[Rent Seeking Economy] what value add exactly does a Property Agent provide? Are they leeches?

singkeeduakee

I am trying very hard to find exactly what value add does a property agent give.

I know engineer can solve problems, innovate, lean out a process.

Even security guard i know provide a certain value to ppl check in and out of building.

But property agent? Fill up form? Open door tell you sun rise is this direction, sun set other direction?

The $ they get too unproportionally big for value they give. E.g sell a condo 800k, seller pay 2% which $32k!! $32k for filling forms, bring buyer see the condo, tell buyer got school around, sun rise this direction????

I really struggle to see any other description for them except being leeches of economy. Exactly blood sucking leeches

Kunkka

Still provide more than landlord. They at least provide a service. Landlord have revenue share just Becuz they can

Vezelover

I am trying very hard to find exactly what value add does a property agent give.

Even security guard i know provide a certain value to ppl check in and out of building.

But property agent? Fill up form? Open door tell you sun rise is this direction, sun set other direction?

The $ they get too unproportionally big for value they give.

I really struggle to see any other description for them except being leeches of economy. Exactly blood sucking leeches
They also like to humble brag and spread greed and fear

Strikk

Seller engage agent to market the place. Usually successful people hire agent to do things becos time is money and they understand spending some money to make more money lo.

Lem_Koek_Far

provide a solution to laziness lo....like grab food, you can go downstairs buy food yourself but because lazy , choose to order grabfood

might be possible DIY when you purchase or sell a property but more mafan maybe

MatrixFanatic

Being an agent is typical of a Sinkie. THis is why Sinkieland has no value and productivity and is going to be very irrelevant unless we keep importing foreigners.

EMPt1ness

Mai siaosiao. Moi see these yp agents drive big cars and stay condo.

SGMale

Find quality clients for chu. I tried many agents, bad ones will ask you to sell fast, so they can get their commission fast.

Good agent will find the right client who's willing to pay your asking price.

item2sell

Mai siaosiao. Moi see these yp agents drive big cars and stay condo.

Its recurring income.

1million condo sale. 2% commission. 20k.
500k HDB sale. 1% commission 5k.
Rental. 0.5% commission every yearly renewal.

how not to be rich.

Dark.Horizon

unfortunately, although govt can introduce things like redfin or even make a govtech alternative and exterminate these useless agents, but then these leeches will be out of jobs. Will cause more problems in the long term. same goes for insurance agents.

if not you think govt will allow these property or insurance scum to huat meh?

Lesser evil if you ask me. do your part. buy only what you really need and don't support the arrogant ones.

Sent by a cotton-making sheep

bwaysaikryptonite

Do paperwork and “help” seller sell a property which hard to sell by doing fake photo shoot and video to beautify teh ad etc ?

should

Housing agents provide farkall value add.

A real agent should work for you - you state your requirements, and off they go, looking for properties that fit the specs.

But here in SG the agents work for themselves, they try to sell you what they have., full stop.

Too ******* lazy to look for properties meeting your needs.

focus1974

The $ they get too unproportionally big for value they give. E.g sell a condo 800k, seller pay 2% which $32k!! $32k for filling forms, bring buyer see the condo, tell buyer got school around, sun rise this direction????

same thing as a bank RM ..

Dark.Horizon

Bite the bullet and think long term la. Thought our govt always love market efficiency?

then what will they do about these ah beng ah lian doing insurance and buying big house and car?

they won't give up that lifestyle to do normal jobs. will lead to problems imo. I think that's why govt just close eye let these leeches be

Sent by a cotton-making sheep

Roundtreex

Jjww but they still earning big bucks. Joke on TS.

MrFish

Good agents can help people like you.

Paper work is the easy part. Good agents can help you negotiate lower buying price, or sell at good price, help you manage troublesome tenants. Advise you when a particular property is a good buy or not based on their experience. In your case, also can tell you that 2% of 800k is not 32k.

For the latest round of my property purchase, I dealt with a good seller agent who managed to drive the price up to well beyond the fair price and sold the house quickly. I dropped out of the game cos I am price disciplined.

I eventually met a cock seller agent for another house. Totally didn’t know how to negotiate and play his cards. I ended up getting the house for $200k less than what I was willing to pay.

Sad to say, most agents are cock. Even the ‘successful’ ones. Those even worse. Treat you as money making tool. Have to eyes open big big and get recommendations to get the really good ones.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.