Red Wing shoe Thread

Scribblemyname

Because mink oil contains silicone (it states on the ingrdients) that blocks the leather from breathing. In our weather where you sweat a lot, you are gonna make ur boots unable to breathe with all the sweat moisture inside. It's meant for snow and slush where your boots are gonna get wet so the silicone layer protects it. Obenauf LP does not have silicone, so your leather still breathes and has protection. But like I said, LP is overkill and you will get the same protection if you use the leather oil which probably is better. Your boots won't dry overnight unless you put in shoe trees. I keep my shoes in the cupboard.

Sent from GAGT Android App

There are other mink oil out there which don't contain silicones. And silicones isn't that harmful tbh, it's really over exaggerated over the net. Beeswax on LP works the same way as silicone but it is "organic" compared to silicones that's all.

reson90

Thanks bro for the feedback. Was wearing 8.5/8 for most sneaker so i just took 8 for RW 1907 hopefully it will fit well.

yo!

Dress shoe, i usually wear 43 which is US10 (usually wear thin socks)

Running shoe/Basketball shoe usually US10 or US10.5, always come with insoles (thick ankle socks)

Sperry boatshoe US10.5D - abit too narrow for me (no socks, sometimes feel abit loose after break in, abit heel slippage)

Red Wing 1907 US9.5D w/o insole with thick socks (if wear with insole i need to size up to US10D)

Measured at Red Wing orchard gateway, uncle show me that my true size is US10.5D.

Tried 8111 in US9.5D feels tight, size up to US10D feels better, so ordered US10D.

hope it helps...

Noirkw

There are other mink oil out there which don't contain silicones. And silicones isn't that harmful tbh, it's really over exaggerated over the net. Beeswax on LP works the same way as silicone but it is "organic" compared to silicones that's all.

When looking at Mink Oil, most people's ideal type would be Red Wing's version of it, especially in a Red Wing shoe thread. Furthermore, most mink oil are synthetic products anyway rather than made from actual mink due to animal rights and all thosee nonsense. People won't research and will look at it as their go-to oil. Which is not recommended. If someone is looking to use mink oil on their products, it will still be better to use leather oil instead after conditioning.

patryn33

That bad I am sure will drive demand down, forcing more company to quit making mink oil. But thats not happening.

Animals rights no animal rights mink farm still out there, ppl still buy mink fur. Mink oil is the byproduct of the process. Animal rights didn't kill the farms. 2013 huge movements mink oil products pulled production cut but 2014 back again! Production levels higher than last 10 yrs.
http://www.furcommission.com/farming/production/

When looking at Mink Oil, most people's ideal type would be Red Wing's version of it, especially in a Red Wing shoe thread. Furthermore, most mink oil are synthetic products anyway rather than made from actual mink due to animal rights and all thosee nonsense. People won't research and will look at it as their go-to oil. Which is not recommended. If someone is looking to use mink oil on their products, it will still be better to use leather oil instead after conditioning.

What has research tells u? Most if not all companies do not disclose their content, all forum ppl taking. Not seen a lab report on individual company in their products.

BigAssGun

I think my socks are fairly thick. Hand made in UK, Corgi.

I guess that's why I'm not afraid of the 8111 being a little big. Did not downsize.

me seldom wear thick sock, lol

only thick socks i hab ish frm NS de

time to go shop ard for comfy thick socks

Noirkw

That bad I am sure will drive demand down, forcing more company to quit making mink oil. But thats not happening.

Animals rights no animal rights mink farm still out there, ppl still buy mink fur. Mink oil is the byproduct of the process. Animal rights didn't kill the farms. 2013 huge movements mink oil products pulled production cut but 2014 back again! Production levels higher than last 10 yrs.
Production Statistics

What has research tells u? Most if not all companies do not disclose their content, all forum ppl taking. Not seen a lab report on individual company in their products.

Like I said, Red Wing Mink Oil is the ideal type of Mink oil that everybody will go for since it's readily available in shops at SG. Nobody is going to research specifically for mink oil that does not contain silicone - precisely because it is easily accessible. Of course companies don't disclose their products, its called marketing. Companies not so stupid to disclose their product information online for everyone to see - Look at McDonalds. The only way to tell whether the actual product is good is from the consumers. That's why companies do survey, to gather feedback from their consumers whether their products are good. That's exactly the same as forum people reviewing products. And with so many brand affiliates on Styleforums/Reddit, I will trust the reliability of these websites than company marketing gimmicks.

And where can you find information? From 1) Your actual use 2) Experience of others. I will trust the experience of people who have used the products extensively and reviewed along with my own usage of Mink Oil/Obenauf/Lexol

Of course, people are free to use whatever they want, its their boot, not mine. But with RW's Mink Oil having a big word saying "Contains silicone", then it will not be used for my boots and will be confined to leather accessories such as belts.

You just missed the Darn Tough socks on Massdrop.

http://darntough.com/

patryn33

depending on products, packaged food for instance its required by US LAW (FDA) to disclose. Medicine generic or branded its also required by law to disclose active ingredient. its not a matter of stupid of what, if there is no need why do it?

~1 dozen company makes mink oil, when ppl slam mink oil no one actually state brands. U are right ppl can use whatever on their boots, no need to lose sleep over it or write on and on about the matter.

I use mink oil on my boots and I comfortable with it.

kazuki666

My mink oil from bata and brush from hush puppies work all right for my 875 and 8165 so far. The only care I take is to give them a few brushes after each wear, and slab of mink oil every 6-7 months or I feel they seem to be turning dry.

lelouch91

Maybe they repack for you? 15 is cheap if u get your boots

Sent from GAGT Android App

I think mine is volumetric. UPS there put 6.6lbs only sia!
Oh well. If everything is sui-sui i dont mind the few dollars more ~_~

mine total weight 2KG.

Summary of charges
International Shipping
(Upgrade Express) $ 19.55
Fuel surcharge $ 1.17
Insurance $ 1.95
CGW$ redeemed $ -5.00
Promo/Voucher Code Applied:
DBS10OFF2014 $ -1.96

Total Payment $ 15.71

Just as i thought, Nordstrom gave me a ****ing big box. Volumetric wise its twice the amount. The Red Wing box itself is only 36cm x 24cm x 12.5cm / 5000 which is only 2.16kg. Self collected from DHL just now, nobody will be home tomorrow ~_~ DAT HEAVY DOWNPOUR.

Other than that, the shoes is fine for me. Need time for it to break in only!
Need to hoot socks liao!

Legend2127

Just as i thought, Nordstrom gave me a ****ing big box. Volumetric wise its twice the amount. The Red Wing box itself is only 36cm x 24cm x 12.5cm / 5000 which is only 2.16kg. Self collected from DHL just now, nobody will be home tomorrow ~_~ DAT HEAVY DOWNPOUR.

Other than that, the shoes is fine for me. Need time for it to break in only!
Need to hoot socks liao!

my boots from FSfashionNY came too...

inspected the boots... 100% authentic and not factory 2nds... safe to buy from there...

Legend2127

nub question, huat thick socks chiu guys wear for boots

I just wear black nike regular cut socks... length just slight above the boots...

NS socks i try before not comfortable... i dun like the ribbed design...

lelouch91

my boots from FSfashionNY came too...

inspected the boots... 100% authentic and not factory 2nds... safe to buy from there...

Huh you shipped over liao meh?
Then your amazon one how sia?

My Red Wing Box quite chui leh. Machiam Break in before selling.

Legend2127

Huh you shipped over liao meh?
Then your amazon one how sia?

My Red Wing Box quite chui leh. Machiam Break in before selling.

amazon 1 haven't ship in... see if got ppl want buy then i ship in lo...

box chui nvm la, shipping and handling ma... my boots are brand new, i inspected every inch and corner, leather not break in before, no bend and crease, no scuff marks too...

lelouch91

Lol i not so detailed leh. Nothing is perfect.
Furthermore after all the discount i only got it for like $265SGD only including shipping!
That's a $172 saving for me, which is good enough liao!

Soles looks new, exterior looks new.
Wear and try to make it as comfortable as possible for my feet can liao.
Just need new socks! Currently testing out with my NS socks -_-

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.