Recommendations where to go

clara03

We will be staying 1 night each place at Fenqihu, Alishan and SML.

Any recommendations for point of interests or worth the visit please? =)

fireworks79

We will be staying 1 night each place at Fenqihu, Alishan and SML.

Any recommendations for point of interests or worth the visit please? =)
why need at fenqihu n alishan separately?
Just stay alishan will do. After sunrise,take cab or bus down to fenqihu.

clara03

why need at fenqihu n alishan separately?
Just stay alishan will do. After sunrise,take cab or bus down to fenqihu.

Is 1 day each too much? We thought that by the time we reached fenqihu it would be noon already. So thought there won't be sufficient time. Is it easy to hail a cab at alishan?

We will also be taking bus from Alishan to SML directly..

fireworks79

Is 1 day each too much? We thought that by the time we reached fenqihu it would be noon already. So thought there won't be sufficient time. Is it easy to hail a cab at alishan?

We will also be taking bus from Alishan to SML directly..
half day at fenqihu enough liao
Some more u need to slp early for next day sunrise.
It best ur 1st stop at alishan,2nd day after sunrise, walk ard the forest den come down to fenqihu

If u wan fenqihu 1st,oso can. Den 2nd day 3,4am book cab go up alishan.
U can ask ur hotel or minsu to arrange the transportation for u

calkel20

I did two nights at alishan on my first trip. Fenchihu can vist on the way down if u are keen.
Now can board train from fenchihu back to chiayi too!

Andrew833

I did two nights at alishan on my first trip. Fenchihu can vist on the way down if u are keen.
Now can board train from fenchihu back to chiayi too!

Last time alishan train go all the way to alishan right? Now stop at Fenchihu then transfer bus right?

fireworks79

1st time to alishan don't know should I take the train, come down then take bus.

train only reach fenqihu.
If u ask me,I would say take 🚆 up cos the scenery thru the forest is really sumthing u dun get to c daily even in Europe.
But currently the flaw is,the railway still down. So the train only reach fenqihu.

So current situation,I would say take 🚆 up,stay at fenqihu n book transport to go up to alishan the next day morning for sunrise. After tat take bus down to chaiyi

Andrew833

train only reach fenqihu.
If u ask me,I would say take 🚆 up cos the scenery thru the forest is really sumthing u dun get to c daily even in Europe.
But currently the flaw is,the railway still down. So the train only reach fenqihu.

So current situation,I would say take 🚆 up,stay at fenqihu n book transport to go up to alishan the next day morning for sunrise. After tat take bus down to chaiyi

Thanks, I thinking of taking train up, next day take bus down to chaiyi too.
What is the different staying in alishan and fenqihu? Staying in Alishan more convenience right?

fireworks79

Thanks, I thinking of taking train up, next day take bus down to chaiyi too.
What is the different staying in alishan and fenqihu? Staying in Alishan more convenience right?
fenqihu is the mid-point only. U need another 1-2 hr by car to reach alishan
Temp is not so cold like alishan although still considered cold
Alishan recreation area is where is take forestry 🚆(not mistaken as the train up from chaiyi) this forestry train only operate ard alishan area
The forestry train will bring u to zhushan for sunrise(need buy tickets)

staying at alishan,u can wake up abit later unlike if u stay fenqihu(might need wake up at 3am) to see the sunrise

Alishan is 2800m above sea lvl so night t8me really very cold

Andrew833

fenqihu is the mid-point only. U need another 1-2 hr by car to reach alishan
Temp is not so cold like alishan although still considered cold
Alishan recreation area is where is take forestry 🚆(not mistaken as the train up from chaiyi) this forestry train only operate ard alishan area
The forestry train will bring u to zhushan for sunrise(need buy tickets)

staying at alishan,u can wake up abit later unlike if u stay fenqihu(might need wake up at 3am) to see the sunrise

Alishan is 2800m above sea lvl so night t8me really very cold

In march, alishan also very cold?

clara03

Before this I did thought of doing Alishan first then head down to Fenqihu and back to Chiayi. But we have to take the direct bus from Alishan to SML so we go by this way instead :

Chiayi > Take bus to Fenqihu (1 night) > Next day noon take bus/train to Alishan (1 night) > Next morning sunrise and noon take bus to SML

Is there anything to do at night at Fenqihu?
Any highly recommend places to go in Fenqihu / Alishan / SML? =)

Andrew833

Before this I did thought of doing Alishan first then head down to Fenqihu and back to Chiayi. But we have to take the direct bus from Alishan to SML so we go by this way instead :

Chiayi > Take bus to Fenqihu (1 night) > Next day noon take bus/train to Alishan (1 night) > Next morning sunrise and noon take bus to SML

Is there anything to do at night at Fenqihu?
Any highly recommend places to go in Fenqihu / Alishan / SML? =)

Fenqihu is a small town. Basically, you don't need to stay 2 days in Alishan area, just 1 night in Fenqihu or 1 night in alishan will do. Go in the morning, next day afternoon can go SML liao.
If you stay in Fenqihu, going for sunrise train, you need to wake up at 3am and there isn't much transport to alishan.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.