Rewire hdb recommendation

Kitaro9202

My currently hdb that i staying is over 30 year plus.
Should engage a electrician and do a rewiring?
And got what good electrician to introduce?

cloudangel

For a flat of that age, re-wiring would definitely be recommended but it's not going to come cheap.

If you are interested, i can hit u up with the electrician that did my re-wiring for my new place. He did a pretty good job.

Bweebweee

For a flat of that age, re-wiring would definitely be recommended but it's not going to come cheap.

If you are interested, i can hit u up with the electrician that did my re-wiring for my new place. He did a pretty good job.
How about 5-7 years old one? How much electrical work recommended to do?

cloudangel

How about 5-7 years old one? How much electrical work recommended to do?
5-7 years i personally don't think you need any re-wiring. Maybe just laying lan cables if you want around the house or adding certain power points here and there if you feel there's not enough..

Kitaro9202

Just to bump up this thread

My house now recently keep having power trip. I ask 1 or 2 electrician liao they told me my db box is very old need replace but also got no guarantee will power trip when change to a new db box leh.

They recommend me to rewire

Sometime i just on my tv fan and sound system power trip and sometime on light and fan also trip.

stanlawj

Just to bump up this thread

My house now recently keep having power trip. I ask 1 or 2 electrician liao they told me my db box is very old need replace but also got no guarantee will power trip when change to a new db box leh.

They recommend me to rewire

Sometime i just on my tv fan and sound system power trip and sometime on light and fan also trip.
Did you record what exactly you were doing in house when the power trip?
If the power did not trip right now, means you are the one causing the trip. Not the DB, wire etc.

Ok, isolate the zone where the power trip occurs.
Turn off all the individual 20A breakers except the zone where you turn on tv and sound system. Keep MCB and RCCB (or RCBO) always on.

Progressive testing of the zones under normal use. Switch on other breakers one by one. See which breaker trips. External incoming MCB? Indoor house MCB? RCCB? Individual 20A **?

Your electrician all don't bother to test properly. They just want to earn your $$$. Change all your breakers = $5XX. Who don't want to earn easy money? Since they can't guarantee no power trip with new DB means they don't know any thing about your house, or don't want to help you to know.

Kitaro9202

Did you record what exactly you were doing in house when the power trip?
If the power did not trip right now, means you are the one causing the trip. Not the DB, wire etc.
It trip just now I was watching my TV and using the fan then from no where trip.

Anyway my house is over 30 year liao it recommended to do rewire lo

stanlawj

It trip just now I was watching my TV and using the fan then from no where trip.

Just do the zone testing yourself. See the part I add on in the previous post. Doesn't cost you any $$$.
Wiring lasts very long especially when they are covered in trunking and doesn't have rats problem like landed house. It will be waste of money to change breakers & rewiring when the problem could be your appliance (TV, sound system, fan etc) that have faulty power supply.

Circuit breakers are designed to trip due to electrical fault. So they are functioning properly should be the first assumption. Second assumption is the appliance must be faulty.

When you rule out all the appliances in the house as the cause, then you can assume maybe wire or breaker is faulty.

stanlawj

For old HDB db, there may be big holes so check if insects have crawled into the DB and got burnt and shorted some of the terminals.

Normally I would switch off all the breakers first before unscrewing the front box cover out.

daisuki

If 30 year plus, consider rewiring. I am also getting power trips when i turn on my tv and sound system. I asked a few electricians when they were doing ceiling fan installation and all, they dont recommend me changing because the wires are solid core. literally 1 piece of thick metal when I changed my wall switch with smart switches. but the problem is, all the wires are conjoined together. So they all mostly share like 1 piece of wire coming out of a circuit breaker. Every time that circuit breaker power trip, even the ceiling fans, lights, wall plugs for the living room and room TVs including the modem and router will all turn off. so yup. when they are conjoined to 1 wire, i mean they all really just share 1 wire coming out of just 1 circuit breaker in the db box. siao.

I was quoted 3K plus. But this includes changing the db box, wiring and wall plugs to anywhere and free false ceilings for the rooms that don't have it.

When you want to do the rewiring, it is best to have 2 dedicated 20A outlets just for your TV and sound system. This will also mean you won't get any hums if there are any on your sound system as a result of a power feeding back to the shared wiring affecting all other devices including lights sharing the same wire

EJB

My currently hdb that i staying is over 30 year plus.
Should engage a electrician and do a rewiring?
And got what good electrician to introduce?
You should, and up the DB box also. Older wires efficiency also not good liao.

But issue is if you like me wires all hide behind cupboards, then need to tear cupboards also, but I just reno, so worry 30 years later. :s13:

Remember add data ports to the rooms and living room, next time setup home network easier. Re-wire and change all to LED.

Kitaro9202

You should, and up the DB box also. Older wires efficiency also not good liao.

But issue is if you like me wires all hide behind cupboards, then need to tear cupboards also, but I just reno, so worry 30 years later. :s13:

Remember add data ports to the rooms and living room, next time setup home network easier. Re-wire and change all to LED.

Db box definitely will change my wire hidden is only kitchen and was watching talking point about heater all den show that wire wear and tear will cause fire etc.

Was planning to remove some existing light and install spot light incase my ceiling fan light spoil and got back up. Lan point wise maybe ba but since I plan to do rewire might as well change

EJB

Db box definitely will change my wire hidden is only kitchen and was watching talking point about heater all den show that wire wear and tear will cause fire etc.

Was planning to remove some existing light and install spot light incase my ceiling fan light spoil and got back up. Lan point wise maybe ba but since I plan to do rewire might as well change
Think carefully the works need to be done, I would just do it one time proper as wiring is very critical, don't scrimp, better to do now than to redo later with more trunking and wiring.

Spot lights/track lights my ID got ask me to do, but I told him no point, now looks nice, looks good... but after a while sure end up white elephant, so I just use normal LED round lights, those that I can self replace in future, no point paying $80 for an electrician to come visit and fix in 5mins.

LAN points up to you, but I did it anyway, 2 in each room plus living room, easier to network my TVs, NAS, PC and also WiFi mesh. No fear of dead spots. You consider what needs to be done, where to place the switches, what switches to use, how many gang, etc.

Kitaro9202

Think carefully the works need to be done, I would just do it one time proper as wiring is very critical, don't scrimp, better to do now than to redo later with more trunking and wiring.

Spot lights/track lights my ID got ask me to do, but I told him no point, now looks nice, looks good... but after a while sure end up white elephant, so I just use normal LED round lights, those that I can self replace in future, no point paying $80 for an electrician to come visit and fix in 5mins.

LAN points up to you, but I did it anyway, 2 in each room plus living room, easier to network my TVs, NAS, PC and also WiFi mesh. No fear of dead spots. You consider what needs to be done, where to place the switches, what switches to use, how many gang, etc.
Yup for me this kinda of money cannot just anyone hire unlicense electrician to do as this concern life and death leh.

I dont mind paying more for license electrician for a ease of mind. Plan to make my house smart so i going get the smart switch myself and some part for them to do just pay extra Labour cost.

hwmook

Sorry for borrowing this thread. But it’s related to electricians and their charging fees. I forgot to ask the last time. A bit paiseh to ask.

Now, I would like to change a couple of wall power sockets. A few old dual sockets for standard new dual sockets and replace one old single socket for standard new dual sockets. Let’s say, the electrician charges $60 for one point, does he include a new standard socket? If yes and I have my own fancy wall socket, will the charge be lower or the same $60.

I don’t need branded power wall sockets. I just need standard size ones. My current ones are really annoying. I can’t change things myself because the box size is smaller than the standard ones.

Change socket just DIY lah, save the $60.

VacheronLim

Sorry for borrowing this thread. But it’s related to electricians and their charging fees. I forgot to ask the last time. A bit paiseh to ask.

Now, I would like to change a couple of wall power sockets. A few old dual sockets for standard new dual sockets and replace one old single socket for standard new dual sockets. Let’s say, the electrician charges $60 for one point, does he include a new standard socket? If yes and I have my own fancy wall socket, will the charge be lower or the same $60.

I don’t need branded power wall sockets. I just need standard size ones. My current ones are really annoying. I can’t change things myself because the box size is smaller than the standard ones.
if the electrician is nice, he may knock off a little bit off the cost since the material (socket) is provided by you, but it won't be a substantial amount, many electricians purchase from choo chiang and the prices are really competitive, which can give you an idea the 'cost savings' the electrician will get, when you supply your own socket

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.