Recommend a Folding bike

dqwong

“Entry level” bike @ $2650. You can buy Brompton already.

zuoom

Just get one you are comfortable with. Anything around the 500 range be very decent liao.

Alphas

I bought the hachiko HA-01 for about 300 about 5 years ago, still riding it occasionally. I suggest getting a aluminium frame foldie, since those carbon steel frame tends to rust easily when kena scratched.

Parka

I bought Travelo 2-3 years ago. $800+ I think.

Expensive but if you use it often, it's worth the money.

Consider 2nd hand too because those are even more worth the money.
Especially from people buy then realise they don't cycle as much or don't like cycling.

tanahgu

WEEKeight (3Speed) orange/green (brompnot)
$900 keyima?

jeffong

Has anyone gotten a good experience buying Dahon's from those Shopee or Lazada vendors who ship them directly from China?

doremiviz

Hello.. anyone got a good recommendation for Foldable bike? Looking for wheels around 20 inch.. Budget up to 1.5K..

Globe

looks like hito brand is sibei entry level ...

drkcynic

i see many lao uncles riding together on their bromptons and brompnots
my place here the kopitiam is like a pitstop nowadays
Ya seems to be the in thing for lao unkers. Get brompton and hang out in big groups.

Glad i flipped my brompton away. The person who bought from me is also a lao unker. Paid me $500 more than my purchase price, no questions asked.

allanzzz

Bromptons may not retain their value if everyone dump their bikes after the fad is over with no buyer.

gentoro

I agree that at current, even 2nd hand authentic Brompton can fetch higher price than brand new but once fads is over, its likely to retain it value for some time but not so high and over.

likewise for those wannabes, it's gone to be trash pricing as overly supply.

rachel_tieh

Hi all - i'm looking for a folding bike as well, budget around $1k.

After i read all the post here, seems like Brompton is high recommended. However when i ask around, seems like it is out of stock and the waiting list is very long.

So i need some advice, since Brompton is the best #1, what is the #2 or #3 brand to consider? My usage will be ride along PCN with occasional ride through MRT, so harve to be light and easy to fold.

thanks so much!

eatsleeplim

Hi all - i'm looking for a folding bike as well, budget around $1k.

After i read all the post here, seems like Brompton is high recommended. However when i ask around, seems like it is out of stock and the waiting list is very long.

So i need some advice, since Brompton is the best #1, what is the #2 or #3 brand to consider? My usage will be ride along PCN with occasional ride through MRT, so harve to be light and easy to fold.

thanks so much!
Brompton is the easiest to bring around on public transport, cos can roll around, but out of your budget. Got stock from one of the authorized distributor now - http://www.808cycles.com/blog/

Got my waifu a CarryMe, it's small and single speed, under $1k. Not great for cycling for longer distance and uneven pavement, but good probably great for last mile commute? It's a temporary bike until light light brompton got stock for her.

Personal experience: Got friends with Tern and Dahon, bikes from $4xx upwards, quite ok lah but then lugging it around on public transport nowhere as easy as brompton due to the design. Cheap cheap foldies sub-$300 mostly CMI, not aligned properly, rusting parts, etc.

As for which bike to recommend, depends on how u want to use the bike bah. If u dun use the public transport much, one of the branded foldies from $500 should be good.

testerjp

I last time had a Brompton and it was not even used then I gave it away.

My last time was about 15 years ago ago. I remember it was around gbp 700 less than sgd 1.8k for 6 speed.

Birdy has suspension or something.
Dahon was already known making more value for money foldies.

I think focus more on the material and weight. Brompton from my experience is nothing special, it was claimed to fold better but I don't think it matters much anymore since its patent most likely expired and it's not rocket science or using any unique alloy. Iirc it's just regular steel which is very heavy. I think titanium, carbon fibre are good. I personally think the weight matters more than the fold. I believe you should b able to get something decent from taobao nowadays.

For things like bikes you don't really need aftersales if the parts are already using generic components. You are basically mainly playing for the frame. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.