=== Retrenchment thread ===

homer123

After Deutsche Bank announced layoff 23000 , now it is STd Chartered turn to layoff 15000

Agence France-Presse ‏@AFP 56s56 seconds ago
#UPDATE Asia-focused British bank Standard Chartered says it would axe 15,000 jobs and raise $5.1 bln in capital http://u.afp.com/Zx9s

starlight318

Digging up an old thread. In view of increasing retrenchments, wondering whats the usual compensation package for those PMETs who are made redundant? Is there a market standard especially for mnc?

havetheveryfun

Digging up an old thread. In view of increasing retrenchments, wondering whats the usual compensation package for those PMETs who are made redundant? Is there a market standard especially for mnc?

normally 1 month for every year served

but retrenchment package is a bonus, there is no law that says that companies have to give retrenchment packages. all they need to do is give enough notice to get you to leave. e.g 1 month notice then 1 month's pay

neanea

Your company so ethical? Ang moh company give reason that you cannot perform and tell you to get lost and make space for thier kind

normally 1 month for every year served

but retrenchment package is a bonus, there is no law that says that companies have to give retrenchment packages. all they need to do is give enough notice to get you to leave. e.g 1 month notice then 1 month's pay

Happygirlzz

is working banking and financial sectors really that unstable? cuz i see retrenchment usually happens for banks..?? why ahh?? someone enlighten me..thks.=:p=:p

Xiaosa1

Work anyway also same. No control on market conditions. If you worked in oil and gas past 1 year also jialat. If you work in SME, anytime can close down.

wahkao3

is working banking and financial sectors really that unstable? cuz i see retrenchment usually happens for banks..?? why ahh?? someone enlighten me..thks.=:p=:p

Banking and finance are aggressively hiring, no need to scared no job

The other day I received a call to join the bank as a consultant. They got my resume from jobsdb.com. Job duties are to manage customer's investments.

My resume is a engineering one. despite sending so many resumes to engineering companies, I havent got interview yet. Then this famous bank called me to join them. I say I ish only engineering experience, i know nothing about investments. They say ish ok one, they need people and they will pay good basic salary. They will provide training.

they say if I am good can easily get 15k/month.

I work in my current job, also dont have 15k/month. And I am very good at my current job

If famous banks are even calling an engineering guy like me to join them, this means there is no shortage of jobs in the banking and finance industry.

Those from banking and finance no need to scared no job.

neanea

Your resume must have written something about your investment experience right?

The other day I received a call to join the bank as a consultant. They got my resume from jobsdb.com. Job duties are to manage customer's investments.

My resume is a engineering one. despite sending so many resumes to engineering companies, I havent got interview yet. Then this famous bank called me to join them. I say I ish only engineering experience, i know nothing about investments. They say ish ok one, they need people and they will pay good basic salary. They will provide training.

I work in my current job, also dont have 15k/month. And I am very good at my current job

If famous banks are even calling an engineering guy like me to join them, this means there is no shortage of jobs in the banking and finance industry.

Perisher

Isn't this from last year or was it 2 years ago? Or you keep getting new bank offers?

wahkao3

Your resume must have written something about your investment experience right?

nope, engineering one.
I write how satki i was at technical stuff, yet they call me for interview

Happygirlzz

so long story cut short, did u went for the interview and accept the job offer??

Happygirlzz

which bank is that? lol. so in the end u got go interview not? go liao then say la..lol

alexchia01

This is not what I know about finance industry now.

I've friends from the finance industry got retrenched last year and until now still can't find a job or just landed on a contact job with pay cuts.

Unless you are talking about low level employees or sales related, then yes there are always opening for those jobs.

$15k is probability when you can hit their sales target, but at this difficult times, could be hard to reach.

Banks have been growing aggressively in Asia since 2008 and it has reach a stage where they are over expanded. With China slowing down and US recovering, funds are flowing back to US and so are banks.

Many finance companies and banks are cutting manpower and cost at this moment. They are reducing their operation here and moving back to US.

alexchia01

Yes, banking and finance sector is really unstable, not only externally but also internally.

This is a cut-throat industry, you sure you really want to work here?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.