Recommendations for a new PC Build

deepblue22

Hi everyone,

I'm finally looking to replace my nearly ten-year-old PC. I'm planning a custom build through InvaderPC and would appreciate any component recommendations.

Key Requirements & Budget

• Target Budget: Around $2,000 SGD (flexible +/- $200).
  • Primary Use: Demanding modern games like Wukong and Battlefield etc.
  • Goal: Excellent 1440p gaming performance and solid future-proofing.

Monitor Setup

The PC must capably drive my existing dual-monitor setup simultaneously:
  1. Gaming Display: 27-inch 1440p/High Refresh Rate Monitor.
  2. Media Display: 43-inch LG OLED (used for 4K streaming/media etc).
Appreciate any suggestions on the best CPU/GPU combination to maximize performance within this budget!

Thanks in advance!

abstrax

Just go to their website n u will get everything u need......

if u prefer high setting in modern game like wukong, ur 2k budget wont be enuff. At least a RTX 5080 above. Best to go for RTX 5090.
If stick to ur budget, only can get 5070/5070ti, but dun expect high setting in games graphic quality.

Vanyel

if u prefer high setting in modern game like wukong, ur 2k budget wont be enuff. At least a RTX 5080 above. Best to go for RTX 5090.
If stick to ur budget, only can get 5070/5070ti, but dun expect high setting in games graphic quality.
actually 5070ti is good enough for blackmyth wukong
turn off ray tracing can liao
game looks good enough even with ray tracing off

turn on ray tracing, 5080 also gg

deepblue22

Thanks for the feedback. I've taken the advice and adjusted my budget to hit the ideal performance bracket for my needs.

New Budget: $2.5-2.7k (full system build, excluding monitors/peripherals).
Performance Goal: Future-proofed, stable 1440p High/Very High settings experience in modern AAA games like Wukong
GPU Target: A GPU in the NVIDIA RTX 5070 Ti (16GB) performance tier

Specific System Requirements:

1. CPU: Which CPU offers the best gaming value and longevity to pair with a 5070 Ti-level card for this budget (e.g., Ryzen 7 7800X3D, Ryzen 7 9800X3D?
  2. Monitor Setup: The system must comfortably drive a 27" 1440p high-refresh gaming monitor (main display) and a 43" LG OLED TV (secondary display, for 4K media consumption) simultaneously.
  3. Core Components: Please help me allocate within this budget for the best value in these parts:
    • RAM: 32GB (DDR5-6000MHz CL30/CL32 seems ideal?)
    • SSD: 2TB Gen 4 NVMe SSD (Capacity is important for modern games)
    • PSU: Recommended Wattage and Efficiency Rating (e.g., 850W Gold)
I am looking for the ultimate "sweet spot" build that InvaderPC can deliver for this price.

Thanks in advance!

deepblue22

actually 5070ti is good enough for blackmyth wukong
turn off ray tracing can liao
game looks good enough even with ray tracing off

turn on ray tracing, 5080 also gg

I appreciate the reality check on Ray Tracing. Knowing that the RTX 5070 Ti performs beautifully at high-settings 1440p simply by disabling RT in a demanding title like Wukong confirms that this is the absolute sweet spot that falls within my budget.

Chasing the RTX 5080/Ultra RT dream clearly isn't worth the cost. I am leaning more towards the [7800X3D / 9800X3D] + 5070 Ti configuration.

My final focus is just confirming the 2TB SSD upgrade cost to lock in the total price. Thanks again for the top-tier advice

NightRaven49

GPU Target: A GPU in the NVIDIA RTX 5070 Ti (16GB) performance tier
there are only a handful of gpus within this tier of performance, and its only amd and nvidia, not really a lot of choice here. u can consider the 9070xt if not super concerned about raytracing as raster performance is competitive while costing less, but if u do intend to play rt titles then nvidia is basically ur only option. dont worry too much about futureproofing, because even a 5090 cant run borderlands 4 properly anyway.
CPU: Which CPU offers the best gaming value and longevity to pair with a 5070 Ti-level card for this budget (e.g., Ryzen 7 7800X3D, Ryzen 7 9800X3D?
the build animagamer linked is about 2.2k, while a 98x3d + 5070ti also from invader is almost 2.7k (>20% premium). while the 98x3d is technically faster, the performance uplift is at best ~10% at a lower resolution like 1080p, with the delta shrinking as u increase the gpu load, eg by increasing resolution or upping gfx/rt settings. with the settings u plan to game at, the 78x3d is simply the better value option. if u want longevity sure get the 98x3d, just that value (ie performance per dollar) and longevity (ie raw performance) are often mutually exclusive.
PSU: Recommended Wattage and Efficiency Rating (e.g., 850W Gold)
750w should cover most use cases outside of a 5090, though 850w generally doesnt cost that much more nowadays. however, psu is more than just these 2, it is best to spend the time to research the models available and their pricing to ensure u get a model with good electrical characteristics (eg low ripple, tight regulation). it is simply not worth it to save $20-30 to get the absolute cheapest model that meets ur capacity and efficiency targets, especially when dropping this money on a pc.

deepblue22

there are only a handful of gpus within this tier of performance, and its only amd and nvidia, not really a lot of choice here. u can consider the 9070xt if not super concerned about raytracing as raster performance is competitive while costing less, but if u do intend to play rt titles then nvidia is basically ur only option. dont worry too much about futureproofing, because even a 5090 cant run borderlands 4 properly anyway.

the build animagamer linked is about 2.2k, while a 98x3d + 5070ti also from invader is almost 2.7k (>20% premium). while the 98x3d is technically faster, the performance uplift is at best ~10% at a lower resolution like 1080p, with the delta shrinking as u increase the gpu load, eg by increasing resolution or upping gfx/rt settings. with the settings u plan to game at, the 78x3d is simply the better value option. if u want longevity sure get the 98x3d, just that value (ie performance per dollar) and longevity (ie raw performance) are often mutually exclusive.

750w should cover most use cases outside of a 5090, though 850w generally doesnt cost that much more nowadays. however, psu is more than just these 2, it is best to spend the time to research the models available and their pricing to ensure u get a model with good electrical characteristics (eg low ripple, tight regulation). it is simply not worth it to save $20-30 to get the absolute cheapest model that meets ur capacity and efficiency targets, especially when dropping this money on a pc.

Thank you for the tremendous help! And your guidance has definitely guided me to finalize my build plan with complete confidence and keep the budget tight.

The decision is locked: I'm choosing value over marginal raw performance.

Final Locked Configuration (The 1440p Sweet Spot):

ComponentRationale
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3DClear winner for gaming value over the 9800X3D at this resolution/budget.
GPU: RTX 5070 Ti (16GB)The ideal 1440p card, prioritizing DLSS/RT performance over the 9070 XT's raw raster.
RAM & SSD: 32GB DDR5-6000 CL30 + 2TB Gen4 NVMeEssential longevity and capacity upgrades for the next decade.

Final Request: High-Quality 750W PSU Model

I absolutely agree that the PSU must be high-quality for system longevity. Since I'm not familiar with current models, I would greatly appreciate it if someone could recommend a few specific 750W 80+ Gold (ATX 3.0/PCIe 5.0) model names.

I will look out for brands like Corsair, Cooler Master, or Seasonic. Knowing the exact models helps me ensure I get a Tier A or B unit during the final configuration!

Thanks again for helping me build the ultimate 1440p sweet spot PC!

-Synchronicity-

....psu is more about the models, not brands. Actually true for most products as any brand can make good products and they can also make terrible products.

There are 100% bad psus from those brands.

Vanyel

Thank you for the tremendous help! And your guidance has definitely guided me to finalize my build plan with complete confidence and keep the budget tight.

The decision is locked: I'm choosing value over marginal raw performance.

Final Locked Configuration (The 1440p Sweet Spot):

ComponentRationale
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3DClear winner for gaming value over the 9800X3D at this resolution/budget.
GPU: RTX 5070 Ti (16GB)The ideal 1440p card, prioritizing DLSS/RT performance over the 9070 XT's raw raster.
RAM & SSD: 32GB DDR5-6000 CL30 + 2TB Gen4 NVMeEssential longevity and capacity upgrades for the next decade.

Final Request: High-Quality 750W PSU Model

I absolutely agree that the PSU must be high-quality for system longevity. Since I'm not familiar with current models, I would greatly appreciate it if someone could recommend a few specific 750W 80+ Gold (ATX 3.0/PCIe 5.0) model names.

I will look out for brands like Corsair, Cooler Master, or Seasonic. Knowing the exact models helps me ensure I get a Tier A or B unit during the final configuration!

Thanks again for helping me build the ultimate 1440p sweet spot PC!
i would go 9800x3d, doesnt really cost alot more~

changed my mind, saw this invader build:
https://www.invaderpc.com/product/specs23/
7800X3D+5080 $2.6k+
but the MB vrm seems to be not very good... 8+4+1?

naked123

i would go 9800x3d, doesnt really cost alot more~

7800X3D+5080 $2.6k+
the one that's WiFi 7 is 8+2+1 with 60A SPS

the one that's WiFi 6E is 2x5+2+1 with discrete mosfets not DrMOS/SPS

it's average

basically the same as the older B650M Gaming Plus WiFi WiFi 6E

runs R7 7700 @ 140W just fine (vrm temps <55c)

Jurchen King

7800X3D+5080 $2.6k+
1. RAM latency so high for 600MHz @ CL36. May consider top up for Team Group Delta 6000Mhz CL30 RGB (black or white your choice)

2. Shadow is now MSI's lowest GPU brand tier, even lower than Ventus. Cooling performance and build quality has question marks. May consider top up for ASUS Prime model.

3. The SSD model is DRAMless. It uses system memory as DRAM. Slower performance and lower endurance compared to SSD models with DRAM. May consider top up for ADATA XPG GAMMIX S70 Blade.

I believe the motherboard is white colour. So you may wish to consider going full white build for aesthetics.

Jurchen King

Any recommandation for the motherboard ? I am looking to a new PC that why i am posted that link
https://www.invaderpc.com/product/specs10/
Add 284 sgd for 9800x3d but price/value is not good i think.

I am thinking to change to the lian li edge 850W
Based on the PSU Tier List it is A-
ASUS TUF Gaming B850M-E WIFI is better than MSI B850M Gaming Plus. Both 8+2+1 power stages but ASUS is 80A versus MSI 60A. ASUS motherboard PCB is 8 layer vs MSI 6 layer.

But MSI motherboard is white. So if you're going for white build.....
ASUS motherboard is black.

Vanyel

3NiJiVV.png
M0q9yJ1.png

JHu4v61.png

m4ZyxMH.png
4o55DOi.png
mYlM5Us.png

ai9Jkpd.png

vV0Jfix.png

Taobao 3parts is $248 net with airfreight included~

total is $2,277 <---worth it?

@deepblue22
how much ur build cost now?
join me white PC lah ^^

deepblue22

1. RAM latency so high for 600MHz @ CL36. May consider top up for Team Group Delta 6000Mhz CL30 RGB (black or white your choice)

2. Shadow is now MSI's lowest GPU brand tier, even lower than Ventus. Cooling performance and build quality has question marks. May consider top up for ASUS Prime model.

3. The SSD model is DRAMless. It uses system memory as DRAM. Slower performance and lower endurance compared to SSD models with DRAM. May consider top up for ADATA XPG GAMMIX S70 Blade.

I believe the motherboard is white colour. So you may wish to consider going full white build for aesthetics.

To ensure long-term stability and best performance, think I will make these specific upgrades on the InvaderPC configurator:
  1. RAM: Latency Upgrade. I will top up for the Team Group Delta 32GB DDR5-6000 CL30 kit.This is essential for optimal Ryzen performance.
  2. GPU Model: Cooling/Quality Upgrade. I will top up to avoid the MSI Shadow tier and aim for a better RTX 5070 Ti model like the ASUS Prime or MSI Gaming Trio/TUF equivalent.
  3. SSD: Capacity & Quality Upgrade. I will ensure the final drive is a 2TB Gen4 NVMe with DRAM (e.g., ADATA XPG GAMMIX S70 Blade or similar), avoiding DRAM-less models.
  4. PSU: Quality Check. I will prioritize a reliable 750W 80+ Gold ATX 3.0 unit and search for a well-reviewed model like the Corsair RM750x, MSI MAG A750GL PCIE5, or Cooler Master GX III 750W. Appreciate any suggestions on this :)
  5. Thank you again for helping me specify every component, down to the SSD controller and RAM latency!

Vanyel

To ensure long-term stability and best performance, think I will make these specific upgrades on the InvaderPC configurator:
  1. RAM: Latency Upgrade. I will top up for the Team Group Delta 32GB DDR5-6000 CL30 kit.This is essential for optimal Ryzen performance.
  2. GPU Model: Cooling/Quality Upgrade. I will top up to avoid the MSI Shadow tier and aim for a better RTX 5070 Ti model like the ASUS Prime or MSI Gaming Trio/TUF equivalent.
  3. SSD: Capacity & Quality Upgrade. I will ensure the final drive is a 2TB Gen4 NVMe with DRAM (e.g., ADATA XPG GAMMIX S70 Blade or similar), avoiding DRAM-less models.
  4. PSU: Quality Check. I will prioritize a reliable 750W 80+ Gold ATX 3.0 unit and search for a well-reviewed model like the Corsair RM750x, MSI MAG A750GL PCIE5, or Cooler Master GX III 750W. Appreciate any suggestions on this :)
  5. Thank you again for helping me specify every component, down to the SSD controller and RAM latency!

i remember ppl telling me the cl timings for ram not important for X3Ds cpu?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.