Recommendation for Cheap CPU Cooler ?

thebopeep

Hi can anyone recommend me a Cheap cpu cooler?
Currently running abt 45-55 C at idle using stock cpu cooler
Prime95 hit 90C.

Looking at smth below the $50 range.

Coolermaster Hyper 103?
Coolermaster Hyper TX3 EVO ?
Thermaltake Contac 21?

TIA

Hailgod

i think the hyper 212 evo is not bad but i have no idea about the price.

royfrosty

I dont think cm evo is below 50. Xigmatek gaia 1 is below 50. Performs somewhere like cm evo.

Hailgod

What cpu do u have? I'm not sure why it even reaches 90 degrees with stock fans.
It would seem like your case have very bad airflow.

thebopeep

i5-2400

Recently took out the cpu heat sink to blow off the dust.
Reapply thermal paste and installed it again.

Using cosair 400R mid tower
2 intake at the front
1 intake at the side
1 exhaust at the back
1 exhaust at the top.

shadow84

CM 212x is at $69, 212 evo is at $59 though it seems to be phasing out soon and replaced by 212x.

The TX3 isnt good due to the push in pins similar to the stock intel cooler.

shadow84

i5-2400

Recently took out the cpu heat sink to blow off the dust.
Reapply thermal paste and installed it again.

Using cosair 400R mid tower
2 intake at the front
1 intake at the side
1 exhaust at the back
1 exhaust at the top.

Set your top to intake. Your top and rear fighting to exhaust air. Try to make a smooth airflow instead of forcing it.

thebopeep

Set your top to intake. Your top and rear fighting to exhaust air. Try to make a smooth airflow instead of forcing it.

Thanks for the input! Will swap it out and test.

Seems like CM 212x is getting lots of positive review.
Might get 1 to replace the stock cooler.
take it as an investment i guess.

shadow84

Thanks for the input! Will swap it out and test.

Seems like CM 212x is getting lots of positive review.
Might get 1 to replace the stock cooler.
take it as an investment i guess.

Quite an overkill for non-OC. Can try for Deepcool Gammaxx 200/300/400. All within $40 irrc..... Maybe not for the 400 though.

DamienLimmy

I have a relatively new CM 212x, and wanna sell it off.

Changing to water cooling.

If you're interested, you could always drop me a PM, whenever :)

xtreme84

Not doubting your experience, but just to make sure, you did wipe off all the residue on your CPU and heatsink when you removed it right? And when you applied the new thermal compound, just the size of a grain of rice in the centre of the CPU? Cos too much will also cause temperatures to be higher.

thebopeep

Yeah, wipe it with alcohol wipes. But I apply the amount about a 5 cent coin.

Not doubting your experience, but just to make sure, you did wipe off all the residue on your CPU and heatsink when you removed it right? And when you applied the new thermal compound, just the size of a grain of rice in the centre of the CPU? Cos too much will also cause temperatures to be higher.

royfrosty

Like some sought of creampie oozing out from the side of the CPU.

wah u sibei heng never damage the sibei fragile socket pin.
if paste drop into socket pin then siao liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.