Revolut

zeroX26

Thanks and hope so, not able to find any post for this yet and just another 2 days more.
I still waiting to see if they will honor my March transport expenditure for the rebate since the trips are all clustered together and only appeared as 1 deduction a week on the app.

maumu

I still waiting to see if they will honor my March transport expenditure for the rebate since the trips are all clustered together and only appeared as 1 deduction a week on the app.
quite a joke right.. the last time they charged on my Rev account was 11 March, 4th cluster deduction since the start of the month.

been using it to tap and tap up till 26 March.

crystalnox

Alamak why you guys didn't switch to the visa virtual card earlier? Better than having to hope they still honor <10 transactions, or having to bang customer service table down the road.

maumu

Alamak why you guys didn't switch to the visa virtual card earlier? Better than having to hope they still honor <10 transactions, or having to bang customer service table down the road.
I'll try it next month if the promo extends but just to check the virtual card can be used alongside a smartwatch (so we still use the smartwatch to tap).

crystalnox

I'll try it next month if the promo extends but just to check the virtual card can be used alongside a smartwatch (so we still use the smartwatch to tap).
Yes, it works in exactly the same way as the physical/permanent card.

Suleyman

quite a joke right.. the last time they charged on my Rev account was 11 March, 4th cluster deduction since the start of the month.

been using it to tap and tap up till 26 March.

No need to hope or wait. You will not get the rebate. The T&Cs state clearly that it needs to have transactions on 10 days & as pointed out by a few folks, it needs to be a Visa card for this to work (since Visa charges it daily).

The clustering of transactions is done at SimplyGo side for Mastercard. There is no way for Revolut to see how many days the card was used for each cluster.

maumu

No need to hope or wait. You will not get the rebate. The T&Cs state clearly that it needs to have transactions on 10 days & as pointed out by a few folks, it needs to be a Visa card for this to work (since Visa charges it daily).

The clustering of transactions is done at SimplyGo side for Mastercard. There is no way for Revolut to see how many days the card was used for each cluster.
the TnC states this:
  • use your Revolut card to make transactions on at least ten (10) days within the month of March 2023 on eligible public transport (defined as transport on the Singapore Mass Rapid Transit and Singapore public buses only).
It didn't say it must be posted transactions on the app. So it is premature to say we "will not get the rebate".

I also don't think it is right to assume that Revolut cannot "see how many days the card was used for each cluster" when they have been charging $0.10 every few days when we're tapping (those pending charges when you use the card for transactions).

anyway, I'm prepared to raise the issue with Revolut if they do not honour the cashback once I show them all the bus/mrt trips from my SimplyGo account. if that really happens... at least I know this company cannot be trusted for future promos. I only use them for such cashback promos and not for other purpose...

(for overseas spend I use YouTrip which is much more user friendly and also lowest / market mastercard rates)

zeroX26

They also didnt send me a replacement card to change to Visa leh.

Suleyman

the TnC states this:
  • use your Revolut card to make transactions on at least ten (10) days within the month of March 2023 on eligible public transport (defined as transport on the Singapore Mass Rapid Transit and Singapore public buses only).
It didn't say it must be posted transactions on the app. So it is premature to say we "will not get the rebate".
Good luck arguing it, but if the transaction is not posted, not sure how you are going to argue that there was a transaction...

I also don't think it is right to assume that Revolut cannot "see how many days the card was used for each cluster" when they have been charging $0.10 every few days when we're tapping (those pending charges when you use the card for transactions).
Because they really can't. Revolut doesn't see how many times you beep. They only see what SimplyGo sends to them; & in the case of Mastercard, that's one transaction every 5 days!

& not sure how it works for you, but when I used the MC version, I only get the 10c verification charge once every 5 days for each payment method (physical card, mobile, or watch). The 10c charge is then converted to the final charge usually on day 7 or 8. Occasionally there are additional 10c charges but they are quickly then reverted. So, again, Revolut can't use the 10c charge as a counter either.

An illustration of this was during the previous promo, when I had trips in the first couple of days of the month being counted as part of the previous month's usage for cashback, simply because that five day period overlapped the 2 months. Clearly, Revolut had no way of knowing which charges happened before the end of the month & which happened in the following month.

anyway, I'm prepared to raise the issue with Revolut if they do not honour the cashback once I show them all the bus/mrt trips from my SimplyGo account. if that really happens... at least I know this company cannot be trusted for future promos. I only use them for such cashback promos and not for other purpose...

(for overseas spend I use YouTrip which is much more user friendly and also lowest / market mastercard rates)
If you provide them with all that, they might give you the rebate, but even if they don't, your argument really has no leg to stand on, since their T&Cs were quite clear on what needs to be done (& to be fair, pointed out also by quite a few people in this forum, which you chose to ignore).

They also didnt send me a replacement card to change to Visa leh.
You could order one in the app, or just add the virtual one to your mobile wallet (Apple/Google/Samsung Pay).

Yiyong

Sign up using my friend referral link saying I need to make 3 transaction $10 n above that it... Spend on Shopee x 2 and one more foodpanda waited for days nth happened.. check with my referral friend he say left the transaction thingy haven't tick.. so I go in check the 3 transaction all status completed..

Live check with them.. the guy say 3 transaction only 1 is genuine.. argue with me say shopee their system is not under the eligible list (which is untrue cos my friend say can).. Ask him for the list of which website can use... Say cannot disclose... Clear cut cheating... Suggest I go spend on physical store confirm can pass.. I say how I know later u guys again say ineligible again .

Previously my friends another guy also all 3 ordered from Lazada/shopee no issue...

Left like Kena scam

vsvs24

Received email on free ATM overseas limited to 5.

International ATM withdrawals​

Standard customers

Standard customers will continue to get S$350 free international ATM withdrawals per month, but subject to a new limit of 5 withdrawals per month.

For any international ATM withdrawals beyond the free limit, you'll continue to be charged 2% of the value of your transaction, but with a new minimum fee of S$1.49, whichever is higher.

LouisSaha

Standard customers

Standard customers will continue to get S$350 free international ATM withdrawals per month, but subject to a new limit of 5 withdrawals per month.

For any international ATM withdrawals beyond the free limit, you'll continue to be charged 2% of the value of your transaction, but with a new minimum fee of S$1.49, whichever is higher.
So meaning max withdraw 5 times limiting to $350 in a month?
Last time is no cap on withdrawing right as long don't hit 350?

hyperbole

Sign up using my friend referral link saying I need to make 3 transaction $10 n above that it... Spend on Shopee x 2 and one more foodpanda waited for days nth happened.. check with my referral friend he say left the transaction thingy haven't tick.. so I go in check the 3 transaction all status completed..

Live check with them.. the guy say 3 transaction only 1 is genuine.. argue with me say shopee their system is not under the eligible list (which is untrue cos my friend say can).. Ask him for the list of which website can use... Say cannot disclose... Clear cut cheating... Suggest I go spend on physical store confirm can pass.. I say how I know later u guys again say ineligible again .

Previously my friends another guy also all 3 ordered from Lazada/shopee no issue...

Left like Kena scam
suggest you try your luck again with another agent.

revolut CS is like crap. got one time i cannot use the card, kept getting declined even though there are more than sufficient funds inside and the agent kept saying "check with your bank". making no sense cos they are the 'bank'??

Yiyong

revolut CS is like crap. got one time i cannot use the card, kept getting declined even though there are more than sufficient funds inside and the agent kept saying "check with your bank". making no sense cos they are the 'bank'??
Noted... Budden your problem also solve by chatting with another agent?

zeroX26

Noted... Budden your problem also solve by chatting with another agent?
TBH, to get things done with Revolut, sometimes you really have to kick up a fuss. Its not the best way, but sometimes really is LL bobian.

Yiyong

Still cannot... Even screenshot them the items I bought from shopee... Then say not eligible.. not about the items I buy .. say it that merchant (shopee) that is not eligible... Lan lan

Elon Jobs

Sharing my own personal experience with some transaction issues Revolut and YouTrip.

I tried to withdraw my monthly allocation from Johor Bahru KSL basement CIMB ATM during the March holidays. There was as an issue with the ATM and no money was dispensed. I tried again and same thing happened again. I walked over to the Maybank ATM and successively withdrew about S$350 worth of ringgit.

However, during the night, about 12 hours later, CIMB tried to deduct the $350 from my account and was unsuccessful and then refunded me $343ish. This happened twice, I think because earlier in the day I tried twice on their ATM. These transactions showed as delayed transaction on my Revolut app. However, I was charged additional 2% automatically because Revolut recognise me as exceeding my monthly limit. I was quite surprised when I saw my phone and proceeded to chat with the customer service.

I guess it’s time zone difference so it took damn long as their part timer staff had no clue what I was talking about. All in all, it took about 2 hours chatting on the app to and fro and I was passed around the different departments from accounts to transactions to withdrawal etc. One of the customer service staff told me to file a chargeback so I can get my $7 X 2 back so I did so on the Revolut app. Long story short, I received the $14 about 48 hours later.

Yesterday, I opened my app to see an additional S$350 in my Revolut account! The chargeback was successful. So I guess Revolut is more generous compared to YouTrip.

My issue with YouTrip was I booked a hotel last June for my trip to Perth in Aussie dollar on Agoda. I usually use my Revolut but since it was the weekends, I keyed in my YouTrip credit card details and afterwards I was shocked to learn I was charged an additional 2%. It was about $22, not a huge amount, but I was upset at the lack of transparency and honesty from Agoda. I emailed the hotel who told me they did not charge the 2%, it’s Agoda, and then I emailed them and they said coz my booking was routed through booking.com so I was levied an additional 2% by them for using credit card. They told me it’s standard policy and there’s nothing I can do as the booking is non-refundable.

So I wrote in to YouTrip and they told me I have to file a chargeback for them to investigate. But they say need to wait something like 60-90 days for the merchant to complete the transaction or something, so I waited, then YouTrip have to email me an e-form which I have to fill up and all and email them back. I waited and waited until two weeks ago I finally receive my $22 back, after more than 9 months.

You can say YouTrip is more careful, or Revolut is less strict, but this is my own two personal experiences with them and you can draw your own conclusions.

wwenze

Standard customers

Yea... I already decided on revolut a few weeks prior then see them pull this :(

$350 can use for wat :(

Sad to see this for overseas ATM solutions when the only alternative left is a company with close connections to EZ-Link

Guess I'm going to have to stick to traditional bank accounts and wire transfer

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.