Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

mypillowtalks

Just passed today

My Instructor: Teck Kiat Ong | Facebook
Class 3 Private, Red Mitsubishi Lancer GLX MANUAL

Fees: $28/Hour, $30/Hour Peak/Sat/Sun/Public Holiday/Normal days after 5pm. $50 Enrollment fee

Circuit price as of recent: $34/Hour.
Note: He usually ask Mr Seow Eng Wah to take his students for circuit practice if he cannot get circuit.

PDI for Bukit Batok Driving Center

Overall not bad la, i took TP at 10+ lesson but fail, after 20+ lesson pass liao. He will scold, but only at your mistake, he really say until the source of your mistake so u wont do it.

xternity

Looking for any good private driving instructor to recommend near CCK

Currently looking for driving instructor near CCK , please SIC contacts for any Driving instructor.

jacejace

yes, im under him and i passed my tp today. just tt he always tell me tt i'm going to hit the kerb when im right in the center of the lane and he will force you to practise till you know how to do it.

can PM me the contact pls~~~ hmm he really nice mah??

prtscn

Nowadays more people take up school or private? i know its a bit biased to be asking such qn in this thread =:p

mypillowtalks

Nowadays more people take up school or private? i know its a bit biased to be asking such qn in this thread =:p

Not bias la. As learners we all want the more bang for buck mah.

It depends, most of my group of friends took private instructor instead as most of their friends+my friends spend $1K++ to get a license. It is cheaper compared to learning from school, which usually amount up to $2.1K++

Private instructor charge $26-$30/hour manual, off peak hours | $30-$32/hour, peak hours.
School charge at about $66 for 100 minute of lesson, off peak hours | $75/100minute, peak hours.

From what i see, normal people just need about 1 hour of driving every lesson, and occasional 1.5 hours of lesson if he/she wants to go circuit to practice. Thus they don't need to go for the 100 minute/ lesson the school offers.

However, school students get to use the circuit(Which is a 50% of the TP test) every lesson free of charge, while private instructors need to book a slot for you to get into circuit. Usually an hour of practice on the circuit cost $32-$34/hour on top of your usual fees.
This is where the trouble comes, there are stories about private instructors not being able to book a slot for circuit. Note that 1 hour in the circuit does not mean u will get full 1 hour, sometimes the circuit is packed with lots of cars, u need to wait for your turn, and sometimes your instructor may ask u go out earlier.

My friend also says that school instructors are more willing to teach properly than some(not all) of the private instructors. However, some school instructors are mostly young, and do not have the amount of experience some private instructor has.
One of the school instructor(look like 20+ years old) from BBDC was my private instructor's students. My instructor started teaching in the 80s, some started in the 70s.

Hope i have enough points for u to consider whether u wan school or private. I will still recommend private instructor, as i believe it's sufficient to get your license. Of cos the private instructor must be decent, not those that dun teach and keep scolding

apple2687

Anybody had learn from Ah huat, 9366 5252? BBDC area.

Need more reviews about his teaching! Heard from my friend that he's good but he charges quite high. Around 60+ per 100minutes

tgmlke

dear kind souls,

I've looked thru afew websites and found some private instructors.

1. Soon Tien Driving School
2. Mr. Steven Sim
3. Mr. Luo Liang So
4. Mr. Loh @ 96170741
5. Newman Driving Instructor @ 62829253
6. Mr. Lee Liak Hong
7. Mr. Seow Eng Wah
8. Mr. CHUA TIAM HWEE @ 96523770

Can i know which of the above is more reliable?
When i looked at the past reply of this thread, afew of the above were said to be reliable and good. But when i looked at the passing rate thru TP website, the passing rate was only around 40+%..

Can any kind soul give some advise?
Prefer ang mo kio, toa payoh, potong pasir or eunos area.
Class 3A..

Thanks alot.
=)

lousydk

Not bias la. As learners we all want the more bang for buck mah.

It depends, most of my group of friends took private instructor instead as most of their friends+my friends spend $1K++ to get a license. It is cheaper compared to learning from school, which usually amount up to $2.1K++

Private instructor charge $26-$30/hour manual, off peak hours | $30-$32/hour, peak hours.
School charge at about $66 for 100 minute of lesson, off peak hours | $75/100minute, peak hours.

From what i see, normal people just need about 1 hour of driving every lesson, and occasional 1.5 hours of lesson if he/she wants to go circuit to practice. Thus they don't need to go for the 100 minute/ lesson the school offers.

However, school students get to use the circuit(Which is a 50% of the TP test) every lesson free of charge, while private instructors need to book a slot for you to get into circuit. Usually an hour of practice on the circuit cost $32-$34/hour on top of your usual fees.
This is where the trouble comes, there are stories about private instructors not being able to book a slot for circuit. Note that 1 hour in the circuit does not mean u will get full 1 hour, sometimes the circuit is packed with lots of cars, u need to wait for your turn, and sometimes your instructor may ask u go out earlier.

My friend also says that school instructors are more willing to teach properly than some(not all) of the private instructors. However, some school instructors are mostly young, and do not have the amount of experience some private instructor has.
One of the school instructor(look like 20+ years old) from BBDC was my private instructor's students. My instructor started teaching in the 80s, some started in the 70s.

Hope i have enough points for u to consider whether u wan school or private. I will still recommend private instructor, as i believe it's sufficient to get your license. Of cos the private instructor must be decent, not those that dun teach and keep scolding

Experience is nothing if they don't have the attitude or passion to teach and some is outright a scam just like what my friend encounters, totally never learn about slope when going for TP test.
All school instructors are well trained before they take on the job and the school regulates them based on feedback on students. Private instructor can have good and bad but most of the time i heard from my friends are negative, I believe is due to their complacency as nowadays they are the only ones that have the private instructor license and no one else already.

My advice is only that, if you can afford, go school. Because at least it's guaranteed that you will learn all the things required as all lesson plans are already made known to you beforehand.
And bbdc seems to be more expensive lol, ssdc charge around 70 or so for 2 hours lesson, all their lessons are fixed at 2 hrs, good is that can drive until you shiok haha

prtscn

Hmm would perfer to go to cdc at ubi cause its more convenient for me. Would that still affect my choice? Are the instructors at ubi cdc exceptionally good/bad?

lousydk

Hmm would perfer to go to cdc at ubi cause its more convenient for me. Would that still affect my choice? Are the instructors at ubi cdc exceptionally good/bad?

shouldn't have much problems if learning from cdc

mypillowtalks

1. Soon Tien Driving School

7. Mr. Seow Eng Wah

Can any kind soul give some advise?
Prefer ang mo kio, toa payoh, potong pasir or eunos area.
Class 3A..

Thanks alot.
=)

1) You can google search "soon tien driving school review" as there are some reviews about this school.

7) Mr Seow taught me circuit+road once when my instructor can't get a circuit. Mr Seow teaches at BBDC ( bukit gombak area) and drives a Mitsubishi Lancer GLX Manual. So im not sure if he teaches Auto.

You can try calling Mr seow at 9111 0909.

During my lesson with Mr Seow, he seems quite good, he will tell me im not very steady with the steering wheel(im still not steady now), i should wait when there is car in certain lane, i turn too late, see very close to kerb. During circuit he sometimes will get out of his car to smoke(maybe some of his students dun like smoking?)

Oh ya i heard from my instructor that Mr seow is not so packed already as he dun need work so hard to feed his family liao. But that may mean he will leave some more time for his family

b777300w

Hi, I am not sure if this question is asked before. Have anyone learnt from Mr Soh Guan Hong, Ubi? I know he asks other instructors to teach. But is it advisable to learn from him? Because the allocated PDI is giving me problems with booking lessons.

Another question, my TP date is already booked with Mr Soh/ the allocated instructor, if I would like to change instructors, can I still do it without changing my TP date? I am from Ubi, cdc.

Many thanks.. :):)

Windicator

Hi. I'm looking for a decent private instructor(Manual) for SSDC, preferably in the north region. Any recommendations?

BigBuddha

Refresher Course

hi all,

just want to share that I had my driving license 20 years ago, and had not been driving since.

recently went on a refresher course thru a PDI - Mr Loh found from a website. He turned out to be quite good. Elderly man but rather patience. The thing I like is he allowed me to venture onto busy roads on my second lessons with him.

On my second lesson, pick up at Clementi MRT, I drove from there to Tanah Merah --> Chinatown --> Bugis --> Geylang --> Paya Lebar --> Upper Paya Lebar -- > AMK and back to Clementi.

Third lesson, I was driving on PIE, and learn roundabouts.

This is so different from a PDI I engaged last year, also thru website. On the first lesson, I was only marking rounds in a small carpark for an hour. Thereafter my package price was forfeited because it exceed the booking period of 3 weeks : (

Bottomline is... better to check with the PDI on how he plan to teach you, then you decide if it is worthwhile to continue with that PDI.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.