Revolut

dynlim

Now on Fitbit Pay:
“ Fitbit devices currently supported include the Versa, Versa 2, Charge 3, and Ionic models.”

furryballs

Same also $200 got reverted. Reflected in balance. Imagine u spend this $200 then balance left zero..anywya not consumer fault

I emptied the reverts arising from merchants not posting within 7days, left zero balance. Today i saw my balance turn negative, with a few transactions suddenly validated showing (delayed transaction). So eventually they will claw back. Wonder if revolut is going to contact me to top up. I will. Its only a couple of hundred dollars

Charlie_Zhan

NWuLNY1.jpg

arctician

I emptied the reverts arising from merchants not posting within 7days, left zero balance. Today i saw my balance turn negative, with a few transactions suddenly validated showing (delayed transaction). So eventually they will claw back. Wonder if revolut is going to contact me to top up. I will. Its only a couple of hundred dollars

Last time transferwise cso called me topup and they follow up very closely.

You actually made effort to empty the acc, I just leave balance inside for them to deduct. For me the benefits from revoult far outweigh the few hundred dollars

soxwork

How much do u guys typically leave inside this card ?

I leave abt $500 avail for my txns

xiaowhois

you can choose not to topup return but they got your particulars. just topup and return back lo unless u wish to test their course of action

arctician

you can choose not to topup return but they got your particulars. just topup and return back lo unless u wish to test their course of action

i doubt they will do much, for few hundred dollars at most get CSO to call you and topup, most sinkie will topup, who will be so unethical to refuse payment for item or svcs purchased just because there was a technical issue.

RedsYWNA

How much do u guys typically leave inside this card ?

I leave abt $500 avail for my txns

I can only topup <$500 as a new user, despite getting the card for 2.5 weeks and I have not made any cash withdrawals at all.

There's no transparency on when the limits will be lifted and to what levels Revolut will allow top-ups.

Certainly cant depend on Revolut to buy a Chanel bag for instance.

fr33d0m

I can only topup <$500 as a new user, despite getting the card for 2.5 weeks and I have not made any cash withdrawals at all.

There's no transparency on when the limits will be lifted and to what levels Revolut will allow top-ups.

Certainly cant depend on Revolut to buy a Chanel bag for instance.

the limit is progressive.

You have to use it to get higher limit.

Part of its KYC.

RedsYWNA

the limit is progressive.

You have to use it to get higher limit.

Part of its KYC.

That's a big problem. Imagine that you just got the Revolut card in time for your overseas trip. You reach the hotel, and try to topup Revolut to pay for the hotel bill (bearing in mind that you had already made 2 or 3 local transactions before that), only to find out that you can only top up S$500 per 24 hour.

At least with Youtrip, you know what you are going to get, ie a wallet limit of S$3,000.

iduncheckmail

That's a big problem. Imagine that you just got the Revolut card in time for your overseas trip. You reach the hotel, and try to topup Revolut to pay for the hotel bill (bearing in mind that you had already made 2 or 3 local transactions before that), only to find out that you can only top up S$500 per 24 hour.

At least with Youtrip, you know what you are going to get, ie a wallet limit of S$3,000.

then why can't you try top up first (the amount you need to use) before the trip ?

RedsYWNA

then why can't you try top up first (the amount you need to use) before the trip ?

Assuming that my hotel bill cost S$2,500, am I supposed to top up $499 daily (24 hr limit) for 5 consecutive days? That's crazy, isnt it?

And Revolut has not even made it clear what the limit for new users is in the first place.

For the record, as a new user with a $499 (presumed limit, it was not mentioned anywhere), I had gotten the card 2.5 weeks ago and made 3 local transactions, without any cash withdrawals.

Would it take a month to change my status from 'new' to 'normal'?

iduncheckmail

Assuming that my hotel bill cost S$2,500, am I supposed to top up $499 daily (24 hr limit) for 5 consecutive days? That's crazy, isnt it?

And Revolut has not even made it clear what the limit for new users is in the first place.

For the record, as a new user with a $499 (presumed limit, it was not mentioned anywhere), I had gotten the card 2.5 weeks ago and made 3 local transactions, without any cash withdrawals.

Would it take a month to change my status from 'new' to 'normal'?

no, no. If you realise you cannot top up the necessary amount you need (before the trip), then you will switch to alternative means of payment to use for the trip. You won't be stuck at the hotel like your previous example. Even if you can't top up on the spot, you mean u only carry one CC meh?

This is their product, want to use hav to play by their rules. Don't like the rules, don't use. No one force you.
When they see that sufficient users are churning because their rules are too onerous, then they will adjust or just close shop. Apparently this hasn't happened.

RedsYWNA

no, no. If you realise you cannot top up the necessary amount you need (before the trip), then you will switch to alternative means of payment to use for the trip. You won't be stuck at the hotel like your previous example. Even if you can't top up on the spot, you mean u only carry one CC meh?

The point of using revolut or youtrip is the ex rate right? For a hotel bill of $2,500, no one wants to pay $499 with revolut and $2,001 with a stanchart credit card for eg.

I am just pointing out that between Youtrip and Revolut, youtrip is more flexible. You know what you are going to get, and you can then plan accordingly.

For me, Revolut now becomes a back-up plan, in case youtrip goes into maintenance mode, and I cant top-up while overseas (encountered twice this year).

I originally wanted Revolut to be the main travel card, because of its ability to store different credit card nos (so that I can plan my cc spend), while youtrip can only store 1 at a time.

Another scenario would be to purchase a bag for S$5,000. I can then split the bill into $2,500 each for youtrip and revolut. Doesnt look so paiseh at the boutique payment counter.

Now? No thanks. Youtrip for me.

ixoral

I do agree with you on the transparency on wallet limit. As consumers, it doesn’t make sense when we have to “guess” our limit for top up and always have the fear that we hit “limit” and can’t spend when we need to. After all, they want good adoption rate, yet such invisible/inconsistent limits per user are not helping.

And I also agree, u want to use, u sing to their tune. Not happy then don’t use lo. I’m just pointing out that with greater transparency, Revolut will def be my go-to card for larger overseas spend. But for now, YT gives more assurance in terms of flexibility for larger top ups to spend. That’s all

The point of using revolut or youtrip is the ex rate right? For a hotel bill of $2,500, no one wants to pay $499 with revolut and $2,001 with a stanchart credit card for eg.

I am just pointing out that between Youtrip and Revolut, youtrip is more flexible. You know what you are going to get, and you can then plan accordingly.

For me, Revolut now becomes a back-up plan, in case youtrip goes into maintenance mode, and I cant top-up while overseas (encountered twice this year).

I originally wanted Revolut to be the main travel card, because of its ability to store different credit card nos (so that I can plan my cc spend), while youtrip can only store 1 at a time.

Another scenario would be to purchase a bag for S$5,000. I can then split the bill into $2,500 each for youtrip and revolut. Doesnt look so paiseh at the boutique payment counter.

Now? No thanks. Youtrip for me.

fone

Just tried, for those who wants to transfer to US bank accounts, it is using routing number and not SWIFT, so there is no incoming fee, if your account charges incoming international wire transfer. Ie more like SG local GIRO transfer equivalent than international wire transfer.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.