Roboadvisor: Stashaway vs Syfe

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

dappermen

i dont RSP or DCA too, never! but i will lumpsum it as & when instead

u started which pf of Syfe wheN?

dappermen

some 1 shared is it fundamentally something New... or jus ...
Satellite-launch-webinar--Facebook-.jpg

to me: it is to make u spend & invest
https://endowus.com/insights/webina...campaign=171121-Webinar-SatelliteSeries241121

xiaosinsinful

I think Autowealth can give it a run for it’s money, currently I have syfe Autowealth and endowus, Autowealth doing the best
I don’t think it’s fair to say 1 is better then another unless you have been putting in the same amount same time for a extended period of time. (A few months means nothing)

you can put you money in Bitcoin/meme coin tmr raise 2000% , means that’s the best?

dappermen

been w SA since 2008 last quarter but redeemed them all only REcently

& this says somethg but too bad Owl & Autowealth nt here

Syfe is a 7/10 (a 6.5 if it didnt offer us gd rates if u invest 20k sgd abv)
Now, endwus: 7/10(round it up, if nt lower)
Sa? : 3 …. Not yet 0 cos at the initial yrs was gd when there r no competitors esp
https://seedly.sg/opinions/robo-war...PQS_LKWwC7WhUJCE6OE3ivhBl6XJHMRUzKPiRmWprjNYY

Key Observations​

1. Endowus portfolio was taking a lead among the 3 robo advisors so far, and StashAway portfolio was falling quite far behind.
  2. Endowus portfolio followed quite closely the movement of the 2 world indices, and it managed to outperform them.
  3. Both Syfe and StashAway portfolios were alternating between profit and loss from month to month.
  4. StashAway portfolio mainly sufferred a setback from exposure to China equity and Gold.

though Observation period is too short to make a conclusive verdict on their relative performance.
1679e6a3c6f351115b434c043825da6c524a0bf1.jpg

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...ashaway-simple.6446333/page-31#post-138030763

evn w/o the Chart, we know!
the Only surprise is STi! evn score a more thn 10% ytd
table-of-Endowus-Portfolio-Performance-vs-Other-Robos---Benchmark.png

graph-of-comparison-between-several-robos--performances.png

https://endowus.com/insights/q3-202...view&utm_campaign=291021-Update-Q3Performance
Spk w ONLY facts , not Emotions

midnightinparis

I don’t think it’s fair to say 1 is better then another unless you have been putting in the same amount same time for a extended period of time. (A few months means nothing)

you can put you money in Bitcoin/meme coin tmr raise 2000% , means that’s the best?
Ah I’ve been in stashaway and Autowealth since 2019 I think? Syfe only in 2020. Not a long time by investing standards (only 3 years) but long enough for me to draw initial conclusions

dappermen

eeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwwwwww
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...ashaway-simple.6446333/page-31#post-138066999
must reduce rating 4 SYFE!

After i sold my Robo Syfe eqty!!!!!!!!!!a Telegraphic Transfer in USD to another bank is a total of USD 29.29 charge by DBS bank!!!!!!!!!!!Whopping 1.22% of my returns Down!!!!!!Really Daylight robbery!!!!!!!!!!! many of u invested in 10Ks or MUch MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!although bulk of u r All DBS/posb lovers!
SA didnt charge so exorbitantly!!!!

been w SA since 2008 last quarter but redeemed them all only REcently

& this says somethg but too bad Owl & Autowealth nt here

Syfe is a 6/10 ( it wont offer us gd rates if u invest lower than 20k sgd & TT is ex)
Now, endwus: 7/10(round it up, if nt lower)
Sa? : 3/10 …. Not yet 0 cos at the initial yrs was gd when there r no competitors esp
https://seedly.sg/opinions/robo-war...PQS_LKWwC7WhUJCE6OE3ivhBl6XJHMRUzKPiRmWprjNYY

Key Observations​

1. Endowus portfolio was taking a lead among the 3 robo advisors so far, and StashAway portfolio was falling quite far behind.
  2. Endowus portfolio followed quite closely the movement of the 2 world indices, and it managed to outperform them.
  3. Both Syfe and StashAway portfolios were alternating between profit and loss from month to month.
  4. StashAway portfolio mainly sufferred a setback from exposure to China equity and Gold.

though Observation period is too short to make a conclusive verdict on their relative performance.
1679e6a3c6f351115b434c043825da6c524a0bf1.jpg

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...ashaway-simple.6446333/page-31#post-138030763

silverbomb

eeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwwwwww
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...ashaway-simple.6446333/page-31#post-138066999
must reduce rating 4 SYFE!

After i sold my Robo Syfe eqty!!!!!!!!!!a Telegraphic Transfer in USD to another bank is a total of USD 29.29 charge by DBS bank!!!!!!!!!!!Whopping 1.22% of my returns Down!!!!!!Really Daylight robbery!!!!!!!!!!! many of u invested in 10Ks or MUch MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!although bulk of u r All DBS/posb lovers!
SA didnt charge so exorbitantly!!!!
Syfe uses DBS so if you're holding DBS account then fees will not be levied. If TT is between different banks within SG, it is universal that pretty much all banks levy a fee for this inter bank TT, not so much to do with Syfe but a bank thing that users got to take into effect and make a informed decision on their end. The decision is made much simpler for DBS multicurrency users than a non DBS

walsly

noob endowus user here... am thinking of redeeming the entirety of my advised portfolio n switch it to smart funds only...im just gonna pick the 2 lionglobal and dimensional funds and remove the emerging mkt elements altogether... i know endowus added the latter to capture potential upticks in the emerging mkt but so far they are lagging behind the US mkt... tldr: am just gonna have my funds be US-focused. is it a stupid move? i mean even w the advised portfolio it is alrdy US-centric liao

dappermen

Indvly will b cheaper fees….

Emergg mkts will have potential in the Long term, u can opt not to hve them for now
But many will see it as it is “cheaper” to get them now…

Since your decision is made, nothing much to help u as it is your financial pf….

Is this cash or cpf?
Since when u started? Not noob le lah
How was the % return in your adv pf? Twr…

walsly

Indvly will b cheaper fees….

Emergg mkts will have potential in the Long term, u can opt not to hve them for now
But many will see it as it is “cheaper” to get them now…

Since your decision is made, nothing much to help u as it is your financial pf….

Is this cash or cpf?
Since when u started? Not noob le lah
How was the % return in your adv pf? Twr…
i started cpf around feb this year.. overall return 12.54%... if looking at the indv lionglobal funds they are 22%++ and 17%++ respectively... the other 2 fassa n schroder asia negative lol.

my cash started around sep/oct.. overall return now is 3%++.. dimensional global and lionglobal us are 3.4%++ and 5%++ respectively ... the other 2 jitao negative also lol....

im just thinking... in order for me to remove the emergin mkt funds altogether wld it be dumb for me to redeem all n buy in now the funds i need at a higher price? im trying to figure out if this is indeed the case... since etf prices follow closely to their nav which is derived frm the value of the underlying assets right?

walsly

i started cpf around feb this year.. overall return 12.54%... if looking at the indv lionglobal funds they are 22%++ and 17%++ respectively... the other 2 fassa n schroder asia negative lol.

my cash started around sep/oct.. overall return now is 3%++.. dimensional global and lionglobal us are 3.4%++ and 5%++ respectively ... the other 2 jitao negative also lol....

im just thinking... in order for me to remove the emergin mkt funds altogether wld it be dumb for me to redeem all n buy in now the funds i need at a higher price? im trying to figure out if this is indeed the case... since etf prices follow closely to their nav which is derived frm the value of the underlying assets right?
sorry just to add on if i wasnt clear... im afraid of buying in at a higher price which may potentially affect my returns if things go south.. esp my cpf portfolio since i invested quite a fair bit into it from the start.. then again... im here for long term and i always have been dca-ing both cash and cpf... i guess for a start i dont need to whack all of my redeemed funds into it right.... the other alternative i was thinking is to leave my cpf untouched n just redeemed my cash only since the returns now is still "low"

dappermen

From feb till now 12.54% is extremely high! And u will never knw the other 2 who is negative today might turn positive 1yr down the road
And u r into:
long term (never short term)

I dont release funds just cos it is in deep
Red eg my Pinebridge india….
I in fact added more…& it turned deeper red ….

I dont have advised portfolio

Mine is a combi diy fundsmart (that time they have not introduced indvlly purchasing each fund will be cheaper) anyway it is just a few basis point cheaper
So long u believe it is good, stick to it….

I didnt sell off my diy fund smart w various Esg funds too, i stick w it but done some rebalancing, i released some and the main pf is basically intact

Emergg markts have huge potentials to come!

I never derive a conclusion in just a few mths times or 1-2yr time…..very short-sighted….
So every few mths u gonna do a clever review? And then drop those which r negative?

Unless there is something fundamentally wrong, or the fund mgrs insisted and added things which is against your principle then u drop it….
It is naive that it costs u totally zero to redeem back to sgd from your usa equities or Unit trusts (esp)
They all costs! Nothing comes free….
U can add on ie ok! But to start from scratch, gd luck…in dismantling and assembling them back (Just cos of some expense ratio/fees)

If it is cpf u r talking abt, just leave it…

For cash, as u just started: the returns are very good
“ my cash started around sep/oct.. overall return now is 3%++.. dimensional global and lionglobal us are 3.4%++ and 5%++ respectively ...”

I will only sell when i felt the amt is up till a good level and then use the cash to buy other stuff

I am amazed u said u r selling them since they r at the “low”s, why???!

Things that r high up, will come dwn, the same applies for the contrary…

is tht why u didnt wan Emergg stks but more of USA

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...pdates-part-3.5575909/page-236#post-137795812
_V_1IvaSCYJ07NsiVvVht3VtreO59eFQWA5O1y4LJ31exR1mNEt93gr4uzkkDKj8qbXroGB9evw8icrKX-KUYGrp1nC82kF1TZOgaBEPAEwLAA0LT4vcJp0w0ahQaK0EYKz0sxYX

fvmzZOYWq_tI6142yeT0sGkIYk27eR87EGRmsvF2-9MmMehb0oHpCE5pAIId8R39mFucsalLBX2E5H2ktwNq-GW0AjBnGw8JmcG9m6aZ1llsohlOoAq8OMixxiKm4GOJ2VoNWt2Y

walsly

agree... i wont say the emerging funds r in deep red since they r mostly in the range of -0.5% to -4.5% but i was thinking how u cld maximize the returns since the US centric funds by endowus r the primary drivers for my overall returns...
the prob with advised portfolio is... i cant rebalance it on my own lol .... iirc the 2 emerging mkt funds occupy about 25% i think of my overall portfolio in both cash n cpf...

but yes u r right... im concerned abt the costs of dismantling n reassembling from scratch... shall wait awhile more and see how it goes

walsly

yes i knw , they r paid to do it

wt r their Full names?

For CPF:
FSSA Dividend Advantage Fund - 15% allocation
Schroder Global Emerging Markets Opportunities Fund - 14.7% alloc

For Cash:
Dimensional Emerging Markets Large Cap Core Equity Fund - 12.6% alloc
Dimensional Pacific Basin Small Companies Fund - 11.8% alloc

FSSA is not that bad since got div payout regularly... the rest... meh.. haha... optimistically, these funds r not as bad as KWEB lol... just before I switched from SA to Endowus few months ago my KWEB was down >40%... i bought in around Feb also...

dappermen

optimistically, these funds r not as bad as KWEB lol... just before I switched from SA to Endowus few months ago my KWEB was down >40%... i bought in around Feb also...
true! SA is terrible!!!!!!!!!!!! i redeemed it ONLY very recently to let it prove me wrong....

though Syfe has bit of Kweb too

anywy ,nt a big portion, ea less than 20%
FSSA Dividend Advantage Fund - 15% allocation
Schroder Global Emerging Markets Opportunities Fund - 14.7%

4 divs go 4 this ! https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/allianz-income-and-growth-fund-anyone.6640264/ but cant OA i thk.... only SRS

Allianz Income and Growth fund​

but u might hve similar holdgs

Top 10 Holdings​

MICROSOFT CORP
1.70%
ALPHABET INC-CL A
1.69%
APPLE INC
1.61%
FACEBOOK INC-CLASS A
1.59%
AMAZON.COM INC
1.43%
TESLA INC
0.91%
HOME DEPOT INC
0.83%
DANAHER CORP B FIX 5.000% 15.04.2023
0.77%
NVIDIA CORP
0.76%
BROADCOM INC A FIX 8.000% 30.09.2022
0.75%

walsly

true! SA is terrible!!!!!!!!!!!! i redeemed it ONLY very recently to let it prove me wrong....

though Syfe has bit of Kweb

yeah... Their CIO is freddy right? i watched few of their podcasts trying to justify their 20% allocation to KWEB... whilst it make sense but no one knows how long that sword will be hanging over the heads of those big china tech unicorns... not all investors share the same appetite as them in maintaining a relatively sizable portion of china tech in their portfolio during this storm... if they have offered the option to re-balance reducing the allocation to KWEB I might not have switched...
My current advised portfolio with Endowus has about 4%++ exposure to China companies, and I could just hop in quickly thru the smart fund option if I feel ready to re-enter china ETFs again...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.