Red Wing shoe Thread

kazuki666

Is there anyone here who owns both 875 and 8165???

My pair of 8165 managed to break in quite fast with absolute comfort now.
But my 875 wear a few times le still hardly any signs of breaking or creases.

is this normal???

Toby88

interesting part about leather products and shoes......
they differ from batch to batch, pair to pair.

anyways, in terms of comfort, crepe soles offer the best comfort, compared to the beckman soles. in terms of moc toe, round toe, it really depends, some might prefer the comfort of one to the other.

even breaking in, it differs from pair to pair. its normal when the shoe takes time to get seasoned. it depends on how the wearer trash the shoe. for eg. if a person literally is a road warrior (walking and public transports) and a tolerance for blisters and pain around the ankle and the bunion areas, the shoe definitely will crease and be seasoned after perhaps a month? as compared to a office warrior driving to and fro to work most of the time.

generally, patience is of the virtue. some pairs take longer to season, some shorter. they will season one day.....its a fact =:p

only thing is... no boot has the same amount of comfort, guess it due to the cut, the construct and the age (your 1st pair will always be the most comfortable most of the time, cos its the oldest).

just like i have a pair of Georgia boots thats quite arched in the soles, something like women's heels. so no matter what, its still not as comfy as the relatively flat RW 8138.

reverseBungee

dam it.... wait soo long liao... all online store either dun have size 10 or width E.

all is D or EE/2E

mikeeeey

interesting part about leather products and shoes......
they differ from batch to batch, pair to pair.

anyways, in terms of comfort, crepe soles offer the best comfort, compared to the beckman soles. in terms of moc toe, round toe, it really depends, some might prefer the comfort of one to the other.

even breaking in, it differs from pair to pair. its normal when the shoe takes time to get seasoned. it depends on how the wearer trash the shoe. for eg. if a person literally is a road warrior (walking and public transports) and a tolerance for blisters and pain around the ankle and the bunion areas, the shoe definitely will crease and be seasoned after perhaps a month? as compared to a office warrior driving to and fro to work most of the time.

generally, patience is of the virtue. some pairs take longer to season, some shorter. they will season one day.....its a fact =:p

only thing is... no boot has the same amount of comfort, guess it due to the cut, the construct and the age (your 1st pair will always be the most comfortable most of the time, cos its the oldest).

just like i have a pair of Georgia boots thats quite arched in the soles, something like women's heels. so no matter what, its still not as comfy as the relatively flat RW 8138.
its a pity that theres no best of both worlds... crepe comfort, beckman sole beauty. sigh..

reverseBungee

try amazon or shoe-store.net, may have depending on which model you want of course.

yah i tried that too... the most common models lor... all dun have width E... and size 10.

amazon can trust? i mean sometimes is sold by individual sellers.

rage05

yah i tried that too... the most common models lor... all dun have width E... and size 10.

amazon can trust? i mean sometimes is sold by individual sellers.

For European and US online store, they seldom offer width E, all come with D or some double E.

Width Double E is not the same as E right :s11:

makuyoko

anyone has a pair of plain toe 8165 in size 9/black for trade ?? i wanna trade my black moc-toe in size 9E my pair condition 9/10 seldom worn for a pair of plain toe 8165 in black size 9.....anyone keen in trading hit me up at 92956229

xtreamzz

anyone putting any insoles into their rws? the hard sole in the shoe is making my feet ache after long hours of walking

mikeeeey

anyone putting any insoles into their rws? the hard sole in the shoe is making my feet ache after long hours of walking
i do.. but if you wear it normally and it feels fitting, adding insole maybe too tight upon wearing.

my boots is 0.5 bigger than what i should wear and i have a thin insole added for more comfort and it fits well...

kazuki666

this is the part and parcel of this footwear. It bites u before they give u comfort...

I took ard 6mths to break into my 8165. Had several blisters ard heels, tough on the sole. But after that the leather and sole soften and mould into my feet, now its nothing but comfort :)
Trying to break my 875 le, but i know its going to be longer journey coz i cant wear it daily like i did to my 8165...

monkeyfunkey

Hi there,

I'm a US size 8 and I tried US size 7.5 for the style no. 8131, the Classic Lifestyle, but it turned out to be quite loose. How come uh? And also cus my legs are quite skinny, so is it weird for me? cus i tightened it all the way also. Any advice? :)

hittoxlj

this is the part and parcel of this footwear. It bites u before they give u comfort...

I took ard 6mths to break into my 8165. Had several blisters ard heels, tough on the sole. But after that the leather and sole soften and mould into my feet, now its nothing but comfort :)
Trying to break my 875 le, but i know its going to be longer journey coz i cant wear it daily like i did to my 8165...

wear it like how u season your combat boots?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.