Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

tortoise18

need instructor in eastern side. preferably eunos. private instructor. can intro gd one? manual.

leviatus

Hi, I would like to ask if any1 knows of a good manual pdi who speaks english and pick up from tampines

motomage

Good day dear all,

anyone got a good manual pdi who is patient and clear and pick up from kallang or somewhere near?

Please PM me thanks! :D

Wurmple

Class 3 manual bukit batok side de any lobang/Good intro pls reply me i love u so so much thank u <3 greatly appreciated

idunknowlarh

Similar to above posts, would be great if anyone can recommended a good private instructor for Class 3A in the east area, around bedok-tampines would be good.

oysteroy

have posted before, but shall re-post for a gd PDI.

Mr Goh 96712193

Teaches manual at bbdc, pick up at gombak or gas station outside bbdc. rates are $30 per hr for peak.

character is those typical uncle type, can be naggy at times & friendly at others. very seldom late, doesnt smoke or take unnessary breaks.

he has a systematic way of teaching, and crafts lessons according to speed of learning. under him my circuit is near perfect, vertical parking directional change parallel parking all one-time go in without need for corrections. same for S & crank & slope. he taught a few bbdc instructors' kids too. he is also very alert to note my mistakes :s like bad gear shifts, wide turning...and will step in to do emergency corrections if i did something wrong like going to veer off course.

he gets annoyed when i make e same mistakes repeatedly despite him telling me many times, i think also to "psycho" me to remember it for good? hes quite chatty & friendly especially when i drive well that lesson. but when he picks on e mistakes he never attacks e student's character (ie no scolding of "stupid" or vulgarities)

although i took a long time to learn (1 year?) he didnt give up & even gave me more lessons on wkday evenings to make sure i learn faster..im a lousy student but he booked total of ~8 circuits for me, and even helped me book a good tp slot e first time round while i was overseas. when i failed e first time he gave a few more revisions and i then passed.

i think i have posted bout my pdi a while back when i was still starting out. he is somewhat similar to the pdi recommended above.

Mr Cai, 93809718, teaches class 3 manual. pick-up point is either at bukit gombak stadium or at the petrol station beside bbdc.

rates are $30/h non-peak, $32/h peak (only teaches 1 hour of lesson). reg. fee $50, refundable deposit of $30/$32. his timings ranges from 9am to about 10 or 11pm at night (subjected to changes)

he's mostly fluent in mandarin, but can speak english to an understandable extent (saw him with malay and indian students before). he doesn't smoke, will start about 5 mins late (drive from gombak stadium to petrol station to pick me up, pee break but will extend time a bit more), generally well-mannered, although naggy and sometimes scold.

so far i had 14 lessons with him on the road. (tmr will be my 15th lesson). i've learnt nearly everything except for vertical/ parallel parking. imo, i'm really a slow learner, that's why i haven't finish learning everything yet. keep repeating basic mistakes such as releasing the clutch in one go, slow reaction, stuck with gear shifting, etc. he gets pretty annoyed and will nag alot at my mistakes, BUT he'll still tirelessly help me correct them and remind me over again (x10). he teaches okay too (got a book to show the steps in detail) and he will tell you the mistakes that will get you points deducted during tp, and points out to you certain tp routes that you must be careful with. just that i'm quite kan chiong most of the time and forget the stuff which i'm suppose to do, but he didn't give up on me all this time.

the bad points that i can think of is that he's a bit too systematic in his way of teaching, so he tends to teach a bit slow (but maybe it's cos of my learning speed). and twice he cancelled or postponed my lessons, but then again who doesn't make mistakes. (anyway he informed me earlier bout' the changes, so it's okay)

he has a low passing rate (<20%), but overall i think he's still a good instructor who has the heart to teach.

my tp is in 6 weeks time, and i haven't entered bbdc circuit yet. hopefully pass the first time round.

SMITTEN07

Becareful of this PDI TAY TIANG CHONG David

YES!!! i was his student!!
he did the same to me!! i swear he DID THE SAME TO ME!!!
Eating in the car, SLEEPING, TAKING ALL THE TIME. THE TOILET BREAK!!! Is ANNOYING!!! Every f***ing lesson!!!
:mad:
I AM NOT LYING!! I SWEAR.
TOOK 38 LESSON from him and at the same time he charged me $18 extra to Learn parking. WHEN I ASK WHY!!? he said because he have no place to teach me to learning parking.

He teach parking at a multi story CARPARK near BBDC.
So i asked, he dont need to book anything at the carpark why charge $18??
he said later got HDB people take photo and he will KENA saman!!

(SO IF THERE IS NO SAMAN, HE POCKET THE MONEY LA!!)

WTF?? SERIOUSLY!!
and i said he never said anything about $18 extra when i want to learn form him on the 1 lesson after 17 lesson than he said all this!!

i have no choice seriously! i started my lessons already and its on my 17 lesson!

To add on, i was on my 14 lesson. I question him "Mr Tay, i dont recieve any feedback from you. Did i drive correctly?"
His reply was "Girl, You have no fault Dont find Fault!", "You drive very good" :s39:

WTF
i've been driving and he never say anything to me, because its all on straight road. No much turing, 2 time 3 point turn. just few U turns. NEVER TEACH ON CHECKING BLIND SPOT!

Few times he was unwell! He never cancel the class! Instead he ask me to drive around to buy his medication and food to eat before taking the medicine! WTF!! I just gave him the black face!!

He buy waffles leh!! Waffles need to wait long you know!!

MY TP GETTING NEARER and i feel VERY VERY nervous! that was on my 25 lesson. i have yet to learn parking. So i asked "are we learning parking soon?" he said ouh yes yes! on that day itself he started to talk about my turning no good. My turning & U turn got problem. WTF!!!
after so much lessons I ATTENDED!! now then say?

i start learning parking only on my last few lessons!
i'm VERY pissed. i have no confident. i paid so much!
i shouldnt have took him as my PDI.

He also only inform me about E-Brake on my TP DAY!!
WTF!
But NVM, E-Break is easy. so no issue. :slant:

JUST WOULD LIKE WARN LEARNER OUT THERE.
PLEASE BEWARE OF DAVID TAY TIANG CHONG!

38 LESSONS and extra 10 PARKING with $18 charge (EACH PARKING LESSON), ITS ALOT OF MONEY!
$33 FOR 3 CIRCUIT
(some days1 hour, some days 1.5 hour, some days 2 hour)

38 LESSONS ON A F***ING AUTO CAR LEH!!!!
Best part is he ask me to practice pararrel parking while he take a rest as he is unwell.. That was 3days before my test!

HOWEVER I DID PASSED! with 18points! :eek:
get what those 18POINTS was due to never check blind SPOT correctly and some parrarel parking thingy.
before the tester give me the paper.
He ask me a question "DO YOU KNOW HOW TO CHECK BLIND SPOT?" i noded

i said check mirrors and look over shoulders. But he feedback that i do it wrongly.

THANK GOD I DONT NEED TO GO THRU THE TEST AGAIN. :s12:

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME! :mad::mad::mad:

AVOID THIS PDI! There is better ones out there!
$$$$ really matters.. Actually if he deserve that amount of money.. I would gladly promote him.. Honest truth, its was a heartache.. His toilet break is horrible!

TAY TIANG CHONG
SGC 8471 TOYOTA VIOS
Meeting Point @ West Mall

TAY TIANG CHONG
SGC 8471 TOYOTA VIOS

TAY TIANG CHONG
SGC 8471 TOYOTA VIOS

SMITTEN07

Honestly i did try to look out for his reviews, so far nothing. (when i pass my FTT, i started looking for one)

Check the website for PDI, his grade seems not bad.

than 1 day before MY TP i decided to just google!! and found some people have have the same issue as me!!!!!!

David Tay Tiang Chong
Learners please beware.

He charge very high
- Register $80 1st time
- Go TP need to use his car he charged $280
- Go circuit $33 each
- Learn Parking $18 each lesson.
- 1.5 hour is $54 (parking is add on, So if u have 1.5 hours with parking is $54 + $18)

if you need 10 lesson for parking! how much u need to pay to this person!

i go for 38 lessons.
He just refuse to teach parking!(i poke him a few times, "Mr Tay, when can we leaning Parking" He reply "Girl, get use to the car 1st"
F*** la 14lesson.. not enough ah
Seriously, what is so difficult to drive an auto car?
its learning how to park that take more time..

Honestly he dont teach much. All he do was resting and go toilet brake, eating & such.

Honestly all my points come from mistake from the circuit.

Private Learners really need to go Circuit more. Its helpful during test

SMITTEN07

PLEASE DONT BELIEVE THE ABOVE. I TOOK DRIVING LESSONS FROM DAVID TAY TIANG CHONG AND THE POST ABOVE IS SO OBVIOUSLY WRITTEN BY HIMSELF. ON MY FIRST DAY HE ALREADY TOLD ME TO CHECK FORUMS TO SEE HOW GOOD HE IS, AND THIS IS THE ONLY ENTRY ON HIM.

ANYWAY, HE NOT ONLY DIDN'T TEACH ME NOTHING BUT DRIVING AROUND ON MAIN ROADS, NO CIRCUIT, ATTEMPT U-TURN TWICE, 3 POINT TURN TWICE, AND ONLY ONE CIRCUIT LESSON BEFORE YOUR TP TEST.

DURING LESSON, HE WILL BE ON THE PHONE, LISTENING TO HIS KARAOKE, AND I JUST FAILED TODAY NOT BECAUSE I COULDNT PARK OR DRIVE, BUT BECAUSE HE DIDN'T TEACH ME THE BASIC THINGS LIKE CHECKING BLIND SPOT WHEN MAKING LEFT OR RIGHT TURNS OR EVEN BRAKING.

HE CHARGES THE SAME EVEN WHEN YOU ARE LATE AND ENDS ON TIME. BUT HE GOES FOR 20 MIN TOILET BREAK. THIS BREAK WILL INCLUDE RINSING HIS MOUTH, EATING HIS FOOD OUTSIDE HIS CAR, AND TONGUE CLEANING. NOT ONCE. NOT TWICE. BUT EVERY SINGLE LESSON. HE WILL TAKE A 10 - 20 MINUTE TOILET BREAK. OF COURSE HE DIDNT PRO RATE MY FEES TO 40MIN. WHAT A DOG.

ALTOGETHER, HE CHARGE $54 FOR ONLY ONE HOUR AND MADE ME DRIVE-ONLY FOR 29 LESSONS. OF WHICH, HE DIDN'T EVEN TAKE ME TO THE CIRCUIT. OR LEARN THINGS LIKE U-TURN OR 3 POINT TURNS.

I CREATED THIS ACCOUNT JUST TO WARN EVEYRONE NOT TO WASTE YOUR MONEY. HE DOES NOT WANT YOU TO PASS, BUT TO FAIL AND RETAKE MORE LESSONS WITH HIM.

I CHECKED WITH OTHERS, PRIVATE INSTRUCTORS NOT ONLY CHARGE MUCH LESS FOR 1.5 HOURS, BUT THEY TAKE ONLY 10 LESSONS BEFORE THEIR PRACTICAL TEST. AND THE CHERRY TO TOP IT ALL OFF IS THAT HIS PASSING RATE IS ONLY 21% WHICH I NEVER QUESTIONED UNTIL TODAY.

PLEASE DON'T LEARN FROM THIS DAVID TAY SGC 8471 TOYOTA VIOS SILVER

I'm not the only one that kena this

SMITTEN07

PLEASE DONT BELIEVE THE ABOVE. I TOOK DRIVING LESSONS FROM DAVID TAY TIANG CHONG AND THE POST ABOVE IS SO OBVIOUSLY WRITTEN BY HIMSELF. ON MY FIRST DAY HE ALREADY TOLD ME TO CHECK FORUMS TO SEE HOW GOOD HE IS, AND THIS IS THE ONLY ENTRY ON HIM.

ANYWAY, HE NOT ONLY DIDN'T TEACH ME NOTHING BUT DRIVING AROUND ON MAIN ROADS, NO CIRCUIT, ATTEMPT U-TURN TWICE, 3 POINT TURN TWICE, AND ONLY ONE CIRCUIT LESSON BEFORE YOUR TP TEST.

DURING LESSON, HE WILL BE ON THE PHONE, LISTENING TO HIS KARAOKE, AND I JUST FAILED TODAY NOT BECAUSE I COULDNT PARK OR DRIVE, BUT BECAUSE HE DIDN'T TEACH ME THE BASIC THINGS LIKE CHECKING BLIND SPOT WHEN MAKING LEFT OR RIGHT TURNS OR EVEN BRAKING.

HE CHARGES THE SAME EVEN WHEN YOU ARE LATE AND ENDS ON TIME. BUT HE GOES FOR 20 MIN TOILET BREAK. THIS BREAK WILL INCLUDE RINSING HIS MOUTH, EATING HIS FOOD OUTSIDE HIS CAR, AND TONGUE CLEANING. NOT ONCE. NOT TWICE. BUT EVERY SINGLE LESSON. HE WILL TAKE A 10 - 20 MINUTE TOILET BREAK. OF COURSE HE DIDNT PRO RATE MY FEES TO 40MIN. WHAT A DOG.

ALTOGETHER, HE CHARGE $54 FOR ONLY ONE HOUR AND MADE ME DRIVE-ONLY FOR 29 LESSONS. OF WHICH, HE DIDN'T EVEN TAKE ME TO THE CIRCUIT. OR LEARN THINGS LIKE U-TURN OR 3 POINT TURNS.

I CREATED THIS ACCOUNT JUST TO WARN EVEYRONE NOT TO WASTE YOUR MONEY. HE DOES NOT WANT YOU TO PASS, BUT TO FAIL AND RETAKE MORE LESSONS WITH HIM.

I CHECKED WITH OTHERS, PRIVATE INSTRUCTORS NOT ONLY CHARGE MUCH LESS FOR 1.5 HOURS, BUT THEY TAKE ONLY 10 LESSONS BEFORE THEIR PRACTICAL TEST. AND THE CHERRY TO TOP IT ALL OFF IS THAT HIS PASSING RATE IS ONLY 21% WHICH I NEVER QUESTIONED UNTIL TODAY.

PLEASE DON'T LEARN FROM THIS DAVID TAY SGC 8471 TOYOTA VIOS SILVER

SMITTEN07

Haha!! Lame!

I read through all 170++ pages when I was "shortlisting" PDIs couple months ago. I noticed that those on Le driving were DEFINITELY ADVERTS.
(1) they normally have very little posts and sometimes they ask a question in other threads and they don't follow up when people answer or ask more.
(2) their language used
(3) the contents are usually very similar despite different account names
(4) they always start as a question asking for suggestions and mid way will be thanking people for suggestions but decided to go with le driving n ending off with how good they were.

I recall seeing one account even got defensive. Kind of funny if u ask me. While i have no idea how good/bad they are, i would say "don't believe their reviews on hardwarezone"

This person who wrote this is a sour ****! These review in hardware zone is to highlight to our singapore friends! That there is lots of dishonest PDI out there! Before u engage them! Everything also "okay okay"! Engage already! Add more cost! Say no slot for circuit! Make you kan chong that TP is near! But you have not built the confidence to pass. I suggest go to school better.. Any dispute or feedback at least you can get something back! Or make adjustment.

I was so panic about my TP at that time.. As i feel my circuit training is poor.. I only go 2 time.. Sometimes need to wait for other ppl to use the station.. Then i only have few mins to practice..

The worse part is i start to google my PDI again. And i saw 2 reviews about him! Bad reviews and its true! All was mention in this forum was what is happening to me. He always took toilet breaks! Buy food! Sleeping! Karaoking! Start charging me extra for learning parking at the carpark..sigh

So guys! All i can share is.. ppl in this forum cares! We share what we have exprience along the way.. And hope the new learners are aware of this issues from PDI!

I try to search in the forum about PDI TAY TIANG CHONG but i cant find any.. And his rank is high.. I assume there is no issue.. But when i had an argument with him.. 2days before my TP, i google him again.. I was shock to see there is an entry on Nov 2013.. And i engage him at the end of OCT 2012.. If only i got a chance to read some review about him.. I would look for others or engage a school instructor

marcusleetk

PDI

Wow feel ya man. On hindsight, I am really glad my instructor isn't anything like yours! :) Just tahan and get your license :)

Yeah like many before me who recommended the services of Le Driving Instructors, i think it's a legitimately good service which allowed me to get my private instructor! Dont face any of the problems that you mentioned, especially about like Tay tiang chong. ohwellz, sharing is caring!

zuldevil

This person who wrote this is a sour ****! These review in hardware zone is to highlight to our singapore friends! That there is lots of dishonest PDI out there! Before u engage them!

I would look for others or engage a school instructor

Well, at least now that the posts regarding him is up here, any diligent learners who google him in the future will not be tricked! One of the posts here is the first thing you see when you google him!

Good job! :s12:

nadinesamms

Mr O

Woah....after reading all your horror stories, looks like its really hard to find a good PDI.
think i'm lucky to a certain extend.

Mine actually work in partnership with another instructor.
Initial lessons are by his partner, lets call him Mr. T

Mr. T, allowed me to drive almost straight away on my first lesson (I did not have any prior experience, totally new to driving), he showed me the basics then let me drive around in a carpark, before asking me to drive outside to the roads...the first lesson was pretty good, he also teach me 3-point turn and basic parking.

After that basically 75% of all the lessons i'm doing parking...parallel and vertical, did not have much driving outside and changing lane (which i'm very weak at), it became very routine.
Most of the time Mr. T, would fall asleep once we reach the carpark and I started doing my parking.........it was quite boring.........but I also became quite good at parking......so not sure if I should be complaining.......

Towards my test, the main PDI, lets call him Mr. O, took over from Mr. T
Boy! it was a world of difference, Mr. O is damn good and he does not take pee breaks (at least not during my lessons anyway, Mr. T pee break quite standard 10-15mins every lesson)

Mr. O is very professional, he explains things very clearly, draws charts and stuff (Mr.T not very good at explain things...)
And I can feel he genuinely wants me to understand and pass my test, because he is very busy sometimes my lesson with him can be late like 10pm to 11pm or 11.30pm but he doesn't mind......

If he had started teaching me earlier I probably wont need to take so many lessons from Mr. T and would have saved some $$$

He teaches Auto, BBDC.

Hi Ninja, May I have Mr O's contact pls. Thank you!

kcf911

Hi guys, new here.
Stay around West side
CCK area
I'm taking on private class 3 Manual. Anyone there able to help me. best if you can give me their contact number. PM me thanks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.