Real fuel efficiency

CCCustom

U sold your car to your corlick? Your corlick most probably think u tricked him into buying your car :s13:
My FD? Nope, mentioned before, sold to some rich guy who bought it for his son who was still serving in NS :s8: The same guy I mentioned in another thread who lowballed offer $500 to take my $700-per-piece Ray's Engineering Gramlights 57F forged rims together with the car :mad:

HeadQuarters

My FD? Nope, mentioned before, sold to some rich guy who bought it for his son who was still serving in NS :s8: The same guy I mentioned in another thread who lowballed offer $500 to take my $700-per-piece Ray's Engineering Gramlights 57F forged rims together with the car :mad:

How's your FD1 or FD2 eh fuel consumption?

CCCustom

How's your FD1 or FD2 eh fuel consumption?
12.5km/L, manual.

Back when I was still driving it 1 of the regulars at Civic FD forum (can't remember his username at the moment) I met at Ah Heng's was shocked when I told him. He drives an FD4M, told me he only hits 10km/L at best.

doody_

Those official FC figures are "fake" and I doubt anybody in the whole world hits them in real world usage.... At best you can use them for comparison with other cars, so a car with 18km/L will use lesser petrol than a car rated at 15km/L. In real world driving you may be getting something like 14km/L and 11km/L.

My car is rated at 14km/L and I am getting 11-12km/L in real life.

OysterJianHao

those paper stated FC r cars tested on running belt, they r not tested on the road...therefore it always higher than actual

nfshp253

I'm one of the very few people that can hit a better FC than quoted. My car's highway FC is 4.1L/100km claimed. The best I achieved was 3.9L/100km. Usually getting 4.4L/100km with moderate traffic.

Dragon

Administrator
those paper stated FC r cars tested on running belt, they r not tested on the road...therefore it always higher than actual

Just to add, it is known that manufacturers test with almost empty tank and empty car. Less weight better FC. :)

HeadQuarters

12.5km/L, manual.

Back when I was still driving it 1 of the regulars at Civic FD forum (can't remember his username at the moment) I met at Ah Heng's was shocked when I told him. He drives an FD4M, told me he only hits 10km/L at best.

I am driving a FD1A. 5 years 7 months liao. Used to have about 10.5km/litre.

Recently went to pump full tank, about 41 litres after only 336km... That's only 8.2km/litre... :eek:

All stock. Regular servicing at Kah Motor all along. I don't think I am heavy-footed. Travelling along neighborhood road most of the time, occasionally KPE and CTE only.

At first I suspect tyres coz I pumped once every 2-3 months. But each time pressure level not too bad at 220. I pumped 240. Recently pumped the tyres but mileage still so bad at 8.2km/l. :o

Any other possible reasons? Honda smoked me with a Mazda engine? :o

ZhuTou!

Recently went to pump full tank, about 41 litres after only 336km... That's only 8.2km/litre... :eek:

All stock. Regular servicing at Kah Motor all along. I don't think I am heavy-footed. Travelling along neighborhood road most of the time, occasionally KPE and CTE only.

At first I suspect tyres coz I pumped once every 2-3 months. But each time pressure level not too bad at 220. I pumped 240. Recently pumped the tyres but mileage still so bad at 8.2km/l. :o

So rich go kah motor service huan :o
Engine old alr, starts to use walking stick liao :s13:
5 yrs ago lesser car on the road ma
So many cars now, always need to brake
So fc more cui lor

Beepok

usually those ppl go back torkor service one will not have clue when their fc drop. u should just suck it up bah

HeadQuarters

So rich go kah motor service huan :o
Engine old alr, starts to use walking stick liao :s13:
5 yrs ago lesser car on the road ma
So many cars now, always need to brake
So fc more cui lor

Go AD there to service is out of habit n convenience... Any good n trustworthy workshops to recommend? If in Sin Ming area better.

I believe aging engine is oso a factor, but FC shouldn't be that bad. I visited Honda Club forum n read some drivers complaining about their FD1 fuel consumption too. Nobirdie got a clue either. I forgot to ask the Honda technician at the servicing 2 weeks ago..

Dragon

Administrator

Assuming that your ECU mapping is default stock. You can try the following:
- Clean throttle body and air fuel mix sensors
- Change spark plugs
- Use recommended viscosity engine oil
- Reduce weight, don't keep unnecessary items in the car

Hope this helps. Otherwise it is down to driving habits, or the right foot. :)

CCCustom

Assuming that your ECU mapping is default stock. You can try the following:
- Clean throttle body and air fuel mix sensors
- Change spark plugs
- Use recommended viscosity engine oil
- Reduce weight, don't keep unnecessary items in the car

Hope this helps. Otherwise it is down to driving habits, or the right foot. :)
Servicing at KM ... unless he buys his own oil, it will probably be Shell Helix Ultra.

Try switching to something 30-weight. I was using Redline 5w30 from Ah Bao's MOs back then but seems he's either no longer in the oil business or became very low profile (if I remember correctly he only went into the oil business because of a fight with mxtradings). Or try Mobil 0w30 (not 5w30), the 1 with "Advanced Fuel Economy" printed on the bottle. Might wanna try resetting the ECU when 1st switch to 30-weight too.

Weight-wise, I would say that my FD was pretty heavy ... it was my IASCA competition car after all (refer to my ICE Enthusiast thread), 3 amps, 3-way speakers, huge-@$$ subwoofer and box, on top of full soundproofing of doors, floorpan and boot, firewall (yes, car was totally stripped) and even inner side of mudguard.

OysterJianHao

driving a 11yr honda jazz gd, 40liter full tank can only get 500km, revv not more than 2k rpm, auto transmission drive like manual transmission

runforyourlife

Hi, been seeing a few cars.. Abiut fuel efficiency

Note brochure say 20km/L,salesman say at most 16 in reality
Jazz brochure say 18/L, the same person say really can get 18.

Anyone can tell me whether true anot? Jazz really 18km/L?

For normal driving maybe. I don't have a jazz so i don't know. But if one drives like Takumi, then confirm won't. And "normal driving" and "light foot" is also subjective to individual drivers.

rider83

For older cars, best to overhaul engine and then change all the overused parts

sunsetbay

I'm one of the very few people that can hit a better FC than quoted. My car's highway FC is 4.1L/100km claimed. The best I achieved was 3.9L/100km. Usually getting 4.4L/100km with moderate traffic.

u base on the reading from the dashboard or calculate your own~?

nfshp253

I read off the computer display but one 70L of diesel can last me 3 and a half weeks of 80km+/day from Monday to Friday.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.