red light camera flash

GlobeMaster99

Pray TP will just issue a warning letter.... :D
New driver should be fresh on all the Don't too. Maybe she forget about that 3 white arrows painted on the road before every traffic light junction:s22:... Shld be travelling more than the speed limit else should be able to stop in time when hit the last white arrow.

Hmm not sure on that but for me is usually I would tap on the brake slightly about a car length from the first arrow I approach and slow the car down gradually about 10kmh below the speed limit. When I am on top/crossing/crossed the middle arrow then I'll just accelerate through already. But the problem is she is not even sure if there's RLC located at the area. Checked TP webpage and according to the last update, there wasn't a RLC. Just a fixed speed camera lel.

myviowner

Hmm not sure on that but for me is usually I would tap on the brake slightly about a car length from the first arrow I approach and slow the car down gradually about 10kmh below the speed limit. When I am on top/crossing/crossed the middle arrow then I'll just accelerate through already. But the problem is she is not even sure if there's RLC located at the area. Checked TP webpage and according to the last update, there wasn't a RLC. Just a fixed speed camera lel.

Waiting game is a painful one.... Bo bianz.... Hopes this a good lesson for her.

GlobeMaster99

Waiting game is a painful one.... Bo bianz.... Hopes this a good lesson for her.

True true. But honestly speaking, as a pretty new driver myself, I think it's abit demoralizing too.. before TP test you can get familiar with the car first before you hit the roads. But once you pass and let's take it as you are driving a rented car for example, you still need time to feel the car and the sensitivity of the brake, stopping distance etc.. so it's natural instinct on whether to accelerate or brake. Hmm I mean, all I could say is.. once you leave your brake pads and accelerate, (obviously at the middle arrow or beyond) never leave the accelerator for the brake again even if it turns amber. It will take too much time and cause confusion to both you and the driver behind you. Agreeable much? :>

IcYFl4mEz

Appealing usually is for medical case. So u cant appeal online i guess. Maybe go down TP HQ

GlobeMaster99

Thanks all for the reply. Then I would like to take this opportunity to ask how you guys (new drivers) prep the car as it approaches a junction. Okay I know experience matters and I agree with that. Just that any guidelines? The 3 arrow rule. Aware of that too.. Hmm any ideas? Assuming the vehicle is travelling within the road's speed limit. I usually do slow down 1 car length from the first arrow I approach. And when I am on top of the second arrow and light is still green, I'll accelerate. If it turns amber and I know when my foot is still on top of the brake, I'll normally just brake a little harder and stop. Because with slight braking action and engine braking before I even reach the first arrow I see, the car should stop well before the stop line should the light change amber before the middle arrow. Anyone practising the same actions as me or how can I improve on? Or am I good to go? Still a rather new driver myself. I'm confident in my driving. But not too much that I ignore feedbacks. So any pros want to advice? Or am I good? :p

myviowner

True true. But honestly speaking, as a pretty new driver myself, I think it's abit demoralizing too.. before TP test you can get familiar with the car first before you hit the roads. But once you pass and let's take it as you are driving a rented car for example, you still need time to feel the car and the sensitivity of the brake, stopping distance etc.. so it's natural instinct on whether to accelerate or brake. Hmm I mean, all I could say is.. once you leave your brake pads and accelerate, (obviously at the middle arrow or beyond) never leave the accelerator for the brake again even if it turns amber. It will take too much time and cause confusion to both you and the driver behind you. Agreeable much? :>

Personally, i drove both rented rides and frd's car before. First thing i get myself familiar with the brake system as in light tap or need more foot tap then brake comes into action and then car stops.
Everyone's driving habit diff though...
All i can say is be safe and always keep to the extreme left lane, aka the heavy vehicle lane... lolz
If turns amber at first arrow, sure can stop in time.
Turns amber at second arrow, is 50/50. If oredi foot on brake, should be able to stop.
Turns amber on 3 arrow, no point E-brake liao, i would accelerate to clear the traffic.
Cheers and drive safe:D

myviowner

Thanks all for the reply. Then I would like to take this opportunity to ask how you guys (new drivers) prep the car as it approaches a junction. Okay I know experience matters and I agree with that. Just that any guidelines? The 3 arrow rule. Aware of that too.. Hmm any ideas? Assuming the vehicle is travelling within the road's speed limit. I usually do slow down 1 car length from the first arrow I approach. And when I am on top of the second arrow and light is still green, I'll accelerate. If it turns amber and I know when my foot is still on top of the brake, I'll normally just brake a little harder and stop. Because with slight braking action and engine braking before I even reach the first arrow I see, the car should stop well before the stop line should the light change amber before the middle arrow. Anyone practising the same actions as me or how can I improve on? Or am I good to go? Still a rather new driver myself. I'm confident in my driving. But not too much that I ignore feedbacks. So any pros want to advice? Or am I good? :p

You can get more information from this link

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/cars-cars-204/p-plate-fresh-meats-discussion-5596422.html

GlobeMaster99

Pray TP will just issue a warning letter.... :D
New driver should be fresh on all the Don't too. Maybe she forget about that 3 white arrows painted on the road before every traffic light junction:s22:... Shld be travelling more than the speed limit else should be able to stop in time when hit the last white arrow.

So it should be similar to the long post I last posted? XD Thanks for your reply tho!

Easypeasyyellow

Traffic turn green but with red arrow. If I on the right most turning lane and edge forward of 1 car length to wait, will the orange red light camera flash ? It was on a bright morning so I did not notice any flash .

Hi! Just wondering if all fine's in the end or were you served notice by TP?

IcYFl4mEz

they shoud\ld just learn from vietnam or other country, put countdown timer till next light changes.

edwinttt1978

they shoud\ld just learn from vietnam or other country, put countdown timer till next light changes.

Historical studies had shown that Singaporeans, renowned for peculiar kiasu and kiasi behaviour, applied the brakes and were prepared to stop while others accelerated when the countdown timer showed two seconds to red, leading to a greater likelihood of rear-end collisions.
———-

RELIABILITY OF RED-LIGHT CAMERAS ENSURED BY POLICE
Media Replies
7 Feb 2008

We refer to Mr Wong Bheet Huan's letter "Help motorists not to beat the red light" (The Straits Times, 26 January 2008) and Mr Vincent Lim How Siang's letter "Standardise amount of 'green' time at junctions (The Straits Times, 30 January 2008).

Police assure Mr Wong Bheet Huan that we regularly maintain and upgrade our red-light cameras to ensure their reliability, accuracy and effectiveness. Each red-light camera is only activated when the traffic light turns red and is not triggered by the backup flash light mentioned by Mr Wong. In addition, all photos taken by the cameras are meticulously viewed and checked by officers before tickets are issued to offenders.

LTA would also like to clarify that the amber period can be in the form of an amber light (junction without green arrow), flashing green arrow (junction with green arrow) or amber arrow ( Junctions with Red Amber Green). The amber period is always fixed depending on the approach speed of a junction. If motorists travel within the speed limit of the road, the period given would allow them to stop in time if they see the amber light from a distance. If they see the amber light near the stop line, the time given would also allow them to clear the junction safely.

LTA has carefully considered the installation of countdown timers for traffic junctions. A trial was conducted along Rochor Road near Bugis Junction to assess the behaviour of local motorists towards the countdown timer. Over a period of one year, there was a reduction in the number of vehicles beating the red light during the initial four months of the trial. However, after the initial four months, motorists behaviour returned to when the countdown timer was not installed.

Varying motorist behaviour was observed when they approached the junction. For example, when the countdown timer showed that two seconds remained before the traffic lights turned red, some motorists applied the brakes and were prepared to stop while others accelerated. These observations suggest that the countdown timer may result in a greater likelihood of rear-end collisions at traffic junctions. Studies conducted overseas have also confirmed this similar observation.

While we have not installed such countdown timers on our traffic light junctions due to safety concerns, LTA is actively seeking new technologies that will assist motorists and will implement such technologies when possible.

Police's aim is to reduce accidents and not to issue tickets. Red-running is dangerous. Motorists who ignore traffic signals put themselves and other road users at great risk. For their own safety and the safety of other road users, motorists should adhere to all traffic rules and regulations, whether or not there are cameras or police around.

We thank Mr Wong for sharing his view.

AUDREY ANG
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR, MEDIA RELATIONS
SINGAPORE POLICE FORCE
SUHANA KHARUDIN
MANAGER, MEDIA RELATIONS
LAND TRANSPORT AUTHORITY

https://www.lta.gov.sg/apps/news/page.aspx?c=3&id=26

————-
COUNTDOWN TIMERS WERE TESTED BUT ...
Media Replies
9 Jun 2012

We refer to the letter from Mr Charles Ong Hai Beng on the traffic light system (“Countdown Timers for Motorists too?”, TODAY, 4 Jun 2012).

Singapore's traffic light system operates on the Green Link Determining System, or "GLIDE", where the duration of green time at a traffic light junction can be varied according to traffic demands, thus allowing for smoother traffic flow. This therefore makes it operationally challenging to implement countdown timers at traffic junctions.

We had studied the installation of countdown timers at traffic junctions. In 2003, we conducted a trial at the junction of North Bridge Road and Rochor Road to assess the behaviour of motorists towards the countdown timer. The trial showed that motorists displayed varying behaviour when they approached the junction as the countdown timer approaches zero and the lights turn red.

Some motorists applied the brakes to stop while others accelerated to beat the light. These observations suggest that the countdown timer may result in a greater likelihood of rear-end collisions at traffic junctions. Studies conducted overseas have also confirmed this observation.

To enhance safety at traffic light junctions, LTA has set a few seconds of an all red period as a buffer in between each change of the traffic light. This is consistent with international practice.

We thank Mr Ong for the opportunity to clarify.

Helen Lim (Ms)
Director, Media Relations and Public Education
Land Transport Authority

https://www.lta.gov.sg/apps/news/page.aspx?c=3&id=83wtd5o27ivc96jb50bc741soobdjqca7e4zoe07stq76po3m0

superman

So to reduce people rear ending another car, LTA prefer car to run red light so they dun install timer. I could also use the argument that more cars can slow down gradually if they see the timer because they can judge whether they can make it, same reason why they do it for pedestrian crossing. In the end, they did not answer if the installation of timer reduce cars beating red light which is the main purpose for that. I bet they did.

Jason98

Traffic turn green but with red arrow. If I on the right most turning lane and edge forward of 1 car length to wait, will the orange red light camera flash ? It was on a bright morning so I did not notice any flash .

Hi, did you receive any letter from LTA? Had the same incident as you

Confuseman

Bros just wanna clarify , if my car stop after the stop line then the light change to red, will i still be caught for beating the red light ...there was a camera, when i did that

snip82

Personally, i drove both rented rides and frd's car before. First thing i get myself familiar with the brake system as in light tap or need more foot tap then brake comes into action and then car stops.
Everyone's driving habit diff though...
All i can say is be safe and always keep to the extreme left lane, aka the heavy vehicle lane... lolz
If turns amber at first arrow, sure can stop in time.
Turns amber at second arrow, is 50/50. If oredi foot on brake, should be able to stop.
Turns amber on 3 arrow, no point E-brake liao, i would accelerate to clear the traffic.
Cheers and drive safe:D

Actually whenever near traffic light .. take note on the 3arrorw.. usually i will let go my acceleration before 3 third arrow, let it roll, if amber start at 3rd usually have chance to stop .. if it happen at 2nd usually will ebrake.. if third just accelerate abit to clear from amber

MiG123

actually running amber by 1 sec or so after turning red has almost no safety risk at the junction (unless got blatant red light beater from another direction in which case even green light in your favor cannot help), as there's at least 3 secs delay before any other direction goes green. absolutely distinct from someone blatantly beating the red while opposing traffic is still flowing in the junction

not saying running amber is right but LTA should consider for different tiers of penalty for different offenses with very different risks. Some might argue that jamming brakes in front of amber is dangerous for traffic behind, but with the stakes that high ($400/12 points) what choice do most drivers have?

Confuseman

you mean you stop after the stop line but b4 the ped crossing? tht one still ok cause likely ur car not fully pass the stop line. many experienced drivers the car will poke beyond the stop line one

Normally at which point the red light camera will trigger ...etc like 1st sensor after stop line or 2nd sensor inside ped crossing or ur car must fully pass the sensor inside ped crossing?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.