Recommendations for Gynae

yewtee6286

so anxious must be first shot of target
just see dr do blood test check lor,very simple wor:)
yes bro, this is the 1st shot of leg lift up after our marriage in June. 1st try.
And my wife is no longer young, 36 liao, so must be very gan cheong too.
Hope to get some guide from bros and sis here.....

thanks.

theufw

Hi Bro & Sis,
Need some advice and guidance...
My wife said her period already late for 2-3 days. Yesterday use 3 diff pregnancy test kit on a same urine, were getting different result.
Then she use her period tracking apps and turn on the pregnancy mode. If base on the apps, she is now already pregnant for 4 wk.
What should we do next? Go for a normal GP to do a blood test to confirm or just wait till 7-8wk then go to check? And do we need to choose and confirm a gynae and hospital during the 1st test?

Really hope bros and sis here give us some guidance....

Many thanks.

No need lah. Just take a home pregnancy test after 4 to 5 weeks. Im one of the kanchiong spiders go test early early and go polyclinic ask for referral for fertility probs. Then just nice go sgh test for pregnancy and got positive. They ask me see them many times to check for ectopic but turns out its a really normal pregnancy. Just save the money and then go at around 7 to 8 weeks then 12 weeks then follow doc appt.

Some ladies delay until 12 week scan for first trimester. But this period anything can happen so dun go too late. Ur wife 36 so they will likely be recommending gene testing due to risk factors after week 10.

Tldr u still have at least a mth to decide on the hospital n gynae. Do what is comfortable for u - go there is a lot of blood tests n checks only anyway. Oh and the morning sickness meds haha.

sigeena

On recommendations for gynae. I think it's important to discuss between husband and wife if there is a preference for natural or C-section birth. My wife and I both prefer natural birth and it was important to discuss this with our gynae. Fortunately, our gynae was also on the same page as us. Unless there are complications, natural birth was preferred.

Contrast this with Thailand, where my wife comes from. She says 99% of births in private hospitals were C-section. Reasons range from
1. It's more expensive, therefore gynaes prefer
2. It allows birthing on a auspicious date
3. It allows scheduling, therefore gynaes prefer

yewtee6286

Really many thanks bros and sis here giving the recommendation and guide.
By the way, heard need to take the folic-acid tablet from now till end of the 1st trimester right? is that true? and for the blood test, is test for everything right? and heard need to go for dental check as well?

mickey88

Really many thanks bros and sis here giving the recommendation and guide.
By the way, heard need to take the folic-acid tablet from now till end of the 1st trimester right? is that true? and for the blood test, is test for everything right? and heard need to go for dental check as well?

Lol..bro..take it easy..get the confirmation of pregnancy first then plan d rest

yewtee6286

and another question is, my wife is holding long term visit pass and myself is singapore citizen. Then is she considered as a foreigner giving birth in SG? Will it be expensive? And can i use my medisave cover some of the cost?
Is anyone here with same scenario?

mickey88

and another question is, my wife is holding long term visit pass and myself is singapore citizen. Then is she considered as a foreigner giving birth in SG? Will it be expensive? And can i use my medisave cover some of the cost?
Is anyone here with same scenario?

Yes..you can use your medisave to cover some cost as long got marriage cert.

sigeena

If she holds LTVP+, her rates will be discounted same as PR level. You may want to consider renewing her LTVP if she's confirmed pregnant. Upon renewal and her pregnant status, ICA is likely to consider granting a LTVP+

ash like snow

Hi Bro & Sis,
Need some advice and guidance...
My wife said her period already late for 2-3 days. Yesterday use 3 diff pregnancy test kit on a same urine, were getting different result.
Then she use her period tracking apps and turn on the pregnancy mode. If base on the apps, she is now already pregnant for 4 wk.
What should we do next? Go for a normal GP to do a blood test to confirm or just wait till 7-8wk then go to check? And do we need to choose and confirm a gynae and hospital during the 1st test?

Really hope bros and sis here give us some guidance....

Many thanks.

2-3 days is normal. Test again after a week. But I myself gotten positive after being late for 3 weeks.

The past 2 weeks I tested gotten negative, maybe due to low HCG level.

My gynae was from KKH but went into private practice this year. Friendly, skillful and pro-natural. You may Google: Dr Khoo Chong Kiat.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 4 using GAGT

mickey88

2-3 days is normal. Test again after a week. But I myself gotten positive after being late for 3 weeks.

The past 2 weeks I tested gotten negative, maybe due to low HCG level.

My gynae was from KKH but went into private practice this year. Friendly, skillful and pro-natural. You may Google: Dr Khoo Chong Kiat.

Fyi..Dr khoo no longer at KKH olredi

If she holds LTVP+, her rates will be discounted same as PR level. You may want to consider renewing her LTVP if she's confirmed pregnant. Upon renewal and her pregnant status, ICA is likely to consider granting a LTVP+

I suggest just direct apply for SPR:)

YouYongQun

so did you go with Dr Vanaja in the end? What I can tell you is that she was the nurses choice since years ago, even when she was just Consultant. Many of the S Cons in NUH are great and have been around for a long time. Arjit Biswas, as mentioned before, is great as well. Or Anupriya Agarwal---I have a friend who had an op under her and was very happy regarding her operative skill. If you want a Chinese female, then Su Lin Lin is popular--so popular you might not get appointments. In general you won't go wrong with any of the S Cons in NUH(the ones below age 70 pls...). Same for KKH.

Private wise, there are many to choose from. If you're into fertility, you can just go for one of the big names. If its expensive, consider overseas fertility treatment or subsidised in the public hosp.

For ultrasound birth check and detailed explanation, amongst the most skilful obs I have seen would be Chia Yee Tien in MtE. Though with the Harmony and Panorama these days, its kind of made a fair bit of the ultrasound less useful as a diagnostic tool.

An example would be the sex of the kid. At 10-12 weeks, the ultrasound can't tell boy or girl for sure. But a blood test for Harmony/Panorama will tell with almost absolute certainty. But ultrasounds can check for structure defects like limbs, fingers, heart, head, and twins etc which the blood tests cannot.

also, need to decide if you want epidural during kid-popping.

In the end, the obstetrician is there to assist. you will pop the kid in most cases with no help whatsoever. For thousands of years, women have popped kids with no problems!

yewtee6286

Get to know that wife holding LTVP (no plus) is considered a foreigner and no subsidy at all..... Asking for Dr. John Tee (Senior Consultant) appt at KKH, his 1st time consultation fees was $229(exclude all the tests and supplement) and subsequence visit was $190 per visit...... was thinking to engage a lower rank gynae at KKH such as Dr. Chua KH (consultant) or Dr. Ee Tan Xin (Ass. Consultant) but not sure hows their review and charges....

ash like snow

Get to know that wife holding LTVP (no plus) is considered a foreigner and no subsidy at all..... Asking for Dr. John Tee (Senior Consultant) appt at KKH, his 1st time consultation fees was $229(exclude all the tests and supplement) and subsequence visit was $190 per visit...... was thinking to engage a lower rank gynae at KKH such as Dr. Chua KH (consultant) or Dr. Ee Tan Xin (Ass. Consultant) but not sure hows their review and charges....

Dr Khoo Chong Kiat's wife is working as gynae in KKH. If not wrong, she's only consultant. Dr Qi Mai Li. Saw quite a few good reviews of her stitches

yewtee6286

Dr Khoo Chong Kiat's wife is working as gynae in KKH. If not wrong, she's only consultant. Dr Qi Mai Li. Saw quite a few good reviews of her stitches

Yes, thanks for the recommendation. Ya, may book her for the 1st appointment... and her 1st consultant charge will be $191 on Saturday..,,,

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.