Replacing sliding door

Athrun88

2wqwpaw.jpg

Hi all,

I'm planning to convert this to a bedroom but right now it has a sliding door :s22:
Any idea who i can look for to convert this to a normal door entrance, that is to say cover the current sliding door area with wall+door?
Help appreciated, many thanks!

derrickgoh

So weird, what is the original space supposed to be for?

Anyway any general contractor should do. Its just a matter of bricking up the walls and putting in the door frame and door.

Athrun88

So weird, what is the original space supposed to be for?

Anyway any general contractor should do. Its just a matter of bricking up the walls and putting in the door frame and door.

I supposed it is a living/leisure room.

Tried a few door contractors, they don't do the bricking.. still trying now :(

Note: The stupid door is 2.7m tall =.=

derrickgoh

I supposed it is a living/leisure room.

Tried a few door contractors, they don't do the bricking.. still trying now :(

Note: The stupid door is 2.7m tall =.=
Door contractor can't lah. Need to be those general contractors who knock down walls. If they can knock down a wall, they can brick up a wall. :s13:

Chalkycliffs

Your picture is taken from inside the 'room' or outside?

Which is the area where the 'room' is? Where the table & chair is or where the windows are?

You have 3 options:

1) Find an approved HBD contractor to brick up the sides and install a door.

This will require HDB approval as the floor tiles around the area will have to be hacked (bricks must sit on the concrete floor).

The surrounding wall may also be partially hacked to tie in the new brickwork.

2) Find a carpenter to install a timber or metal stud frame, and surface it in plasterboard, install a door in the opening. May not require HDB's approval, but check first.

If you are worried about sound transmission, add insulation inside the stud framing before finishing with plasterboard.

3) Leave it as it is.

Option 1 will be messy and take longer.

Option 2 will be faster and less messy, but in the long run won't last as long. Slam the door too hard, it'll probably loosen from the frame (go see all those office partions in factories).

Option 3 is best when you cannot tahan the trouble of finding anybody to do this 'small' job. Whoever you get will jack-up the price because the job actually doesn't involve a lot of work.

Whatever you decide to do, check with HBD first before going ahead. If the work is not approved, they can force you to take it down.

Chalkycliffs

It can't be locked...:( I have no idea why HDB built it like this:s13:

Change the sliding door to one WITH a lock?

Ask a locksmith if it is possible to install a lock on the existing door?

Both these options are cheaper than filling up the opening with bricks and a new door.

derrickgoh

Or install a PD door lor. But I'm not sure if you can install that on a plasterboard or if you still need a proper wall with wooden door frame.

Chalkycliffs

Or install a PD door lor. But I'm not sure if you can install that on a plasterboard or if you still need a proper wall with wooden door frame.

You will need a timber or metal framing inside the plasterboard to support the boards and door + frame.

The movement of the door will rip out the mounting screws sooner or later if there is no internal framing support.

Athrun88

From outside of the room, the bottom of the door:
s63uvc.jpg

From inside of the room, the bottom of the door:
s4z6m8.jpg

1)The design of this door is...fantastic. Lock is located at the left side of the door but u can simply slide the right door to the left to enter the door via its right.
2)There are plenty of empty spaces to the right of door which serves no purpose :s22:

In view of these, that propel me to change this whole door :o

Chalkycliffs

Picture needs to be taken further back... you always take sooo close, hard to see the 'big' picture... :s13:

I know your intention is to make the space a bedroom, but have you thought about the habitable implications - is the space suitable?

From the way you are taking the photos, it seems that the space is really tight - like foreign worker dormitory... :s11:

Athrun88

Don't think it is that small when compare to current 4/5rm flat... roughly 4mx3m which equals to 12msquare? I don't on aircon while slping, thus i don't plan to swap e bigger study/entertainment rm for it (where a/c is used)

My aim is to change the door...that's why focus on it :o

derrickgoh

Don't think it is that small when compare to current 4/5rm flat... roughly 4mx3m which equals to 12msquare? I don't on aircon while slping, thus i don't plan to swap e bigger study/entertainment rm for it (where a/c is used)

My aim is to change the door...that's why focus on it :o
5 room flats have a so called "additional" area. Some people leave it open so the living area is larger. Others, wall it up (I've seen some use glass instead of bricks) and make it into a study. Could this be that area?

Athrun88

5 room flats have a so called "additional" area. Some people leave it open so the living area is larger. Others, wall it up (I've seen some use glass instead of bricks) and make it into a study. Could this be that area?

Sort of, old exec flat

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.