RSS old scheme vs CPF life basic ? CPF Life Basic vs Std/Esc

henrylbh

If you are on CPF LIFE, the bequest refers to the unused annuity premium and Retirement Account savings, if any, after death.

Asking a question on the above based on basic withdrawal plan on full FRS, our premium is for LIF is say 20% of FRS, when we passed on

1) Will the premium (excluded interest) be return to us
2) Is the premium already included in the CPF Life estimator ?

1) You already noted that in your first paragraph. For basic, interest earned during the year forms part of your monthly payout.

2) It should be already included in the CPF Life payout estimator.

Those good in numbers may be able to guess the used and unused premium at each age till bequest is zero.

henrylbh

OK, but there is zero erosion in the residual if he’s wrong and dies at 69.9, for example, if he hasn’t started payouts until age 70. Pushing out the start date of the residual erosion is a sure fire winner if you’re trying to fold, spindle, and bludgeon CPF LIFE into doing something (deliver a bequest) it isn’t well designed to do.

It's still a boon for his beneficiary as long as he uplorry anytime before 90.

kelhot2001

If you’re going to try to force CPF LIFE to do something it’s not well designed to do (to deliver a bequest), the most important element is to wait until age 70 before collecting payouts. You could also skip providing CPF with your bank account details, in which case CPF will push your CPF LIFE payments to your Ordinary Account. Do all that and your CPF nominated heir(s) will receive every dollar, plus accrued interest (accrued at 2.5% in OA).

You are right in your choice for CPF life, but unfortunately CPF mandate the payout to be in annuties plan which I am not interest, I did mentioned in another post that I will be more than happy to take this amount, dump with a bank put in fixed deposit (based on 30 years at age 65)drawout only the yearly interest until I passed on.I know you going to tell me no bank going to give me the rate CPF give. So I am choosing something that suit me better given no choice by CPF

I might delay to 70 payout assuming at 65, I have not blowout all my saving.
I had screamed, rant, cursed at CPF since my 20+ to 30+ for keep my money. But at 40+, I have changed my mind aboutt CPF, keeping a minimum is good choice especially the way I blowed few hundred K per year without saving. Good things is the next few years I am still able to hit substantial saving before 55

BBCWatcher

It's still a boon for his beneficiary as long as he uplorry anytime before 90.
The boon is much more valuable if his beneficiary doesn’t have to wait. What, nobody has figured this part out yet? Earlier money, timely money, and in the hands of someone with a longer investment time horizon — none of that is understood and appreciated? These are called “lifetime gifts.”

Oh, right, we most oddly think it’s best if our loved ones have to wait years or decades for a bequest that will never come from CPF LIFE if we simply live long enough. :s22:

You got choice?
Yes, there are at least two:

1. Replace CPF LIFE with an acceptable alternative private life annuity;

2. Leave Singapore (and Western Malaysia) and terminate status.

Not my plan, but life is full of choices. ;)

I did mentioned in another post that I will be more than happy to take this amount, dump with a bank put in fixed deposit (based on 30 years at age 65)drawout only the yearly interest until I passed on.
The closest match to that formula is to start CPF LIFE payouts at age 70, never provide CPF with your bank account details, and probably choose the Escalating Plan if you’re expecting to die at age 80. (Check my math on that if you wish. It could be the Basic Plan.) CPF will then pay your monthly CPF LIFE amounts into your Ordinary Account where they’ll earn 2.5%. When you pass on your CPF nominated heir receives every dollar including accrued interest.

Of course, you have nothing to live on from CPF LIFE, but you did say you wanted to maximize your bequest using a program that isn’t designed well for bequest delivery.

I know you going to tell me no bank going to give me the rate CPF give. So I am choosing something that suit me better given no choice by CPF
Right, and 2.5% in an Ordinary Account beats the banks, so just push CPF LIFE payouts into that....

....Oh, you say you need to live on this income? Well then, that’s a different story, isn’t it?

And there’s the rub. So how about flipping this around, use CPF LIFE to do what it’s designed to do best (provide you with a basic standard of living for the rest of your life), in the maximally effective configuration in that mission, and give away most of your other dollars to your heirs while you’re still alive — and while they have a longer time horizon to put those dollars to more productive, higher yielding use?

henrylbh

You are right in your choice for CPF life, but unfortunately CPF mandate the payout to be in annuties plan which I am not interest, I did mentioned in another post that I will be more than happy to take this amount, dump with a bank put in fixed deposit (based on 30 years at age 65)drawout only the yearly interest until I passed on.I know you going to tell me no bank going to give me the rate CPF give. So I am choosing something that suit me better given no choice by CPF

I had screamed, rant, cursed at CPF since my 20+ to 30+ for keep my money. But at 40+, I have changed my mind aboutt CPF, keeping a minimum is good choice especially the way I blowed few hundred K per year without saving. Good things is the next few years I am still able to hit substantial saving before 55

If you can keep blowing few hundred k per year, CPF and it's payouts mean nothing much to you, whatever plan you choose :s13:

henrylbh

You got choice?

Yes, there are at least two:

1. Replace CPF LIFE with an acceptable alternative private life annuity;

2. Leave Singapore (and Western Malaysia) and terminate status.

Not my plan, but life is full of choices. ;)

Generally no choice and you like to mention about exceptions that most would not even consider.

SKenny

I am going for the Basic option.

I do not need the additional (and expensive) longevity insurance of the escalating option.

kelhot2001

If you can keep blowing few hundred k per year, CPF and it's payouts mean nothing much to you, whatever plan you choose :s13:

Now guai guai stay home, dont chiong lor, people like me use to 今朝有酒,今朝醉,dont think abt invest one lol

But mainly dont like to be shortchanged
I put in 40, use 5 , i just want to take back 35 at any age, i am not keen to take 50 at 90 age nor am i keen to take back 25 at 80

henrylbh

I am going for the Basic option.

I do not need the additional (and expensive) longevity insurance of the escalating option.

Escalating is good if you think you will live well beyond 90. Otherwise basic should be the option.

tangent314

If comparing XIRR, Standard beats Basic at 88, Escalating beats Basic at 89.
But as has always been said, XIRR isn't everything.

BBCWatcher

Yes, and those are reasonably close to today’s median life expectancies at age 65, aren’t they?

Do you happen to have the XIRRs at age 70?

No, it’s not. It works pretty well for life insurance, but for longevity insurance it has significant shortcomings.

Mecisteus

Yes, and those are reasonably close to today’s median life expectancies at age 65, aren’t they?

Do you happen to have the XIRRs at age 70?

No, it’s not. It works pretty well for life insurance, but for longevity insurance it has significant shortcomings.

For Standard and Escalating, it's zero.

Already told you many times. No interests if you die before cutoff age.

Mecisteus

For S and E, as long as your premium is not finished, your XIRR is ZERO.

The XIRR starts to move up from zero when you draw down from LIF.

henrylbh

All are forced into a bet. The big question is what is the percentage of population that can live to 90.

henrylbh

No bet lah. Sure win one. Just win more or less.

Only if you live to above 90. Otherwise, you are only consoling yourself of sure win, more or less, like someone who said that practically everybody wins. Most will likely to be shortchanged unless most live to 90.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.