Re-contract or not

ck47.me

i started mine with only 300MB monthly when i signed up for iphone3G.. then 12gb come along after 1.5 years.. still thinking how did i impossibly limit my data usage to 300MB monthly..

derrickgoh

if u already dun have the 12gb, dun think too much lah.. just sign lah when the contract allows u to w/o penalty
Now I'm thinking whether to recontract or get from Singtel. LOL!

Singtel is $42.90 and I only get 2GB data. M1 is $41 and with 3GB data. The free calls and SMS no issues 'cos all are more than I need.

Just very sick of M1. Firstly I've been with them since 1997 and not a single upgrade voucher for my loyalty. In fact when I wanted to buy Note 3 they wanted me to pay penalty fee saying my contract still left 4 months. WTF?? :s8:

The voice reception & coverage is terrible. Sometimes it takes forever for the call to connect. Sometimes I can hear the other party but they can't hear me. And its not as if I'm at Pulau Ubin or the top floor of Marina Bay Sands lor!

4G sucks too. Many times the phone shows H+ which has internet connection but is slow. At other times it shows H which is basically no internet connection. And I'm not just talking about in the MRT. Even outdoors also. And again its not as if I'm somewhere remote like Sungei Gedong or somewhere high like Swissotel the Stamford. :s8:

neubie

Singtel is $42.90 and I only get 2GB data. M1 is $41 and with 3GB data. The free calls and SMS no issues 'cos all are more than I need.

Just very sick of M1. Firstly I've been with them since 1997 and not a single upgrade voucher for my loyalty. In fact when I wanted to buy Note 3 they wanted me to pay penalty fee saying my contract still left 4 months. WTF?? :s8:

The voice reception & coverage is terrible. Sometimes it takes forever for the call to connect. Sometimes I can hear the other party but they can't hear me. And its not as if I'm at Pulau Ubin or the top floor of Marina Bay Sands lor!

4G sucks too. Many times the phone shows H+ which has internet connection but is slow. At other times it shows H which is basically no internet connection. And I'm not just talking about in the MRT. Even outdoors also. And again its not as if I'm somewhere remote like Sungei Gedong or somewhere high like Swissotel the Stamford. :s8:

Change telco, pay more premium and get less headache will b better for you.

victorian07

TS, i'm facing the same dilemma as you just that i'm on the 12gb plan. Thought of suspending my line and to recontract to get used to the 2gb plan see how it is, but nah it doesn't work that way. Singtel will reconnect the suspended line to the new price plans (read: 2gb data) after the max 12 mths suspension.

Even though I barely hit above 1GB on my current 12GB plan, most have told me how valuable it is and not to give it up. My low usage could probably be attributed to the dismal 3G speeds at times :s13:

badsector

TS, i'm facing the same dilemma as you just that i'm on the 12gb plan. Thought of suspending my line and to recontract to get used to the 2gb plan see how it is, but nah it doesn't work that way. Singtel will reconnect the suspended line to the new price plans (read: 2gb data) after the max 12 mths suspension.

Even though I barely hit above 1GB on my current 12GB plan, most have told me how valuable it is and not to give it up. My low usage could probably be attributed to the dismal 3G speeds at times :s13:

like you, my data usage per month less than 1Gb. mainly just to whatsapp and wechat. recontract will save more lor.
unless you hit about 5Gb per month. then better not.
1Gb = $10.70 mah..

kerrying

Cellular service wise (phone calls, internet access), SinkTel is a tad bit better, followed by StunHub; Not too sure about M1.

Many many years with SinKtel and NEVER receive a single voucher or anything (except charity donation pamphlet together with the bill every single month almost every year). 2nd year into StunHub, I already received voucher in the mail very sincerely requesting for me to re-contract (plus a freebie power bank). If this experience is a good reference, go with StunHub. :)

Overall internet usage tend to increase over time (faster internet access, bigger screen..), so having more bundled data certainly is a good thing. The telcos know this, hence the taking away the 12GB and "selling you back" the data at $10.70 a GB. So, if you have the 12GB and have good use for it, keep it. If you really look at only the numbers, $10 for a GB of data transfer is outright daylight robbery, grand mafia style.

luvalist

Depends on your usage. If the old plan is better and more benefits and u have money to buy from apple store and willing to wait for the phone, then don't recontract bah IMHO

sevenfightclub

Cellular service wise (phone calls, internet access), SinkTel is a tad bit better, followed by StunHub; Not too sure about M1.

Many many years with SinKtel and NEVER receive a single voucher or anything (except charity donation pamphlet together with the bill every single month almost every year). 2nd year into StunHub, I already received voucher in the mail very sincerely requesting for me to re-contract (plus a freebie power bank). If this experience is a good reference, go with StunHub. :)

Overall internet usage tend to increase over time (faster internet access, bigger screen..), so having more bundled data certainly is a good thing. The telcos know this, hence the taking away the 12GB and "selling you back" the data at $10.70 a GB. So, if you have the 12GB and have good use for it, keep it. If you really look at only the numbers, $10 for a GB of data transfer is outright daylight robbery, grand mafia style.

Hmm I did get voucher when I was with Singtel, but most of the time I had to ask for it. Reception-wise for calls and data, same as M1. Underground MRT data sure gone case. Calls, sometimes takes a while to connect. Never tried Starhub but my friends always complain about the reception. I was with Singtel for more than 10 years and most of the time I've had bad experience with their customer service. Their iPhones launch, however, are very well-organized. M1 has the worst iPhone launches but better customer service. Not incredibly fantastic but definitely better than Singtel from my experience.

tiny

Some people use 12GB sim card to create wifi modem at home. Quite worth it.

derrickgoh

Hmm I did get voucher when I was with Singtel, but most of the time I had to ask for it. Reception-wise for calls and data, same as M1. Underground MRT data sure gone case. Calls, sometimes takes a while to connect. Never tried Starhub but my friends always complain about the reception. I was with Singtel for more than 10 years and most of the time I've had bad experience with their customer service. Their iPhones launch, however, are very well-organized. M1 has the worst iPhone launches but better customer service. Not incredibly fantastic but definitely better than Singtel from my experience.
That's the only thing making me think twice. Singtel's service. I've not used Singtel before for mobile or Mio but I was on Singnet for a few years and their customer service really sucks donkey balls lor!

derrickgoh

Oh for what its worth, Singtel seems to be good as long as you don't need customer service. My mum is on Singtel and I find their app very useful. No need to log in and it shows everything on one page - how many hours of talk time used, how many SMS sent, how much data, etc.

I'm on M1 and their app sucks. Everytime need to log in with NRIC number and the info is displayed on different screens so I need to go to several screens before I get all the info I need. And sometimes each screen takes quite a while to load. And it seems they do some system update every night at 10 pm so good luck if you need to check at that time. :s8:

aptget

I gave up on M1 1.5 years ago. really poor quality. eg. if i end a call, no one can call in within 2~3 secs later. There's some sort of "lag"

Made a complain, got a call from M1, but issue was Never resolved. And I had 5 numbers all under M1, and ALL faced the same issue.

Bought a pre-paid from starhub to try, and NO ISSUES (even Singtel had none of that "lag" I mentioned)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.