Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

Ayumi_Ayumi

Don't mrention it Kallstrom =)

Its good that we share our experiences here so that we can so call look out for these 'mean' intructors who is just out to make money from us.

I'm still searching though, and i have a few recommended ones but all of them are teaching at Ubi. Sigh...

Im searchhing around woodlands too =)

Im sure there is an instructor out there for us. I'll keep you in the loop if there is any k =)

HardwareZone Forumer

ABOUT ME: Female, 23 this year. I live in BISHAN, and have been looking for a private driving instructor around my area because I am lazy to travel. Of course my ideal would have been a driving instructor who can pick me up from my house. I don't really have a preference where I take my driving test.

FINDING A DRIVING INSTRUCTOR: I called up three private instructors - 2 recommanded by friends, 1 recommanded by SSDC (highest passing rate instructor). All are Chinese-speaking, were rather impatient with me over the phone, and were trying to push me to their friends. I did not want that. I started reading this forum, and decided on calling MR. WILLIAM 90215833. He was polite and patient with me, and told me sorry he's busy these days and refer me to a friend of his, also named WILLIAM >>> MR. WILLIAM SNG. I agreed to this referral because Mr. William sounded sincere and nice.

MR. WILLIAM SNG: 98188851. $26/hr non-peak and $28/hr peak. Min 1.5hours. Registeration $50. Cancellation/time change in less than 24 hours results in 50% loss of fee. Currently an instructor at BBDC but will be leaving in Jan (I think). Will pick up at Yio Chu Kang MRT. English speaking.

FIRST CLASS: Scheduled at 8pm for 1.5hours. I arrived at YCK MRT at 7:50pm, and he was already there! He talks a lot, kept talking about benefits of private instructor lol. Drove to the private housing estates around YCK. Very patitent with me! PM me if you want details of my first class.

Hope to be back to share more about him. I intended to have intensive lessons till New Year as I am having holiday now. But as he is still teaching at BBDC, his schedule is tight. Hence, only weekends and night =(

Is Mr William & Mr William Sng the same person? I called Mr William, 90215833 and he told me his 90215833 no. has some problem and called him at another no., 98188851. So is the two persons same? :s22:

Do anyone know?

shakeyourhead

hi guys

i am looking for private instructor in woodlands. hope to get the fastest 3A license possible.

anyone know any good auto car instructor kindly PM me?

kallstrom

Don't mrention it Kallstrom =)

Its good that we share our experiences here so that we can so call look out for these 'mean' intructors who is just out to make money from us.

I'm still searching though, and i have a few recommended ones but all of them are teaching at Ubi. Sigh...

Im searchhing around woodlands too =)

Im sure there is an instructor out there for us. I'll keep you in the loop if there is any k =)

thanks ayumi.

i juz PM u.

busy_listening

Hi all, have anyone took lessons with Mr Neo (xxxx7207) @ BBDC? Got super fed up with this guy during my second lesson. BTW, how long did you guys take to master the clutch? Its only my 2nd lesson and he scolded me all the way. Called me names summore. Then halfway into the lesson, he decided to "give up" on me. Tell me I can do wtever I want for the rest of the lesson, cos "I teach u wt u also dun listen". So I ok lo. I drive myself around Gombak. Din crash or stall e car at all cos he kept quiet all the way so i can drive in peace. (First half he kept shouting so I stalled like 3 times). Mastered turning the car by recalling wt my bf taught me over e weekend. So tts the crap I got from this instructor. Ready to ditch him anytime. BTW he still got the cheek to ask me when I wan my next lesson.. @!$#%#$%

Having said that, any patient manual instructor @ BBDC to recommend? BTW scold pple nvm, but at least must tell pple wt is the right way to do it right... And most imptly, no calling of names pls.. Who does he tink he is! I'm paying for e lesson ok..

Thanks guys.

BuGGi3

hi guys

i am looking for private instructor in woodlands. hope to get the fastest 3A license possible.

anyone know any good auto car instructor kindly PM me?

can try my previous instructor. pm me if interested.

as mentioned. he's good although quite naggy sometimes. :s13:

nerdy82

I've called Cathay Driving School (Bedok), and they advice me to take final theory as the latest is at Aug. After final theory, within 2 months, i can take my driving test.

I have passed my basic many many years ago.
What do you guys think? Correct?

Also, the reception told me they got 4 instructor. can anyone with experience advise me? I will be taking 3A, as i am not very comfortable with manual car. OK for a guy? Thanks.

shakeyourhead

hehe, sorry. got ubi one? :p

i live in the east :p

passed my BTt and FTT ilaoz. took up pte instructor with this guy by the surname of Siou. damn naggy and 2nd lesson, seemed like i owe him money. dont think i wanna continue with him.

anyone here is kind enough to intro?

fauziah29

Change school??

Hi there,

Currently, I'm enrolled under BBDC as a Class 3A private student. I already have PDL with BBDC.

I would like to find out if I can change to SSDC instead as I reside in Woodlands.

If Yes, what are the procedures like? Don mind the penalty charges though..any idea?

lightzly

Any recommendation for a private driving instructor driving the new 07 vios (auto).
Bukit Gombak area.
Btw, what's the fees that instructor is charging now??

PM me if his contact... Thanks.

ilovemyangel

i took my tp last tuesday and failed with 24 points. 6 points are my own mistakes, the other 18 I can say its caused by my instructor. He never teach me to check blind spot while parking, to on signal light while parking, NEVER teach me or MENTION anything about e-Brake, always grumbling that I never go for enough lessons before taking TP. its hard to book a time with this instructor. each time i call, its either he dont pick up, or that he says he will call me back blah blah blah and he NEVER did.

He never teach me about blind spots most probably he very very gan jeong his own car, he said my top priority is to make sure i don't mount or touch kerb while parking. kpkb when i look at the rear view mirror to confirm safety, "don't look there lah!" when i pull up the hand brake he kp me for pulling it too hard and will damage his precious car. never ever mentioned anyting abt e-brake prob becos doing e-brake will depreciate his brake. the tp told me that its no use if i could get thru the circuit and everything if i dont take care of safety. he said i fared extremely bad during the directional change which i only look at the right view mirror (as taught by my instructor). and oh ya! and he only taught me how to move off from uphill ONE DAY BEFORE MY TP. and refuses to let me practise more. end up the 2nd time I did it was during the warm-up in the circuit and third time was during the TP itself. Can't help but think that his absent-mindedness is a result of his drinking habits (see below). and 2 days before the TP he got into an accident end up I had to drive some old car from his insurance company, where the brake is unresponsive, hard to engage gear and the half-clutch point is alot higher, more like 3/4 clutch pt. and on the day of TP itself it was raining so so heavily. like telling me that everything is well set up for my perfect failure haha.

anyway i only know this instructor as Mr Lim, always meet and drop off at chinese garden mrt station. 66 years old, he's quite tanned and thin, driving a grey mitsubishi lancer. the worst thing is he drinks alcohol EVERYDAY, EVEN WHILE TEACHING. there were many instances where he made me stop by some coffeeshop so he could go get some alcohol in before continuing. now i dunno whether I shud continue taking lessons under him or change an instructor. cos now i know my main problems are my blind spots and the tester said while he could not pass me, there was actually nothing fundamentally wrong abt my driving skills and techniques. how? any suggestions whether i shud continue under him?

Mariote

i took my tp last tuesday and failed with 24 points. 6 points are my own mistakes, the other 18 I can say its caused by my instructor. He never teach me to check blind spot while parking, to on signal light while parking, NEVER teach me or MENTION anything about e-Brake, always grumbling that I never go for enough lessons before taking TP. its hard to book a time with this instructor. each time i call, its either he dont pick up, or that he says he will call me back blah blah blah and he NEVER did.

He never teach me about blind spots most probably he very very gan jeong his own car, he said my top priority is to make sure i don't mount or touch kerb while parking. kpkb when i look at the rear view mirror to confirm safety, "don't look there lah!" when i pull up the hand brake he kp me for pulling it too hard and will damage his precious car. never ever mentioned anyting abt e-brake prob becos doing e-brake will depreciate his brake. the tp told me that its no use if i could get thru the circuit and everything if i dont take care of safety. he said i fared extremely bad during the directional change which i only look at the right view mirror (as taught by my instructor). and oh ya! and he only taught me how to move off from uphill ONE DAY BEFORE MY TP. and refuses to let me practise more. end up the 2nd time I did it was during the warm-up in the circuit and third time was during the TP itself. Can't help but think that his absent-mindedness is a result of his drinking habits (see below). and 2 days before the TP he got into an accident end up I had to drive some old car from his insurance company, where the brake is unresponsive, hard to engage gear and the half-clutch point is alot higher, more like 3/4 clutch pt. and on the day of TP itself it was raining so so heavily. like telling me that everything is well set up for my perfect failure haha.

anyway i only know this instructor as Mr Lim, always meet and drop off at chinese garden mrt station. 66 years old, he's quite tanned and thin, driving a grey mitsubishi lancer. the worst thing is he drinks alcohol EVERYDAY, EVEN WHILE TEACHING. there were many instances where he made me stop by some coffeeshop so he could go get some alcohol in before continuing. now i dunno whether I shud continue taking lessons under him or change an instructor. cos now i know my main problems are my blind spots and the tester said while he could not pass me, there was actually nothing fundamentally wrong abt my driving skills and techniques. how? any suggestions whether i shud continue under him?

I think you know your answer to your own question la..

Anw, my answer is CHANGE INSTRUCTOR IMMEDIATELY.

Drinking alcohol while teaching? And he would have to drive after your lesson.. it's no wonder why he got into an accident.. I don't see why you should even hesitate firing him as your instructor! Many even report him to TP. No point risking your life learning from an alcoholic.

hellohello777

dont engage with william, 90215833. he teach manual, pick at yck, registered in ubi. very dishonest. he will cheat your money. wont let u pass, will keep u as a student forever.

J.M.FireZ

hi... has any1 engaged Mr.Ong (if i didn't remmeber wrongly) before??
http://forums.keeptouch.net/archive/index.php/t-52157.html

anyway... i'm looking for a class 3 manual instructor..
prefer to meet at bukit batok mrt or at my house which is at bukit batok too...

any intro?
If any1 has lessons with mr.ong as per mentioned above, mind give some review?
I prefer instructor who DON'T sleep, give name, or ass attitude...

kindly advise ya... nice, patience instructor highly welcome to intro..

thanks a lot..

NWT1978

dont engage with william, 90215833. he teach manual, pick at yck, registered in ubi. very dishonest. he will cheat your money. wont let u pass, will keep u as a student forever.

if u are not stable enough... how u pass? beside pass or not depend on you stable or not and the TP and not him

zuldevil

which mr ong r u all referring abt? i'm considering mr ong as my pte instructor as i'm taking auto at bbdc.

This Mr Ong is from Regent Driving Centre. His contact is 98587573. leonard90 said his gf said that Mr Ong is good. lol. I can't vouch for him though.

Hi all, have anyone took lessons with Mr Neo (xxxx7207) @ BBDC? Got super fed up with this guy during my second lesson. BTW, how long did you guys take to master the clutch? Its only my 2nd lesson and he scolded me all the way. Called me names summore. Then halfway into the lesson, he decided to "give up" on me. Tell me I can do wtever I want for the rest of the lesson, cos "I teach u wt u also dun listen". So I ok lo. I drive myself around Gombak. Din crash or stall e car at all cos he kept quiet all the way so i can drive in peace. (First half he kept shouting so I stalled like 3 times). Mastered turning the car by recalling wt my bf taught me over e weekend. So tts the crap I got from this instructor. Ready to ditch him anytime. BTW he still got the cheek to ask me when I wan my next lesson.. @!$#%#$%

Having said that, any patient manual instructor @ BBDC to recommend? BTW scold pple nvm, but at least must tell pple wt is the right way to do it right... And most imptly, no calling of names pls.. Who does he tink he is! I'm paying for e lesson ok..

Thanks guys.

Looking for Class 3 Manual private instructors ard bbdc! thanks =D

hi... has any1 engaged Mr.Ong (if i didn't remmeber wrongly) before??
http://forums.keeptouch.net/archive/index.php/t-52157.html

anyway... i'm looking for a class 3 manual instructor..
prefer to meet at bukit batok mrt or at my house which is at bukit batok too...

any intro?
If any1 has lessons with mr.ong as per mentioned above, mind give some review?
I prefer instructor who DON'T sleep, give name, or ass attitude...

kindly advise ya... nice, patience instructor highly welcome to intro..

thanks a lot..

busy_listening, spiritualjoy and J.M.FireZ, refer to this post http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=44427145&postcount=535 for my recommendation. :D

Hi guys,

I'm here to gladly recommend my private driving instructor to you guys. As I've mentioned in a previous post, I enrolled with Regent Driving Centre, and one of the instructors I got (and stuck with), was Mr Yeo.

He's a damn patient instructor, and is a very reasonable man. He doesn't scold or nag, but he points out my errors and has a conversation with me about it. Some instructors only see things from their point of view, but Mr Yeo tries to see things from the students' perspectives as well, and goes out of his way to help me understand what I'm doing wrong.

For all that, and for the fact that I just passed my driving test just now on my first attempt, I will gladly recommend to you to learn from Mr Yeo. :)

Meeting point is at Bukit Gombak MRT station, and the test centre is at BBDC. The car is a manual transmission Honda City. His handphone number is 81833232. If he asks you to call Regent Driving Centre to book appointments (I started out this way), then go ahead and call the guy in charge, Mr Ong at 98587573, but specify that you want to learn from Mr Yeo.

Now go give Mr Yeo a call and tell him Zul sent ya. :D

All the best, guys!

Edit : Have to thank leonard90 as well, for recommending me to call Mr Ong, even though I didn't learn from him in the end. Thanks leonard90! :)

I hope you have ditched that instructor, busy_listening! Sounds very effed up!

zuldevil

I don't think you even need to ask! Run and never turn back! And please report him to the police. Crazy, sia.

J.M.FireZ

This Mr Ong is from Regent Driving Centre. His contact is 98587573. leonard90 said his gf said that Mr Ong is good. lol. I can't vouch for him though.

busy_listening, spiritualjoy and J.M.FireZ, refer to this post http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=44427145&postcount=535 for my recommendation. :D

I hope you have ditched that instructor, busy_listening! Sounds very effed up!

yo bro..thz for e intro...just sms-ed him..
hopefully he does pick up at bukit batok mrt...
thanks a lot!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.