mustsic

Recommend a mITX rig for normal usage

budget 1k
- no need os
- no need ram
- need 19" touch screen monitor
- need wireless lan card that support 5ghz (does not break connection like wireless usb)
- small compact, low noise, easy to clean casing

Usage: for normal home surfing, power saving. Prefer to process download from IDM quickly.

Thank you for recommendation :s12::o=:p:):)

MoneyFace =p

budget 1k
- no need os
- no need ram
- need 19" touch screen monitor
- need wireless lan card that support 5ghz (does not break connection like wireless usb)
- small compact, low noise, easy to clean casing

Usage: for normal home surfing, power saving. Prefer to process download from IDM quickly.

Thank you for recommendation :s12::o=:p:):)
Assuming you have DDR3 RAM...

CPU+MB: Intel Celeron G1620 + MSI B75IA-E33 @ $176 (Cybermind)
Even cheaper than those mITX motherboards with integrated single band WiFi solution.
Cybermind offers this cheaper even than Tradepac while offering a minor CPU speed boost over G1610.

HDD: Western Digital Blue 1TB @ $76
Best of both worlds but tops out at 1TB.
CASE+PSU: Jonsbo V3+ + FSP Hexa 500W [80 Plus] @ $125 (PC Themes)
Why every time Jonsbo again? This chassis offers the simplest interior (basically empty space) that aids in cleaning especially as the edges are rounded and there's virtually nothing else to remove other than side and bottom HDD panels and the interior hardware parts.
Refer below for illustrations.

DSP: Dell E2014T Touch 19.5" LED [TN] @ $309
One of the cheapest 20" touchscreen monitor available in local market.
WIFI: TP-Link TL-WDN4800 Wireless-N Dual Band 450 Mbps [PCI Express x1] @ $65
Many may be skeptical and wary of TP-Link products but this particular dual band PCIe product sports raving reviews for its simplicity and reliability across the web.

Total: $751

Buy others from Tradepac, #05-18.

Store Bundle

IMG_8418_zpsaefbb036.jpg

900369743_313.jpg

royfrosty

Bro the dell monitor is at 309. Tradepac selling at that price :)

royfrosty

Thanks bro. Amended. You seemed to know the availability and prices of all listed and unlisted parts sold at Tradepac.. :eek::s31::s13:

help a few forum-ers here hoot and DIY their stuffs also leh. lol

This monitor quite popular. Got a few people actually bought this monitor for its touch purposes and also for their kids to play interactive games like Angry Bird on PC lol.

mustsic

Assuming you have DDR3 RAM...

CPU+MB: Intel Celeron G1620 + MSI B75IA-E33 @ $176 (Cybermind)
Even cheaper than those mITX motherboards with integrated single band WiFi solution.
Cybermind offers this cheaper even than Tradepac while offering a minor CPU speed boost over G1610.

HDD: Western Digital Blue 1TB @ $76
Best of both worlds but tops out at 1TB.
CASE+PSU: Jonsbo V3+ + FSP Hexa 500W [80 Plus] @ $125 (PC Themes)
Why every time Jonsbo again? This chassis offers the simplest interior (basically empty space) that aids in cleaning especially as the edges are rounded and there's virtually nothing else to remove other than side and bottom HDD panels and the interior hardware parts.
Refer below for illustrations.

DSP: Dell E2014T Touch 19.5" LED [TN] @ $309
One of the cheapest 20" touchscreen monitor available in local market.
WIFI: TP-Link TL-WDN4800 Wireless-N Dual Band 450 Mbps [PCI Express x1] @ $65
Many may be skeptical and wary of TP-Link products but this particular dual band PCIe product sports raving reviews for its simplicity and reliability across the web.

Total: $751

Buy others from Tradepac, #05-18.

Store Bundle

IMG_8418_zpsaefbb036.jpg

900369743_313.jpg

How does ASROCK Z87E-ITX perform? It comes with 802.11ac wifi which meets one of my requirement.

I was comparing:
1. ASROCK H81M-ITX($123)+i5-4670($272)+Asus PCE-AC68 AC1900 PCIE($149)[$544]
vs
2. ASROCK Z87E-ITX+i5-4670 [$486]

Which i5 cpu would you recommend? Do you recommend 1. or 2. or other better alternatives? :)

MoneyFace =p

How does ASROCK Z87E-ITX perform? It comes with 802.11ac wifi which meets one of my requirement.

I was comparing:
vs

Which i5 cpu would you recommend? Do you recommend 1. or 2. or other better alternatives? :)
You will be wasting more money on the features that you will not be able to capitalise as mentioned in my explanations. :o

royfrosty

I was comparing:
vs

I cant stress this enough. Do not buy a board (unless you know what you are doing) with the mindset that "This board comes with wifi".

It is actually the same as you buy a board with wifi card installed. It is not build in.

And

FYI, why do you pair an overclocking capable board with a Non overclocking CPU? Waste of money and also totally not worth it.

wtfh4x

I cant stress this enough. Do not buy a board (unless you know what you are doing) with the mindset that "This board comes with wifi".

It is actually the same as you buy a board with wifi card installed. It is not build in.

ITX board once you put Wifi PCIe card then cannot expand later already lor. :( Thats why the mini PCIe slot with pre-installed is better. Otherwise if use the USB one, it will be sticking out the back and damn expensive for a USB one with ac.

wwenze

Can go Haswell liao lar... don't stay at Ivy Bridge...
Same price, more cache, faster, cooler, undervolt

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.