Recommend a home, AIO, color printer

digipet

I'm looking for an AIO color printer to print family photos for ocassional use (once every 1-2 wks), budget up to 300

Inkjet/Laser is fine and slower printing speed ok too, more concerned about print quality and effective ink usage.
Other optional good-to-have is edge printing.

any models you guys recommend?

zleipnir

What is your usage? If high, go for inject as it's cheaper. If low got for laserjet as you won't have issues like ink dry and damage ur inkjet print head.

But if your primary usage is for printing pictures, go for inkjet.

For me, I have very low usage... more than 1yr i still haven't change my original Toner set and still working well. Unlike the laserjet, I spoilt at least 2 AIO becos of my low usage. Btw, I'm currently using HP M477FDW.

I'm looking for an AIO color printer to print family photos for ocassional use (once every 1-2 wks), budget up to 300

Inkjet/Laser is fine and slower printing speed ok too, more concerned about print quality and effective ink usage.
Other optional good-to-have is edge printing.

any models you guys recommend?

digipet

@zleipnir thanks for suggestion. My current usage quite low and primarily printing pictures/photos. I also heard abt the inkdry issue but color laser printer has a price premium which i dunno worth for my low usage anot.

Your hp printer is premium model for home user alr 👍

Was thinking of Canon TS8370 inkjet but the cost per page and ink supplies quite high. Any hP inkjets u'd suggest since u use Hp?

zleipnir

I spent around 400++ during IT Show at Suntec. so more than a year (365days) already, basically it's like spending around S$1+ per day for the printer bah, if u think like that :)

@zleipnir thanks for suggestion. My current usage quite low and primarily printing pictures/photos. I also heard abt the inkdry issue but color laser printer has a price premium which i dunno worth for my low usage anot.

Your hp printer is premium model for home user alr ******************

Was thinking of Canon TS8370 inkjet but the cost per page and ink supplies quite high. Any hP inkjets u'd suggest since u use Hp?

Lil_d3viLz

Unlike inkjet, I spoilt at least 2 AIO becos of my low usage.

U mean "unlike laser printer"? The laser ones can survive pretty long without printing like months. Whereas Inkjet as you mentioned, dries up very quickly. Only professionals that requires high quality colour printing use Inkjets.

Or simply use your friends laser printers. Buy them a set of refills, you can ask them to print for years for you if low usage.

Don't be the cheesepie-type, want to use others printers but didn't pay a single cent.

alamakazim

Let me psycho those want to print photo peeps

Not easy to print perfect or good color saturation photo... Well at least u must know your printer , ink and paper very well

Can really consider print on demand services

Or professional printers...Print only those good photos, those printer uses good pigment ink and paper and will last many years

U print with home or general office inkjet... It will fade

zleipnir

oops my bad. "unlike laser printer".

No lah I got a laserjet so dun need to go bother people when I can printer anytime I want and my parents can use too.

U mean "unlike laser printer"? The laser ones can survive pretty long without printing like months. Whereas Inkjet as you mentioned, dries up very quickly. Only professionals that requires high quality colour printing use Inkjets.

Or simply use your friends laser printers. Buy them a set of refills, you can ask them to print for years for you if low usage.

Don't be the cheesepie-type, want to use others printers but didn't pay a single cent.

digipet

I spent around 400++ during IT Show at Suntec. so more than a year (365days) already, basically it's like spending around S$1+ per day for the printer bah, if u think like that :)

sounds like a good deal you got, that model i think eol now alr.

the successor model MFP M479dw rrp is ard 700-800 which is way above my budget and overkill for my ocassional printing.

zleipnir

u can try check out other models and brands too since u know your requirement.

sounds like a good deal you got, that model i think eol now alr.

the successor model MFP M479dw rrp is ard 700-800 which is way above my budget and overkill for my ocassional printing.

AlTan1

Btw, dunno whether you all know this. Canon inkjet printers used to be able to print black ink printouts even if your colour ink tanks are low. Afterall, if you only need text printouts, no need to rush out to buy the colour ink.

Apparently, the latest ones (started last year or the year before) cannot. If your colour tank is low, and you select black printing, the printout you get is reddish. Not black. Canon tech support said the only way is to buy a colour tank and replace. LL.

So you decide ok? Does that make sense or not? You can call them and ask.

Koenig168

For black printing, just get a cheap laser printer. Colour ink is more expensive than black ink so no point wasting it to print text only.

AlTan1

For black printing, just get a cheap laser printer. Colour ink is more expensive than black ink so no point wasting it to print text only.
True. But for those of us who buy a colour inkjet cos they want to print in colour some of the time, make a personalized birthday card a few times a year, I hope they are aware that Canon has gone and make that bizarre decision to design their inkjets such that both black and colour tanks MUST NOT be low even if you just want to print black that day.

If your colour tank is low, tough luck!

Questionaire

So is there a friendly cost inkjet that has separate black and colour, that no need keep replace colour if not in use?

Able to scan and print double side.

Brother has so many options, blur liao

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.