Restaurant owner: Yes, we can hire S'poreans, yes we can pay more for the (S Pass) levy, but who’s going to foot the bill? Ultimately..the consumers

kl2015

Government is always held hostage by companies.

The business owners are already super rich and need not carry on their business. They can close down all their businesses to ‘punish’ the government.

This means no GST from consumption, no company tax to earn from and also less income tax.

I don’t know what is a good way forward but local business owners seldom fairness to their employees who work hard for them. It is the big MNCs like lkea and Amazon who spend money to train locals.
in China, they stop the business owners from leaving, and make them disappear if they dare to punish the gov.

in Singapore, will the govt dare to do so?

peqasus

Business costs goes up. Can't raise sale price cos sinkie price sensitive. So reduce portion. keeps sinkie slim

PortaPumper

For food and beverage (F&B) businesses, the adjustment to manpower costs would trickle down to affect customers, suggested Cedric Tang, a third-generation owner of Ka Soh & Swee Kee Restaurants.

“At the end of the day, the cost is going down to the consumers. Yes, we can hire Singaporeans, yes we can pay more for the (S Pass) levy, but who’s going to foot the bill? The companies are not going to absorb all the cost increase,” he said.

“It’s not that business is bad; business is okay. But you have to hire the manpower to keep moving forward and to recover. We have faced two years of losses and now it's a recovery period.”

Mr Tang added that Singaporeans might not realise the levy, in addition to the raise in minimum qualifying salaries for S Pass holders, also hurts F&B businesses.

“And that’s the cost that will ultimately trickle down to the consumers. Everyone loses, but the consumer is the one that loses more,” he said.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/foreign-worker-pass-permit-salary-ep-s-pass-2508201

how come so stupiak one, Ah Tang eyes only see black and white, if no white then black one

consumers can also choose not to patronise those restaurant owners who pass the bill to them one mah .... so many other better restaurant owners that dont pass the bill to choose and patronise on this sinkieland

Ah Tang think he monopolized this island like he oso papaya izzit?

thekh21

Same old musical records(last time) that they claimed locals don't like FNB hours etc.
Sometimes came across s holders in service industry when they are doing their jobs ,they don't even perform on par (eg . local supermarket u ask enquire at the info counter where s holders always told u "I don't know ",but know how get salary)

PrinceY

why must make the top management happy? dun like dun be a shareholder
U quote wrongly?? I never mention anything about management or shareholder

Or u mean increase their top line in my earlier comments? I meant to say Is they will increase sales/revenue in that aspect (the top item of the profit and loss in layman terms)

poorboy

FnB boss alway complain not feasible to increase wages but ownself drive a continental car and stay in landed

amognoix

Flawed logic to justify underpaying lower-income workers.

Who typically eat at restaurants 3 meals a day? The rich or poor?

Who typically work in restaurants? The rich or poor?

Restaurant owner: Yes, we can hire S'poreans, yes we can pay more for the (S Pass) levy, but who’s going to foot the bill? Ultimately..the RICH consumers

There, fixed.

daryl76

no, must change
later shame in front of relatives
rising COE prices can't deter some certain ppl from changing cars regularly..... edmw so many smart ppl, couldn't think of the reason why????

Prime 13

“And that’s the cost that will ultimately trickle down to the consumers. Everyone loses, but the consumer is the one that loses more,” he said.

Thish ish huai i always said sme towkays donch know what they talking.

F&B ish monopolistic competition.
But it ish actually almost rike perfect competition.
The part which gib them a bit of product differentiation, most pple no care.
Oh yes, pple pretend to be foodies and jjww abt food.
But hard truth ish after all the jjww, sho long as food donch taste too bad, they donch really care.

Sho in perfect competition, how muchie of that tax or levy can towkays pass on to consumers?

LOL!

Unic0rn

u do that they wun have interest to do business already
why do business if cannot earn more profit for my luxury life
can earn lah but no need to earn so much right!
you see in the past the business owners earn enough to buy big mercedes and landed property but that’s it, they don’t greedy like nowadays want to buy until sports car Lamborghini and Ferrari, stay in big 40M GCB.

last time cost is $1.50, sell at 3.50 can earn $2
now is cost is $2.50, sell at $7.50 want to earn $5

Prime 13

In case chiu all hear sme bosses cite passing costs to consumers, to lobby against levy or hiring sinkies, remember my old unker hard truth.

If business can pass the cost on to consumers, the business will no scare smlj levy or higher sinkies and higher cost.

It ish those business which cannot pass the cost on to consumers, ownself absorb the cost, then will kpkb.

Auzz18

For food and beverage (F&B) businesses, the adjustment to manpower costs would trickle down to affect customers, suggested Cedric Tang, a third-generation owner of Ka Soh & Swee Kee Restaurants.

“At the end of the day, the cost is going down to the consumers. Yes, we can hire Singaporeans, yes we can pay more for the (S Pass) levy, but who’s going to foot the bill? The companies are not going to absorb all the cost increase,” he said.

“It’s not that business is bad; business is okay. But you have to hire the manpower to keep moving forward and to recover. We have faced two years of losses and now it's a recovery period.”

Mr Tang added that Singaporeans might not realise the levy, in addition to the raise in minimum qualifying salaries for S Pass holders, also hurts F&B businesses.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/foreign-worker-pass-permit-salary-ep-s-pass-2508201
Nay. Smart consumers will not always accept price increases. You are not indispensable. There are always alternatives.

Auzz18

SME bosses should stop acting pitiful !
Right. The govt always takes care of SMEs in every budget. There will always be support for them. When these SME bosses succeed in their business they kpkb if asked to pay higher tax on their income. So they get subsidies from govt paid from the public and then evade their tax responsibilities when they got rich.

Auzz18

You think your food is that great that your customers must bear a y cost increase you pass to them ? Stop day dreaming.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.