Replacement PC speakers

derrickgoh

So finally after all these years Klipsch Promedia GMX A-2.1 has uplorried. At first I thought the iMac's speaker port was spoilt but when I plugged in my ear phones it worked.

Guess its time to find a replacement speaker which is tough cos I know the GMX A-2.1 was probably the best PC speaker.

What would you folks recommend? Klipsch promedia 2.1? Logitech Z625? Sonicgear Titan 9? Powerful bass is my main consideration. TIA!

archyng

promedia again loh since its tested proven.

So finally after all these years Klipsch Promedia GMX A-2.1 has uplorried. At first I thought the iMac's speaker port was spoilt but when I plugged in my ear phones it worked.

Guess its time to find a replacement speaker which is tough cos I know the GMX A-2.1 was probably the best PC speaker.

What would you folks recommend? Klipsch promedia 2.1? Logitech Z625? Sonicgear Titan 9? Powerful bass is my main consideration. TIA!

wwenze

Public knowledge is saying GMX is worse than original Promedia. This is supported by the fact that GMX is discontinued while they brought back Promedia which is still sold today.

But as I wrote in the other thread, why not fix the GMX?

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
GMX was never the best 2.1 speaker. You might want to consider ProMedia 2.1. Same company.

wwenze

Swan m50w

Sent from Samsung Galaxy Note 8 using GAGT

A 1v1 between the two (as in the Promedia and not the discontinued-anyway GMX) would be interesting.

Their specs are very similar. Apart from the Klipsch having a crossover frequency of "why the **** is it so high" 5kHz (Although this might have changed, see https://community.klipsch.com/index...tes-internal-crossover-circuitry-differences/ ), and a polymer tweeter vs a aluminum tweeter in M50W.

And also the fact that M50W sells for double the price of Promedia in the USA.

poooooo

Might want to try to find places that you can audit that creative katana or kratos s5.

derrickgoh

GMX end of life liao klipsch will still fix meh? No space on my desk for sound bar. I dont have any demanding needs as im no audiophile. As long as bass is powerful that’s fine.

wwenze

You want bass... M3600D? 8-inch sub for $200 can bass until you song

Or the standard recommendation of z623 / z625

As for the GMX, I'm thinking of starting a service where I provide free repair service and you provide the parts cost. But in exchange, I'll get to review the product and the repair + review will take one month. I only take speakers that I have >50% confidence of fixing however.

jiarongljd

i just gotten Edifier USA e25 Luna Eclipse (white), find it quite ok leh, although it's 2.0, not sure if suits your need.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.