Recommend dashcam

myviowner

Don't even remind me of the sdcard... The iRoad I have burnt through 3 x sdcards in the first 2 years and then it degraded.

Something to do with heat? Yes for sure, because I once put a thermometer and the temperature went up to 54°C.

I would expect heat to be something these cameras are able to tolerate.
Still stick to the old school type can liao. Simi wifi, cloud lah... Convenient comes with a price then becomes a frustration for users.

EJB

Yes I am aware of that - and that is exactly what I did not like about their after-sales service.

For goodness' sake, the in-car camera is a piece of electronics that they sell for over $400+. Why would the distributor bring this product in with a "zero repairs" policy and instead push the customer to "trade up" for their latest model whenever problems arise and the warranty runs out?

Seems very fishy or irresponsible to me, that either the iRoad product is of such an inferior quality that they don't even bother to repair it, or the after-sales service staff simply do not have the knowledge to perform repairs.
Repairs means downtime, means you can leave your camera there for a week or two, then you will complain why take so long and you are not protected during the downtime.

There is a reason why there's something called 'warranty' and that's the period they are liable for its performance and life span, akin to car's warranty. First 3 years, it's new parts replacement direct, no repairs as per insurance guidelines. Thereafter repairs, 2nd hand parts etc can be used.

You try starting a business that can satisfy everybody. You can't. You do what you can, and the options are left to consumers. I chose to go for a refurb because it's most cost effective and least time consuming having to leave the car at my workshop for 2 hours to get the wiring re-done.

The lesser of two evils, which is which, is up to you. I've never seen a dashcam that can survive beyond it's warranty period without degradation of image/usage. Even SSDs or nVMEs have a lifespan.

LoUsyGamER

Sigh, and that is the problem here...

Not everyone treats accessories like buying Chinese tyres at $50/pc or $200 for 4 tyres, just get the cheapest will do.

The in-car camera market? I want to buy a solid one that will last me at least 5 years, but there's no such thing in the market even at any price. What a disappointment.
Sadly, I had treated the car in cam as insurance.

Cannot have downtime. Incident happens without telling you before hand when it happens.

Comage

Repairs means downtime, means you can leave your camera there for a week or two, then you will complain why take so long and you are not protected during the downtime.

There is a reason why there's something called 'warranty' and that's the period they are liable for its performance and life span, akin to car's warranty. First 3 years, it's new parts replacement direct, no repairs as per insurance guidelines. Thereafter repairs, 2nd hand parts etc can be used.

You try starting a business that can satisfy everybody. You can't. You do what you can, and the options are left to consumers. I chose to go for a refurb because it's most cost effective and least time consuming having to leave the car at my workshop for 2 hours to get the wiring re-done.

The lesser of two evils, which is which, is up to you. I've never seen a dashcam that can survive beyond it's warranty period without degradation of image/usage. Even SSDs or nVMEs have a lifespan.
Not trying to have my cake and eat it too... They just don't even bother to repair.

I'm more inclined to repair because I am absolutely disgusted at the way some of the workshops do the wiring/installation - they simply find *any* live 12v wire and tap into it, never mind that the wire could be for the car's security system which is constantly drawing current 24/7 from the car battery. Or it could be drawing power from the cashcard IU. Or some other component, which results in a higher amperage draw.

And then the car starts behaving weirdly for that other component due to a an extra amperage load.

Call me anal maybe, but there's no standard to all these wiring installations. And that's how some idle cars parked at some carpark can randomly burst into flames...

EJB

Not trying to have my cake and eat it too... They just don't even bother to repair.

I'm more inclined to repair because I am absolutely disgusted at the way some of the workshops do the wiring/installation - they simply find *any* live 12v wire and tap into it, never mind that the wire could be for the car's security system which is constantly drawing current 24/7 from the car battery. Or it could be drawing power from the cashcard IU. Or some other component, which results in a higher amperage draw.

And then the car starts behaving weirdly for that other component due to a an extra amperage load.

Call me anal maybe, but there's no standard to all these wiring installations. And that's how some idle cars parked at some carpark can randomly burst into flames...
Then what you need is preventive maintenance.

Replace dashcams every year and find a workshop that you can trust. You're blasting out because of things you can't control, you're better off opening your own workshop or bring in your own camera brand in this case.

myviowner

While most ppl will seat at the cosy customer waiting area, I usually would stand by the side as they touches your "valuable wife". Ask them alot of questions and learnt something from there. Be it a routine engine oil change or just tire rotation. That's me.

Kia7200

Just avoid iroad. The lens deform and degrade under singapore's hot sun, especially if you park at surface carpark.

Mine lasted only 2 years before the footage becomes blurry and can only capture plates if it's less than 1 car distance away. Night time footage? Good luck if you get into a hit and run and expect the camera to catch the plates.

Went to the service centre to place a repair/warranty request - they flipped me off and told me I can buy a new one from them if I wanted - they don't do repairs.

Dismantled the camera and tried to clean the lens, which helped a little bit, but the quality degraded back to as before few months later.
My iroad V6 also the same, became very blurry afterafter few yrs. Changed to Xiaomi 70mai, cheap n good

EJB

While most ppl will seat at the cosy customer waiting area, I usually would stand by the side as they touches your "valuable wife". Ask them alot of questions and learnt something from there. Be it a routine engine oil change or just tire rotation. That's me.
I used to, but after a while just leave it to them, if you want to go to the workshop either you trust, or you simply just get in their way. Everybody cuts corners, even us, when working, what's less workshops. Cars only live for 10 years in SG, most will be killed by 8th year to over worry.

My iroad V6 also the same, became very blurry afterafter few yrs. Changed to Xiaomi 70mai, cheap n good
Cheap like you, but definitely better than you.

Comage

Then what you need is preventive maintenance.

Replace dashcams every year and find a workshop that you can trust. You're blasting out because of things you can't control, you're better off opening your own workshop or bring in your own camera brand in this case.
I wasn't trying to be a cheapo here by complaining why the "so-and-so-$400 camera lasted me only x years" before it broke and degraded, but just disappointed that there doesn't seem to be any camera in the market that's truly heat-resistant at any kind of price point, even if I am very much willing to pay up to $1,000 (or more?).

Then again, judging from the many responses (not just here, but also in those FB car groups) who simply equate "good" = "cheap" - I know I am alone in this, and nobody wants nor needs a heat-resistant camera. Not sure why, but there seems to be some strange lack of demand for such cameras in sunny Singapore.

And Boss, before you try blasting me for being cheapo or what for letting my car go up to such a high internal cabin temperature of > 54degC, I already sprung for the $650 premium solar films from Infratint (with 7-year warranty). :)

superman

I wasn't trying to be a cheapo here by complaining why the "so-and-so-$400 camera lasted me only x years" before it broke and degraded, but just disappointed that there doesn't seem to be any camera in the market that's truly heat-resistant at any kind of price point, even if I am very much willing to pay up to $1,000 (or more?).

Then again, judging from the many responses (not just here, but also in those FB car groups) who simply equate "good" = "cheap" - I know I am alone in this, and nobody wants nor needs a heat-resistant camera. Not sure why, but there seems to be some strange lack of demand for such cameras in sunny Singapore.

And Boss, before you try blasting me for being cheapo or what for letting my car go up to such a high internal cabin temperature of > 54degC, I already sprung for the $650 premium solar films from Infratint (with 7-year warranty). :)
I guess more people like to pay $400 for a camera which last 3 years than a $1000 Camera which last 10 years. Some people prefer I pay $400 for a FHD Camera, after 3 yrs I pay $400 for a 4K Camera rather than I pay $1000 for a FHD Camera use for 10 years.

EJB

$1,000 for heat resistant, let's see you R&D a product like that, which is meant to run continuously 24/7 without ample cooling and precautions of overheating. Are you going to do watercooling like computers? Add a radiator, add coolant, add a pump, so that the device never heats up and operates in optimal condition?

Even data center, quantum computers don't run without aircon and cooling measures. $1,000? You must be kidding, the gas to extinguish electrical fires in data center is already $10K alone. So how much are you willing to go beyond that to get a device that won't degrade, heat-resistant and won't ever spoil? Considering depre like computers is over 3-5 years, your dashcam is still going to fry after a while. So spending that money is justified? Who would want to invent such a device and make such a promise?

It's like the 'never breaking umbrella', the sales will hit sky rocket in 1 week and thereafter they will never sell another one - ever again.

That said, I didn't in any of my post call you cheap or hinted you are cheapo - I did, however, point out your expectations aren't realistic to begin with, and no product can ever truly satisfy any consumer in EVERY way. You prefer it this way, others will prefer it that way. You can whine you can chime you can express unhappiness but before you blast at a product, say it's not reliable, say there's no repairs etc it's your opinion. I'm asking you to be realistic. You wanna clock posts, fine by me, but put in more substantial things, don't go blasting about the impossible and willing to spend $1,000 and more. That's just you.

It's akin to saying "Aiyah, why AD don't bring in the 2.5L I sure buy". Sure... you will buy, but they will sell 1000 cars 1.5L over the one 2.5L they bring in. Economies of scale and demand.

And infratint $650 is premium... try v-Kool top grade. Not saying you are cheapo, but your actions & words don't really mix.

Solar film aside, to protect the car, did you go for PPF? Which is about $5-6K, I'm sure if you're willing to spend $1,000 on a camera, $5-6K is nothing for a car bra.

EJB

I guess more people like to pay $400 for a camera which last 3 years than a $1000 Camera which last 10 years. Some people prefer I pay $400 for a FHD Camera, after 3 yrs I pay $400 for a 4K Camera rather than I pay $1000 for a FHD Camera use for 10 years.
$400 or $1,000 nothing lasts forever, weather, operating conditions etc all comes into play.

It's like ramming a car into the wall and complain the paint get scratched, the bumper gets dented, therefore willing to pay $500K more for a BMW 7 series to expect it never to get dented or scratched when you hit the wall.

Comage

$1,000 for heat resistant, let's see you R&D a product like that, which is meant to run continuously 24/7 without ample cooling and precautions of overheating. Are you going to do watercooling like computers? Add a radiator, add coolant, add a pump, so that the device never heats up and operates in optimal condition?

Even data center, quantum computers don't run without aircon and cooling measures. $1,000? You must be kidding, the gas to extinguish electrical fires in data center is already $10K alone. So how much are you willing to go beyond that to get a device that won't degrade, heat-resistant and won't ever spoil? Considering depre like computers is over 3-5 years, your dashcam is still going to fry after a while. So spending that money is justified? Who would want to invent such a device and make such a promise?

It's like the 'never breaking umbrella', the sales will hit sky rocket in 1 week and thereafter they will never sell another one - ever again.

That said, I didn't in any of my post call you cheap or hinted you are cheapo - I did, however, point out your expectations aren't realistic to begin with, and no product can ever truly satisfy any consumer in EVERY way. You prefer it this way, others will prefer it that way. You can whine you can chime you can express unhappiness but before you blast at a product, say it's not reliable, say there's no repairs etc it's your opinion. I'm asking you to be realistic. You wanna clock posts, fine by me, but put in more substantial things, don't go blasting about the impossible and willing to spend $1,000 and more. That's just you.

It's akin to saying "Aiyah, why AD don't bring in the 2.5L I sure buy". Sure... you will buy, but they will sell 1000 cars 1.5L over the one 2.5L they bring in. Economies of scale and demand.

And infratint $650 is premium... try v-Kool top grade. Not saying you are cheapo, but your actions & words don't really mix.

Solar film aside, to protect the car, did you go for PPF? Which is about $5-6K, I'm sure if you're willing to spend $1,000 on a camera, $5-6K is nothing for a car bra.
I should probably take your advice and go set up my own in-car camera brand.

But, I think no need for any R&D... got plenty of references for electronic schematics that I can use:
- Cashcard IU - this one definitely works for a solid straight 10 years in sunny Singapore
- My rear parking camera - mounted outside at the boot door, and image still sharp as day 1, even after COE of the car runs out
- My Toyota stock radio set - this one got touchscreen some more, which only started warping and wearing out after 12+ years of use

Thanks for the suggestions! They're all electronics, but the build quality definitely is different and yet didn't cost an arm or a leg to make!

myviowner

Well, 1000 or more to get a car cam... That maker may well close shop liao.

myviowner

I used to, but after a while just leave it to them, if you want to go to the workshop either you trust, or you simply just get in their way. Everybody cuts corners, even us, when working, what's less workshops. Cars only live for 10 years in SG, most will be killed by 8th year to over worry.

Trusted one, i also stay beside to learnt. Purpose to learnt something. That's me.
Nature of my job cannot afford to cut corners else accident happen and me in deep trouble.

EJB

I should probably take your advice and go set up my own in-car camera brand.

But, I think no need for any R&D... got plenty of references for electronic schematics that I can use:
- Cashcard IU - this one definitely works for a solid straight 10 years in sunny Singapore
- My rear parking camera - mounted outside at the boot door, and image still sharp as day 1, even after COE of the car runs out
- My Toyota stock radio set - this one got touchscreen some more, which only started warping and wearing out after 12+ years of use

Thanks for the suggestions! They're all electronics, but the build quality definitely is different and yet didn't cost an arm or a leg to make!
Cashcard IU is passive, car camera is is not. You're missing the entire point. You want to retort, it would be best to compare apple to apple. Don't bring in an orange. Try to compare an engine running 24/7 and expect it not to breakdown or overheat.

Does your rear parking camera records or films 24/7?

Your radio does nothing except to pass signals to the speakers, is it doing any form of hardware intensive activity? Do you even know how a camera or dashcam works and what is a 'camera' sensor?

Going by your logic, then the camera should not have a recorder, it should send the footage to a HDD or SSD which draws more than 1A power. The camera should only work when passing through ERP gantries. And also records only when engaging R. It shouldn't even record anything, it should just send reflect the image off a mirror into a camera film roll to record so that way there is no wafer chip (sensor) to do recording or breakdown.

Sheesh.

Comage

Cashcard IU is passive, car camera is is not. You're missing the entire point. You want to retort, it would be best to compare apple to apple. Don't bring in an orange. Try to compare an engine running 24/7 and expect it not to breakdown or overheat.

Does your rear parking camera records or films 24/7?

Your radio does nothing except to pass signals to the speakers, is it doing any form of hardware intensive activity? Do you even know how a camera or dashcam works and what is a 'camera' sensor?

Going by your logic, then the camera should not have a recorder, it should send the footage to a HDD or SSD which draws more than 1A power. The camera should only work when passing through ERP gantries. And also records only when engaging R. It shouldn't even record anything, it should just send reflect the image off a mirror into a camera film roll to record so that way there is no wafer chip (sensor) to do recording or breakdown.

Sheesh.
Damned man, I don't even run my in-car camera 24/7 but only a couple hours a day when I drive it.

I don't even have it on when I park it at the end of the day - let alone have it on with motion detection.

Relax on the technical explanations man.

EJB

Damned man, I don't even run my in-car camera 24/7 but only a couple hours a day when I drive it.

I don't even have it on when I park it at the end of the day - let alone have it on with motion detection.

Relax on the technical explanations man.
Then you try engaging the reverse camera for a few hours each day under the sun la, same ma.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.