Repair graphics card

singaporean

My dual fan Palit GTX1060 graphics card suddenly no display and fan not turning. Its probably out of warranty.

Does agent provide repair service by sending to factory? If yes, how much?

Are there alternatives to try to repair instead of just throwing it away?

Koenig168

I doubt the distro will handle out of warranty claims.

Even if you can find a third party to repair, the cost will likely exceed what the GPU is worth.

My dual fan Palit GTX1060 graphics card suddenly no display and fan not turning. Its probably out of warranty.
Does agent provide repair service by sending to factory? If yes, how much?
Are there alternatives to try to repair instead of just throwing it away?

gg liao lah you.
now GPU all sibei exp.
last time moi RMA my 5 year Warranty Zotac also took over 2 months for them to ship and repair.

86technie

Find second hand GTX 1060 but most now take advantage of the situation to sell high.

trenzterra

I doubt the distro will handle out of warranty claims.

Even if you can find a third party to repair, the cost will likely exceed what the GPU is worth.
Think is... The GPU might be worth close to what he paid for it last time lol in today's market

peterchan75

Can consider getting Ryzen 5700G. cpu + mobo + ram ~ $900. Upgrade to a better gpu later.

86technie

2nd hand market all ish chop carrot price...
not worth...

For those who not aware, you be surprise cards like GTX 1050 some sell around $200. (Not TI the normal one.)
GTX1060 around $300 for 3GB while the 6GB one as high as $500.

tracerguy

For those who not aware, you be surprise cards like GTX 1050 some sell around $200. (Not TI the normal one.)
can the 5600g as good as GTX1050?
I feel like buying the processor and dont wish to buy a 2nd hand graphics card at carrot price..
take this opportunity to change com sua...
still on 2500k haha...

86technie

can the 5600g as good as GTX1050?
I feel like buying the processor and dont wish to buy a 2nd hand graphics card at carrot price..
take this opportunity to change com sua...
still on 2500k haha...
Oh.. Like that better change.
Not to mention Intel i5 2500k only supports PCIE2.0.
Newer graphic card not only be bottleneck by CPU but the PCEI 2.0 as well.
I still have a 2500K, tried PCIE 3.0 cards on it doesn't perform that as fast on a faster Intel pc with pcie3 0.

trenzterra

You mean new set? I paid like 330 for my 6GB gtx 1060 like four years ago lol

Just checked: it was 386, then with qoo10 cart coupon I saved about 50 bucks. And it was almost five years ago, on Dec 25 2016. Wow

NightRaven49

at $200 a better bet would be a gtx 970 or r9 290. possible to snag 1060 5gb (effectively same as 6gb) off taobao for under 300. sucks that we have to pay over 200 for these more than 5 yr old cards but they are pretty much the best budget cards available, everything else has basically doubled in price thanks to crypto.

86technie

at $200 a better bet would be a gtx 970 or r9 290. possible to snag 1060 5gb (effectively same as 6gb) off taobao for under 300. sucks that we have to pay over 200 for these more than 5 yr old cards but they are pretty much the best budget cards available, everything else has basically doubled in price thanks to crypto.

Exactly I have watching the prices on Caurosell for sometime sadly second hand prices are high.
I don't like those who sell weaker cards like GTX1050 or GTX7XX series for more than $200.
Nvidia already cease support for GTX7XX so meaning future games it won't be able to support.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.