Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

Nicsng

Hi jo_anna,

During my learning stage, I was quite easily nervous but Mr Ivan was very patient w me and will advise me to take things slowly and learn at own pace. Slowly through more lessons, my level of confidence increased and I became less nervous all the way till I took and pass my TP.

Hope my sharing was useful for you. All the best in your driving learning journey.

yizhao40

Hi jo_anna,

During my learning stage, I was quite easily nervous but Mr Ivan was very patient w me and will advise me to take things slowly and learn at own pace. Slowly through more lessons, my level of confidence increased and I became less nervous all the way till I took and pass my TP.

Hope my sharing was useful for you. All the best in your driving learning journey.

Hi bro, mind sharing Mr. Ivan contact? Thanks and appreciate it :)

Tectrica

Hello everyone, I have a little driving experience in the past when i am in SAF (unable to clock 7km) so I have to start taking TP at BBDC again.

Anyone have instructor to recommend for west area?

Gainduia

Hi All. Looking for class 3A private instructor in the west (BBDC). Please pm me if you have any to recommend. Thanks!

bunnybarn

saw this thread while actually googling my instructor's name out of curiosity..

i just passed my tp first attempt thanks to the help of my very awesome instructor, uncle Gordon at CDC. Drives a manual silver nissan sunny but think he changing car to the new manual almera soon.. charges 32/hr and only charge 220 for car rental and insurance for tp excluding warmup lessons.. super nice and friendly uncle, provides many insights and pinpoints my weaknesses and bad habits due to illegal driving experience in malaysia :s22: fixes them and gives enough lessons to be familiar with what we're supposed to do for the test.. he's quite chatty or can be quiet depending on how u prefer (always talk nonsense with him while driving cos boring ma) and very respectful of time.. always reaches the coffee house just beside cdc 3 mins before ur lesson starts but always has to take a pee before starting (people old liao..). But because he is very good, usually his schedule very busy so have to book him arnd 2 months beforehand so he can schedule ur slots.. and he schedules ur lessons in a very systematic way. although he might be flipping through his diary and answering texts from students while u're driving, he never fails to guide u through where you're going and somehow manages to pay attention to what you're doing.. he is also fluent in both english and mandarin so no worries about that.. many more good points about him, one of the best if not best instructor that's around.. really grateful i could pass in 1 attempt. :s22: can pm me for his number.

Hello there, thank you for sharing this! Would kindly like to know his contact number! Greatly appreciated =:p

ninedates

Hey! Are you able to get Lim Soon Sim's contact number or get hold of any PDI already? I'm still looking for a PDI for 3A @ BBDC too ~

Hi fxzakxtten, have you managed to find Mr Lim's number? Or have you contracted another pdi since then that you can recommend? Thanks!!

putrasocool

Hi... Anybody contacts of:

1. Azman Bin Abdul Rani (CDC)
2. Mohd Sam Bin Dollah (SSDC)

My father lost contct with them and currently looking for them to be my instructor.

PM me their contacts...

Thanks

Nelly W

Hi all, started lessons some time in October 2016 and just passed my test yesterday at Ubi CDC, manual, on first try, 14 points (should have been 8 :( as I disagreed with the tester for a 6-point offence but i can't possibly argue with him, can i?).

I had a nightmare initially looking for PDIs, let's just say there are so many fake reviews and crooks out there, and here's hoping my sharing of PDI contact will help. If anyone is looking for a reliable PDI, can consider Mdm Yap Siak Chok. I cannot be more grateful to her. If you've done due research, you'll agree there are no perfect instructors. I was too thrilled to finally start lessons after being played out by another PDI (auto) by the name of William (teaches in Tampines), who dropped me a text (he didn't even bother to call) a couple of days before my first lesson to say he could not commit.How unprofessional. Anyway, with Mdm Yap, she was pretty strict the first 5-6 lessons and I was demoralised. While she wouldn't yell, she may show her annoyance (hence my initial annoyance at her. admittedly, I'm prideful) at certain things I did/did not do. Hindsight is 20/20, and it was her consistent corrections during those formative lessons that (i realised later) good driving habits were formed. I even contemplated searching for another instructor (oops, sorry mdm yap) in case this doesn't work out but my hub advised that I stick around for 2-3 more lessons before deciding. boy was I glad I did. In the subsequent lessons, the dynamics changed. I can't put a finger on it, but we started chatting throughout the lesson (but still corrects me where necessary) and I attribute it to perhaps me starting to grasp driving (muscle memory) and she could trust me a little more on the roads (she has a pretty new Vios). I looked forward to every lesson since then and really enjoyed our convos. she's really quite funny.:D i found out later it's her way of getting me to relax (my body was very stiff from the stress)so i can drive better. worked like a charm.Also, her mandarin is way superior than her English, and I eventually switched to speaking mandarin with her, and that's when I learnt a lot from her. (she still gave driving instructions in english though, so she codeswitches back and forth).Another thing is,by the 5th or 6th lesson, i began to find lessons a little repetitive (i believe it's called complacency :s22: ) but once again, in hindsight, those lessons were necessary to hone certain skills and commit them to muscle memory, before she deems you ready to go into circuit, where those skills (like clutch control) is absolutely necessary.

My take on this is, if you are conversant in mandarin, can take constructive criticism and trust she has your best interests at heart, if you approach driving diligently, then you'll gain much under her tutelage/guidance. However, if you are the type who is super particular about certain things like ending lesson on the dot (she's super punctual. on certain days, she ended lessons 5 minutes before official time.. hello? given the nature of the job and traffic conditions, don;t be an arse and demand that it be made up another time. gosh. or if you start lessons 2-3 mins later cos previous student's lesson ends slightly later, don't go apeshit). In short, I think she teaches well, and from my convos with her, she has a lot of integrity and is very hardworking. in sum, if you can take constructive criticism, are not overly calculative (i believe the hokkien equivalent is "gniao"), do engage her. she is very busy though, cos she has loads of students, so no time to entertain some ridiculous people, so please don't call and ask 1001 questions or bargain for a lower price. Trust me, she'll tell you off (and i think you deserve it :s13: ) She's cool that way. Mdm Yap rocks!

I paid $50 for 1.5hr lessons, and $382 for driving test 'package' to be paid on driving test day which includes the usual 1.5hr warm-up, circuit entry on driving test day, car rental for test, insurance, everything lah etc)

additional tip: I personally found the initial circuit lessons daunting, and the learning curve steep. because we are sharing the circuit with other cars, in order not to hog the parking lot so others can come in and learn, there's a limited number of times we can queue up and go thru the motion again. And if you are like me, whose brain is the size of a pea, you may want to ask if you could take some time to write down the steps (after physically going thru all the steps a couple of times though). I prepared a paper and pen and scribbled down the steps hastily before turning out of the parallel/vertical lot. then go home and memorise these steps, revise them before your next circuit lesson. if the circuit is crowded, immediately note down notes after the lesson.

Good luck!:):):)

Hi, can you give me the no. pls

kitsura

After converting to sch from PDI I found that at least with sch they are systematic and cover everything. The PDI I had were either very quiet and do their own thing or the super grouchy type everything you do is wrong and they refuse to give tips to correct. So even though I have illegal driving experience in China how was I to know to correct way of driving if the PDI just says you are wrong all the time but refuse to teach you the correct way?

Sicarii

G'evening, folks:

I stay in the West and plan to take the test at Bukit Batok. If you have any recommendations for a good PDI that operates caters to folks in Jurong East/West or Bukit Merah area, do drop me a PM.

TIA!

putrasocool

my prebious post requesting Azman's number... I now heard he no longer teach students due to health complications and no longer avail in SG...

Any kind soul sharing a few contacts...
Need a kind and patient instructor as im dumb and slow... hahaha

staying in Tampines... would prefer somebody that utilise the whole study time

Thnks

Nicsng

Hi putrasocool,

You may contact Mr Ivan Tan @9667 6769. He conduct his teaching @CDC.

putrasocool

Theres a Malay guy name Alim/Halim... Not sure...
Called him to ask how much his rates are withbvery polite tone... Rarely i speak to people i dunt know in that kinf of manner...

He suddenly ask me whether im here to study or to enquire... Obv i answered i wanna study but i need to survey first lor... Then he said i can get lost if i want to enquiry, in a very rude tone... I then say sorry, if i do make any mistake, and say thank you so much... He just put down his phone...

Enquiry like dis already... What will happen if during lesson..??

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.