Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

Jinnous

Hi jinnous, any review on the instructor? Looking for refresher course too.

Hihi.. sorry for the late reply. I would say quite good, considering I nvr drove for like almost 10 yrs. I took 3 lessons. First, familiarization, 2nd parking, 3rd highway. After that I continue to drive with my father sitting beside me. Hehe... bad move he was nagging from start to destination until I was so pek che. Haha... but I made it on my own with my bb on CNY eve and 1st day on the busy highway and heavy rain.

Hope this helps!

kikigi

Please take note of this driving instructor:
NG BENG CHOON, He has a percentage on the TP site of:
NG BENG CHOON 29 16 55.17%

Before i even enrolled into his lessons, we agreeded on 3-4times a week lesson as long as i advance booking. I even told him i am rushing for my lessons and license as i will be giving birth soon so i will need lessons 3-4times a week. Once i comfirmed going to his lesson, i used his IC to book TP Date.

Despite me trying to advance book but he kept delaying, and refuse to let me advance book. The maximum i could book from him is 2times a week and most of the time once a week.In the end i always end up with those "weird" timings like 7am. NEVER MIND.

When i ask him last week when would i be learning parking as my dad was concerned on why i havent learn parking yet when my Traffic Police Test date is on 1 November. He flew into a rage and say i cant drive properly yet want to learn parking. Say my dad so celver ask him to teach me. I dont need to teach him how to teach. All these words are quoted word to word from him.

I wanted more lessons from him and he just tell me come weekday morning/noon. I told him its very hard for me to come weekday morning/noon as i have kids and i need someone to help me take care kids while i go for lessons. Then he said i also very hard because i have so many students. Im doing a business. Then i told him how about advance booking+ payment so if i put his aeroplane he can keep the amount. He refused.

So, my husband called him up and verify about early booking for my driving lessons. He replied that he gave two lessons a week, how is it not enough. Then he told him that as my TP is approaching, he was very angry and said that he didnt like my husband attitude when i can vouch that he talked nicely to him. And this instructor shouted at him over the phone saying I didnt even ask you to book your TP date.

And he then said he didnt like his attitude of talking to him when he talked to him nicely. And my husband was very angry and told him you are the boss but im the customer, i have the right to ask. Then he said, you are the customer so what? And said again i dont like your attitude, i very dulan*all these he said in teochew* . He even provoke my husband and me to go down where he is to "talk". He said this in teochew
"You dont talk to me like this, i very dulan, you come down now and talk".

PLEASE BEWARE OF THIS GANGSTER LIKE INSTUCTOR, NG BENG CHOON,HP NUMBER 90085050, DRIVING BLACK HONDA CITI, CAR NUMBER s5050 . If you are like me seeing his percentage, TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK. BE PREPARED TO END UP LIKE ME.

Not Steady! Cant deliver what he promise! Im very sure that he dont even intend to let me go TP! NOW i`m screwed, My TP in 3 weeks and I HAVE TO FIND A NEW INSTRUCTOR!!

This instructor teaches in BBDC!
PLEASE BEWARE OF THIS GANGSTER LIKE INSTUCTOR, NG BENG CHOON,HP NUMBER 90085050, DRIVING BLACK HONDA CITI, CAR NUMBER s5050
. If you are like me seeing his percentage, TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK. BE PREPARED TO END UP LIKE ME.

i no pdi to recommend but would like to warn everyone from going to the above mentioned pdi.
didnt cross my mind to search forums before choosing a pdi and went with him, and i really regretted it.

some things i experienced :

- he goes for break of 10-15mins every lesson without fail, and always end lessons early by 15 mins

- answers to questions i asked were vague most of the time.

- never bothered to tell me things like must check blind spots when turning/ parking until 2 lessons before tp.

- after he made error judgements on road he gets angry when questioned, thought i was suaning him. ends in a verbal fight.

- he is a wayang king. when we went circuit during bbdc's lunch break he did nothing, then when testers arrive he will suddenly act as if he's doing a lot of teaching.
when we walked to the 2nd floor for tp he was not happy i ask him things like do i need to find him later for the car keys and replied me with 'ask so much for what?'. but when we got to the traffic police area he started to act like he's a good mentor and informed in a rather loud voice the flow during tp and best of all he ended with 'so you got anything to ask?'.

- a few lessons before tp demands deposit, when questioned if it was the norm he got nasty and gave crap like 'this is how i do things, not happy no need come anymore'. just before tp then say deposit not used for tp, 'it's how i do things'. after tp called him to return deposit, he hung up and been avoiding my calls ever since.

by the way his latest passing rate from traffic police site :
NG BENG CHOON_19_4_21.05%

Sincerely hope our posts will help prevent any others from wasting their money on this sorry excuse for an instructor.

that being said, i failed my tp. anybody has a good manual bbdc pdi to recommend? :s12:

galant22

Lim Boon Seng Driving School

I am using my husband's account. I'm just here to share my own experience with Lim Boon Seng Driving School. My TP is in March, another 2 weeks+ time. Till now, I have YET to go into circuit. When I enquired about it yesterday night, Mr Lim told me that I will not be going into circuit so early. (Is it early to go into circuit now when my test is 2 weeks later??) I will only go into circuit nearer to my test date. I asked him how many circuit training sessions I will have. To my horror, he replied once, max twice. I asked him how long each session is. He replied one hour each time. I am a FIRST TIMER. I seriously have NO idea how I can PASS my TP when I only one or max two circuit sessions. I asked around and I gathered that most people have about 6sessions in circuit. My friends explained to me that when I am in circuit, I have to queue as there are other cars inside too. With the waiting time, after 2-3 tries at each station, I probably need about 3 sessions to really have sufficient practice. I saw his own circuit. Frankly speaking, the circuit is nothing like the school's circuit. Even if I am very good in his circuit ( which I have not had a chance to practise there yet) , it does not mean I will be well prepared in the actual circuit.

I am very upset as I have booked my TP as early as November last year. I had to "remind" Cheryl, his attitude and rude assistant, that my TP is coming. Not to mention, I have to pay $100 enrollment fee (which is much higher than the usual $50 I read in this forum). Yet, this is the kind of service I get.

After a night's of consideration, I decide to change instructor as I simply do not like the idea of going for a test which I am ill prepared for. Changing instructor at this crucial timing is a difficult decision. I feel cheated.

I want to warn everyone here about LIM BOON SENG DRIVING SCHOOL.

The fees/ session are a little more expensive. The enrollment fee of $100 is more than the rest. The service (from his assistant) is fuxk up. Most importantly, you will be receiving ONE or MAX TWO circuit training prior to your TP. Not to mention, my booking was messed up several times. I waited at Gombak for 15 minutes only to realise my booking was not recorded. I missed out several lessons as my booking was not recorded. ( I have sms evidence.) I received calls saying I did not turn up when I DID NOT book.

cyloneboy

Seriously i feel that there is no really good or best PDI, since that day i post also cant get any answer from the forum as well..

Wonder those honest and willing to teach instructor where they goes? Haiz

ZhuTou!

Seriously i feel that there is no really good or best PDI, since that day i post also cant get any answer from the forum as well..

Wonder those honest and willing to teach instructor where they goes? Haiz

sometimes its not that we dun wanna reco pdi
people here keep posting contacts and new people keep coming in asking the same question
how many times we need to keep replying the same answer?

if u have the "heart" to search this thread, u will find ALOT of pdi contacts inside
the problem is whether u have the "heart" anot :o

Ragga_Hippo

Woah....after reading all your horror stories, looks like its really hard to find a good PDI.
think i'm lucky to a certain extend.

Mine actually work in partnership with another instructor.
Initial lessons are by his partner, lets call him Mr. T

Mr. T, allowed me to drive almost straight away on my first lesson (I did not have any prior experience, totally new to driving), he showed me the basics then let me drive around in a carpark, before asking me to drive outside to the roads...the first lesson was pretty good, he also teach me 3-point turn and basic parking.

After that basically 75% of all the lessons i'm doing parking...parallel and vertical, did not have much driving outside and changing lane (which i'm very weak at), it became very routine.
Most of the time Mr. T, would fall asleep once we reach the carpark and I started doing my parking.........it was quite boring.........but I also became quite good at parking......so not sure if I should be complaining.......

Towards my test, the main PDI, lets call him Mr. O, took over from Mr. T
Boy! it was a world of difference, Mr. O is damn good and he does not take pee breaks (at least not during my lessons anyway, Mr. T pee break quite standard 10-15mins every lesson)

Mr. O is very professional, he explains things very clearly, draws charts and stuff (Mr.T not very good at explain things...)
And I can feel he genuinely wants me to understand and pass my test, because he is very busy sometimes my lesson with him can be late like 10pm to 11pm or 11.30pm but he doesn't mind......

If he had started teaching me earlier I probably wont need to take so many lessons from Mr. T and would have saved some $$$

He teaches Auto, BBDC.

Hi Pls give me his contact numbet

NertCY

Wld like to share my experience with PDI Mr Phang Yok Phut (passing rate 25.71% BBDC)

Was told i need to be ready before i could book my tp (standard technique by PDIs prolly). as u guys all noe, private candidates are given less priority as compared to sch, so by the time tp was booked, i took a total of 9 months and extended my pdl twice. True that most PDIs have a wealth of knowledge but tat depends on whether they willing to share. from army take lsns till ORD still haven take tp. All the parking skills he imparted could be condensed in just 3 lessons yet i took >40 lsns. most of my lessons were driven on th road to "boost my confidence". Took my TP ytd. before my TP, PDI arranged revision lessons. In total, there were 3 circuit practices (nt enuf fr slow learners like me) Revision supposed to build ur confidence rite. bt my PDI keep gan me, telling me not to do this, not to do that. explanations oso not clear and that made me stressed out. explanations mostly vague and nvr even did a 1x good circuit before leaving. bobian i tell myself tp in 2 hrs, now thn u tell me all these, how to pass?? during my lesson, he went back to take his medicine and took ~10mins. apparently he is sick but u cant let it affect ur work. tats nt professional. true enuf, i failed my tp coz i mounted kerb and raked up so many points (if this is O lvl, can go jump alr) Aft tp, he was on th phone and seems to be in a rush. dint manage to talk to him or call him and he just zao alr. mayb he doesnt noe i failed. nvr heard from him since i failed and tat is very irresponsible. all in all, he is very patient. so patient and so slow tat u can expect to take arnd 40 lessons before u are rdy fr tp. a risk tat private students take and sadly th worst realities came true. so moral of the story; do thorough research into ur PDIs and glad tat forums like this bring light to lousy PDIs.​

ninja_tuner

Wld like to share my experience with PDI Mr Phang Yok Phut (passing rate 25.71% BBDC)

Was told i need to be ready before i could book my tp (standard technique by PDIs prolly). as u guys all noe, private candidates are given less priority as compared to sch, so by the time tp was booked, i took a total of 9 months and extended my pdl twice. True that most PDIs have a wealth of knowledge but tat depends on whether they willing to share. from army take lsns till ORD still haven take tp. All the parking skills he imparted could be condensed in just 3 lessons yet i took >40 lsns. most of my lessons were driven on th road to "boost my confidence". Took my TP ytd. before my TP, PDI arranged revision lessons. In total, there were 3 circuit practices (nt enuf fr slow learners like me) Revision supposed to build ur confidence rite. bt my PDI keep gan me, telling me not to do this, not to do that. explanations oso not clear and that made me stressed out. explanations mostly vague and nvr even did a 1x good circuit before leaving. bobian i tell myself tp in 2 hrs, now thn u tell me all these, how to pass?? during my lesson, he went back to take his medicine and took ~10mins. apparently he is sick but u cant let it affect ur work. tats nt professional. true enuf, i failed my tp coz i mounted kerb and raked up so many points (if this is O lvl, can go jump alr) Aft tp, he was on th phone and seems to be in a rush. dint manage to talk to him or call him and he just zao alr. mayb he doesnt noe i failed. nvr heard from him since i failed and tat is very irresponsible. all in all, he is very patient. so patient and so slow tat u can expect to take arnd 40 lessons before u are rdy fr tp. a risk tat private students take and sadly th worst realities came true. so moral of the story; do thorough research into ur PDIs and glad tat forums like this bring light to lousy PDIs.​

sad to hear that, I took about 20 lessons already feel it is a lot...
if the PDI teach properly I think about 15-20 lessons is definitely enough to pass....
Hope you pass on your next attempt! Good Luck!

bbishan

is this phang yok phut number 82869031? at cck bbdc

cos i learnt from 1 mr phang also. super suky. dont recommend learning from him.

remember guys dont learn from MR Phang, number 82869031 from cck bbdc.

drove 22 lessons, learn 1 reverse parking, no circuit and 14 more days to TP !!!! GGGGGG to me

mypillowtalks

Anyway recommend my instructor again:

My instructor: http://www.facebook.com/teckkiat.ong
Handphone: 93832788
BBDC Class 3 Private, Driving Red Mitsubishi Lancer GLX MR Manual
$28/Hour Non-Peak, $30/Hour Peak(After 5pm/sat/sun/public holiday)
Circuit he charge me $34/hour, last time is $32.
1st TP car rental w approx 1.5 hours practice $236.
2nd TP rental up to $258

Rates as of August 2012

Not bad instructor, only scold u for mistake
Can pass la, he have heart and passion to teach. He also quite 随便. Payment sometimes i also drag a few lessons

He will let you drive to the point of almost make mistake then tell you about it. He will let you drive yourself make mistake let you realise where went wrong.

Once i turn into a small 2 lane road too fast and almost bang into taxi, he already prepare one leg going to step brake liao. U turn i also almost bang into other car, filter lane also almost bang car.

Slope i gei kiang no handbrake roll back also try before.

If i never make this kind of mistakes i will not gain the experience

I took TP after only 10 lessons, but i failed, take till about 20 plus lesson can pass liao. I learnt parking on the 2nd to 4th lessons, reaching TP i keep ask him every lesson take out the wooden planks to put on floor to let me practice.

He never pull those stuns/find excuses to not teach you parking(Unless 1st lesson la) Sometimes on 1 hour lesson i drive 1/2 on the test routes, 15 mins learn parking also.

Blate

Anyone had learn from this instructor? Frankie Yue

Nobody has feedback on him? He teach at CDC, found only 1 instructor will surname Yue with passing rate not bad 54.55%. Not sure if I should go ahead and learn from him :(

doedoe

Woah....after reading all your horror stories, looks like its really hard to find a good PDI.
think i'm lucky to a certain extend.

Mine actually work in partnership with another instructor.
Initial lessons are by his partner, lets call him Mr. T

Mr. T, allowed me to drive almost straight away on my first lesson (I did not have any prior experience, totally new to driving), he showed me the basics then let me drive around in a carpark, before asking me to drive outside to the roads...the first lesson was pretty good, he also teach me 3-point turn and basic parking.

After that basically 75% of all the lessons i'm doing parking...parallel and vertical, did not have much driving outside and changing lane (which i'm very weak at), it became very routine.
Most of the time Mr. T, would fall asleep once we reach the carpark and I started doing my parking.........it was quite boring.........but I also became quite good at parking......so not sure if I should be complaining.......

Towards my test, the main PDI, lets call him Mr. O, took over from Mr. T
Boy! it was a world of difference, Mr. O is damn good and he does not take pee breaks (at least not during my lessons anyway, Mr. T pee break quite standard 10-15mins every lesson)

Mr. O is very professional, he explains things very clearly, draws charts and stuff (Mr.T not very good at explain things...)
And I can feel he genuinely wants me to understand and pass my test, because he is very busy sometimes my lesson with him can be late like 10pm to 11pm or 11.30pm but he doesn't mind......

If he had started teaching me earlier I probably wont need to take so many lessons from Mr. T and would have saved some $$$

He teaches Auto, BBDC.

Can pm mr O contact thx.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.