Retire at 42. Possible?

havetheveryfun

How is that better than working? :s11: :s11:

it can be applied to other things other than food

for instance if you enjoy dancing, you could take up every single dance class by every dance studio in Singapore. Then maybe when you are more experienced, can teach in many different dance studios or attend all sorts of competitions. and so on.

havetheveryfun

So after trying all the fishball noodles, next try all the chicken rice in Singapore?

no idea. havent really thought about that as havent got the luxury of being able to retire at a young age yet. But definitely will be able to find many ways to entertain myself for free or for cheap.

K|muRa^84

so long as single, it's possible to retire at 42.

Married with kids- well so far only ONE person in HWZ forum claims to have done so in early 40s.

There is another lady that has been bleating about semi retirement for past 5/6 years but it's not gonna happen. For married people with kids, it's more dependent on age of kids.

focus1976 right?

rrr2015

lepak too long very unhealthy ah
i stayed 2 weeks in peaceful nz, jp small town … almost go gilah, very boring lolz
what are the "more things to do" in your countryside?. just looking for ideas …
At the countryside, there are more things to do and "lepak". :o

BBCWatcher

You’re certainly not required to maintain equity in your home to the end of your days. The home equity is often fully tappable through the HDB Lease Buyback Scheme, for example. There’s also no reason to buy something (and lock up a bunch of capital) if you’re going to live in it for, say, the last 5 years of your life. Renting works, too.

Mecisteus

i stayed 2 weeks in peaceful nz, jp small town … almost go gilah, very boring lolz

You can do farming, sightseeing, jogging, walking, hiking, swimming, rock climbing, etc?

hwmook

No wonder singaporeans are labelled as boring. You guys don't know what to do outside of work?

RMCWMR

Don't know why people like you like to rent and be a nomad? You can't even drill a hole on the wall and hang a painting or anything anytime you like on your rented property! You just can't! You simply have no freedom to do anything like that without the landlord breathing down your neck! :eek:
And you can't earn high returns through asset appreciation over long time because of renting! Your money just lost value faster! :o

Just like your favorite hobby of keep advocating people to buy life-time annuities, you just want them to be destined to a life-time of super low returns?!
Because you are stuck in traditional brick and mortar mindset. As if you have freedom go do what you want in HDB or even condo. Heck you can't even put blinds of different types/colours in your condo without condo management's approval in Singapore. And you are paying a premium for it.... So what freedom are you talking about?

You need to change your mindset. Real Estate in Singapore with the exception of BTO HDB cannot make much or any money going forward. The prices, esp for new built condo has spiralled way above what normal sinkies can afford.

We are currently looking at $1.8k - $2k psqft as a norm even in outskirts area like Woodleigh. People continue to buy thinking it will go up in price. But ask yourself how many people in Singapore can actually afford a 1000sqft $2k psqft condo. How many people can afford a $2million condo vis-a-vis the supply. Remember wages continue to creep up very slowly but prices of property are just wayyy outta reach for the average singaporean. You can sell on paper but there is no use if there are no takers

highsulphur

No wonder singaporeans are labelled as boring. You guys don't know what to do outside of work?

You already say outside work. Having a hobby outside work is different from doing your hobby first time.

Don't get me wrong. I don't love my work so much that I don't want to retire. Just sometimes I feel some level of human interaction in a work or professional setting is healthy for the mind. Even if you quit your current job, should try jobs that you always want to try.

I probably try being a bus driver for a year if I'm jobless :s13:

rrr2015

thanks for sharing … nothing new
most of stuffs can be done while living in city. personally felt no need to move to countryside just for these
You can do farming, sightseeing, jogging, walking, hiking, swimming, rock climbing, etc?

rrr2015

did you read what i ask mike about?
i asked about what interesting stuffs to do in countryside … so what are your ideals of not so boring things to do in countryside?

besides what's wrong with being boring. everyone preferred lifestyle is different. who are you to judge? lolz

hwmook

did you read what i ask mike about?
i asked about what interesting stuffs to do in countryside … so what are your ideals of not so boring things to do in countryside?

besides what's wrong with being boring. everyone preferred lifestyle is different. who are you to judge? lolz

You can sit down, have a cup of tea, read a book and find it interesting. It's just a mentality that singaporeans doesn't know how to derive pleasure from everyday life, everything is just "boring".

wetdreamx

Possible, just collect cardboards as daily exercise regime to keep fit and healthy.

OngHuatHuat

Because you are stuck in traditional brick and mortar mindset. As if you have freedom go do what you want in HDB or even condo. Heck you can't even put blinds of different types/colours in your condo without condo management's approval in Singapore. And you are paying a premium for it.... So what freedom are you talking about?

You need to change your mindset. Real Estate in Singapore with the exception of BTO HDB cannot make much or any money going forward. The prices, esp for new built condo has spiralled way above what normal sinkies can afford.

We are currently looking at $1.8k - $2k psqft as a norm even in outskirts area like Woodleigh. People continue to buy thinking it will go up in price. But ask yourself how many people in Singapore can actually afford a 1000sqft $2k psqft condo. How many people can afford a $2million condo vis-a-vis the supply. Remember wages continue to creep up very slowly but prices of property are just wayyy outta reach for the average singaporean. You can sell on paper but there is no use if there are no takers

Ask them to remove all cooling measures at once and see where is the sky?:D:D:D

NewInvestor

I am afraid I have to disagree with your comments on prices. If not for the outrageously harsh cooling measures (especially the 20% ABSD on foreigners), the property prices would have shot to the moon!

EdgeProp.sg: Proximity to Greater Southern Waterfront spurs condo sales in Tanjong Pagar, Shenton Way.
https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/proximity-greater-southern-waterfront-spurs-condo-sales-tanjong-pagar-shenton-way

Just take a look at these recent nearly $4,000 psf prices. The American and the Chinese citizen would have had to pay 20% ABSD and yet they still bought.

RMCWMR

I am afraid I have to disagree with your comments on prices. If not for the outrageously harsh cooling measures (especially the 20% ABSD on foreigners), the property prices would have shot to the moon!

EdgeProp.sg: Proximity to Greater Southern Waterfront spurs condo sales in Tanjong Pagar, Shenton Way.
https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/proximity-greater-southern-waterfront-spurs-condo-sales-tanjong-pagar-shenton-way

Just take a look at these recent nearly $4,000 psf prices. The American and the Chinese citizen would have had to pay 20% ABSD and yet they still bought.

Yeah but then those buying would be foreigners, not singaporean. We will end up like HK where regular young HKer camnot afford to buy property domimated by foreigner and old wealth. Even with these outgrageous cooling measures sinkies cannot afford to buy.

BBCWatcher

No, U.S. citizens are among the few who enjoy the same ABSD rates as Singaporean citizens, so not 20%. That’s due to a Free Trade Agreement between Singapore and the United States. Nonetheless, U.S. citizens aren’t buying much real estate in Singapore. A few do, but aspects of the U.S. tax code make it a financially dubious proposition for many.

On edit: I should probably elaborate a bit. On the plus side, mortgage interest on a primary residence qualifies for a tax deduction, but the home value cap has been reduced and mortgage interest rates are still low (and lower than in the U.S.), so it’s less exciting. Foreign (non-U.S.) property tax might not be deductible at all and that deduction has also been curtailed recently. Capital gains are taxable, with a limited exclusion if it’s a qualified primary residence. But the big deal is that owning a home wipes out the Foreign Housing Exclusion, and that’ll often result in some US$X thousands more in tax owed per year (for many).

NewInvestor

Yeah but then those buying would be foreigners, not singaporean. We will end up like HK where regular young HKer camnot afford to buy property domimated by foreigner and old wealth. Even with these outgrageous cooling measures sinkies cannot afford to buy.

Well, I hear this sinkies cannot afford to buy rather often here and there. Yet the sinkies around me seem to be buying vigorously. You could be the vocal minority. I am just saying.....

Edit : Just to be clear, I am one of those who is hoping Spore property prices will crash because I am "Property-Light" at the moment. At the same time, I try to realistically read the property market so as to time my re-entry.

RMCWMR

No, U.S. citizens are among the few who enjoy the same ABSD rates as Singaporean citizens, so not 20%. That’s due to a Free Trade Agreement between Singapore and the United States. Nonetheless, U.S. citizens aren’t buying much real estate in Singapore. A few do, but aspects of the U.S. tax code make it a financially dubious proposition for many.

Even the chinese aren't buying anymore with the capital control in place.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.