Reporting Suspicious thread. Possible stirring racial issue

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
We have closed the relevant discussion for now and we have issued a warning to the individual.

If he really made a police report, we should hear about it pretty soon.

Thanks for highlighting.

IBcatisbetter

We have closed the relevant discussion for now and we have issued a warning to the individual.

If he really made a police report, we should hear about it pretty soon.

Thanks for highlighting.

"It's OK! It's only race stirring, nothing serious. Just a warning should do."

Yup. That's moderating in Hardwarezone.

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
"It's OK! It's only race stirring, nothing serious. Just a warning should do."

Yup. That's moderating in Hardwarezone.

Since he is a new member of the forum, we typically issue a warning first. Should he toe out of the line, rest assure that we will take action. And should you come across similar racist threads, do report it like you have done so far. We will look at the contents and take action on it.

Hope that clarifies.

Thanks.

IBcatisbetter

Since he is a new member of the forum, we typically issue a warning first. Should he toe out of the line, rest assure that we will take action. And should you come across similar racist threads, do report it like you have done so far. We will look at the contents and take action on it.

Hope that clarifies.

Thanks.

You're welcome.

mgsten

Hope that clarifies.

Thanks.

hi bosssaizo,

y r repeated racial/religious stirrers/offenders allowed back in the forum after a ban? it's really puzzling.

since u guys r unable to stamp out racial/religious stirring, u guys shld juz open a new sub forum to discuss race and religion*. any thread created anywhere in hwz forum dat touches such subjects r moved to this sub forum. dan let the authorities do the monitoring and the mods can sit back to do the usual moderating elsewhere. anyone who post racial/religious threads other dan the intended sub forum, give out a straight ban lor.

think there r enuff threads for such sub forum. pls consider it.

* including terrorism stuff.

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
Hi everyone,

thanks for flagging up all these issues for us and we do appreciate everyone's efforts to be our eyes in our forum.

However, we would also appreciate if everyone can take note of their tonality in the feedback forum. This section is not for you to demand action to be taken just because you have reported it.

We need to be fair by still doing our investigations.

And please appreciate the fact that moderators are moderating on a volunteer basis. They have a life outside of HWZ forums. They can't always be in the forum to look out for all sorts of post.

These are how our moderators SOP goes:
Always start with a warning first.
Infractions can be given based on their post and warning.
P-bans are based on circumstances.
And if they are unsure whether or not to ban or infract the users, moderators will always seek advice from senior or experience moderators.

And we are rolling out plans to get more moderators in so in the mean time we do appreciate everyone's patience.

That said, it is never easy to moderate posts that involved race and religion. For a very simple fact, what you think might be racist, might not be for others. It is never black and white. If we are being too harsh, we are labelled as no respect for freedom of speech. If we are too lax, some people will go on a mayhem and start pushing the boundaries.

Hence, we are looking for is not just the content of the post but the intention of the post.

We hope we made it clear to everyone else. If you have better ideas to improve our system, feel free to feedback to us.

For the cases that have been flagged so far, we will take a look.

We have made our stand clear.

Thanks.

Dragon

Administrator
hi bosssaizo,

y r repeated racial/religious stirrers/offenders allowed back in the forum after a ban? it's really puzzling.

since u guys r unable to stamp out racial/religious stirring, u guys shld juz open a new sub forum to discuss race and religion*. any thread created anywhere in hwz forum dat touches such subjects r moved to this sub forum. dan let the authorities do the monitoring and the mods can sit back to do the usual moderating elsewhere. anyone who post racial/religious threads other dan the intended sub forum, give out a straight ban lor.

think there r enuff threads for such sub forum. pls consider it.

* including terrorism stuff.

Allow me to chime in.

This is quite a good suggestion. Let us discuss internally and consider the repercussions. Meanwhile we have to remain vigilant against threads on racial and religion tensions. :)

mgsten

sorry to say that the edmw forum has become a breeding ground for hate speech and anti-social behaviour.

me hv to single out a bully last night here. the bully may be popular in edmw, but still a bully dat resort to vulgarities and taunting when kena called out a bully or intention questioned.

me believe edmw lost its original intention a long time when me read the forum's description. it's now anything goes.

mgsten

Allow me to chime in.

This is quite a good suggestion. Let us discuss internally and consider the repercussions. Meanwhile we have to remain vigilant against threads on racial and religion tensions. :)

only recently, mods started to move movies/tv shows threads in edmw to the more appropriate sub forums. me very appreciative of dat change. yes, me did make such suggestion two years back and was told to ask threadstarter whether agreeable on the move. it did puzzle me and me left things at where they were after ts said no.

dun juz lookout for racial/religious stuff. keep check on anti-social behaviours to like cyberbullying. most of the time, the bullies and the stirrers r the same bunch.

mgsten

That said, it is never easy to moderate posts that involved race and religion. For a very simple fact, what you think might be racist, might not be for others. It is never black and white. If we are being too harsh, we are labelled as no respect for freedom of speech. If we are too lax, some people will go on a mayhem and start pushing the boundaries.

Hence, we are looking for is not just the content of the post but the intention of the post.

for a very simple fact, repeated stirrers/offenders very black and white. and asymmetric attacks if can't do direct.

once one is worried being labelled as no respect for freedom of speech, one shldn't be doing the moderating. this is not to contest any mod. spare the rod and spoil the child if u get my drift.

my suggestion is simple. perhaps it's time to break up edmw. the name smelly already. sub forums for different subjects. no anything goes sub forum. but if hwz is worried abt losing traffic, dan it's really up to up guys liao.

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
for a very simple fact, repeated stirrers/offenders very black and white. and asymmetric attacks if can't do direct.

once one is worried being labelled as no respect for freedom of speech, one shldn't be doing the moderating. this is not to contest any mod. spare the rod and spoil the child if u get my drift.

my suggestion is simple. perhaps it's time to break up edmw. the name smelly already. sub forums for different subjects. no anything goes sub forum. but if hwz is worried abt losing traffic, dan it's really up to up guys liao.

If everything is so simple, the whole EDMW folks would have been ban. :s22:

Nevertheless, we will take your suggestions into consideration.

Thanks Bro.

mgsten

If everything is so simple, the whole EDMW folks would have been ban. :s22:

Nevertheless, we will take your suggestions into consideration.

Thanks Bro.

true. :s13:

juz a reminder if u missed out dat me indicated repeated stirrers/offenders. :o

thx for considering.

watever u guys wanna do, dun take too long lah. it's more dan a year long problem liao.

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
true. :s13:

juz a reminder if u missed out dat me indicated repeated stirrers/offenders. :o

thx for considering.

watever u guys wanna do, dun take too long lah. it's more dan a year long problem liao.

Yup. Will look into it.

LOL. Must give boss some time mah.

Just come in not long ago.

Already push for a lot of changes already. :D

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
only recently, mods started to move movies/tv shows threads in edmw to the more appropriate sub forums. me very appreciative of dat change. yes, me did make such suggestion two years back and was told to ask threadstarter whether agreeable on the move. it did puzzle me and me left things at where they were after ts said no.

dun juz lookout for racial/religious stuff. keep check on anti-social behaviours to like cyberbullying. most of the time, the bullies and the stirrers r the same bunch.

Don't worry man.

We have talk to a few thread starter to see how best we can develop all the different sections to move the traffic. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.