except you loose the flexibility to terminate. Assuming if you need to cancel your phone plan, without a contract surely make things easier.

jelt2359

As long as you are sure you are okay with staying in a two year contract, it is always better to recontract. The problem comes when you are going only say 1 year on your current plan (eg. cos you buy new phone, or you leave the country or something), and end up having to pay penalty.

Also, your calculations are correct.

CorosIve

you are right and your friend is wrong.

there is a 3rd way. sell away the phone you recontract on the first day at premium price and get a iphone 6 much later

kityip

Recontract is cheaper. I always Recontract.. ;))

Franzz

million dollar qn: you want the ip6 bo?

if yes, you know what to do.
if no, recon and sell the phone to offset your bills. this path is the most logical one.

Windowlover

Recontract is cheaper. I always Recontract.. ;))

It just depend on individual,, main changing points is data usage nowaday as Singtel need some $$$ return.. from 2Gb to 12 Gb... previous they do control and give all 12Gb, Now they knew the power of apps.:s13:

kerrying

Generally, both your friend and you have valid points and correct.

Mathematically, your math is correct: re-contract almost always equals cheaper.

The key is that your friend likely meant to say that getting a phone through the handset subsidy way (by signing up a plan that you don't really care about) is far more expensive because the (lower) phone price + 24 months subscriptions always > the full original phone price.

Next, come other factors such as bundled data, talk times, free VAS, misc charges, possible early termination penalty and etc. These are a little more difficult to quantify for easy comparison: you may not think data is important to you, while it is very useful for other users, for example; or you need a lot of talk time, while other users are fine with 100 minutes, for example.

So, yes, dilemma indeed, many of us have the exact same dilemmas. Speechless when it comes to the mafias aka telcos.. :)

From the look of it, if you can work with what the new plan offers (in terms of talk time, bundled data and etc), it seems you are better off with re-contract.

derrickgoh

Generally, both your friend and you have valid points and correct.

Mathematically, your math is correct: re-contract almost always equals cheaper.

The key is that your friend likely meant to say that getting a phone through the handset subsidy way (by signing up a plan that you don't really care about) is far more expensive because the (lower) phone price + 24 months subscriptions always > the full original phone price.

Next, come other factors such as bundled data, talk times, free VAS, misc charges, possible early termination penalty and etc. These are a little more difficult to quantify for easy comparison: you may not think data is important to you, while it is very useful for other users, for example; or you need a lot of talk time, while other users are fine with 100 minutes, for example.

So, yes, dilemma indeed, many of us have the exact same dilemmas. Speechless when it comes to the mafias aka telcos.. :)

From the look of it, if you can work with what the new plan offers (in terms of talk time, bundled data and etc), it seems you are better off with re-contract.
To be honest my existing plan is fine. I dont need the extra sms & talk time. That said, the new plan is $41 compared to my existing $39 so its not as though its a lot more.

kmkimlo

if u already dun have the 12gb, dun think too much lah.. just sign lah when the contract allows u to w/o penalty

rockyan

Loosing your 12 GB is like loosing

your virginity. Lol

I lost mine last year. :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.