Taka your time to build up cardiovascular endurance. There is c25k program. 5km is sufficient for recreational runner. Most importantly you need to feel good running with good running posture.i increase my mileage.. 2.4 > 3 > 4... cannot make it to 5.
wonder hao people easy peasy 5 and 10 k...
I bet you felt super goodRun almost everyday. Start from the lowest distance then slowly increase.
Last week at the gym, one young fella attempted to compete with me. While I was already running for 15 mins non stop, he immediately started running at the same speed at me, but in less than 5 minutes, he went short of breath, and almost lost balanced on the treadmill. Coincidentally, when he slowed down to walk, I increased my speed even more due to interval training, not to outrun him, but he took it personal, got angry, slammed the stop button and walked away.![]()
I was feeling more puzzled. Because that fella is younger (20s), way taller and physically more muscular than me. I was shocked when he was grasping for air and almost lost balance in less than 5 mins. I couldn't understand.I bet you felt super good![]()
To run only Once a week is very hard to improve. At best U can only maintain.what's yr target distance 1st?
400m below is sprinting, anaerobic event
800 to 3000m i believe is middle distance
5000m above should be considered long distance aerobic event
training for sprinting & longer distance running is totally different. sprint is more of short burst of speed so you should be training like interval fast slow fast slow kinda speed. i saw this guy inside gym he'll push the speed to like super high & pound on it like 30 seconds before slowing down to a walk few mins later rinse repeat
longer distance say 5km which i'm currently doing just for fitness & cardio purpose. dun blow yrself flat in a hurry like @winningeleven advice.
for me i set a pace of say 9km/hr then 5 mins later up it another 0.5km/hr to 9.5 and so on but not set in stone. if i feel sheety that day i might keep it to say 9km/hr for 10 mins and add 9.5km/hr for bal 10 mins or on good days i'll be 9.5km/hr for 10 mins, 10km/hr for 5 mins and last 10.5km/hr for last 5 mins. something like tat.
stamina is not built up in 1 day so go slow & build it up slowly. running longer distance must pace yrself yr body has to adapt to the breathing & heart increase pace.
i'm not sexpert k... i only run 1x a week lol...
Starting is like that. Will deflate as fast as a bursting hot air balloon.I was feeling more puzzled. Because that fella is younger (20s), way taller and physically more muscular than me. I was shocked when he was grasping for air and almost lost balance in less than 5 mins. I couldn't understand.
I told my mum and she said that fella no stamina.

muscular dun mean can run, many dua jiak good to see nia. as our age changes fitness goals change.I was feeling more puzzled. Because that fella is younger (20s), way taller and physically more muscular than me. I was shocked when he was grasping for air and almost lost balance in less than 5 mins. I couldn't understand.
I told my mum and she said that fella no stamina.
yup. not looking to improve just maintain for general fitness & cardio health. do with weight training also. balance up.To run only Once a week is very hard to improve. At best U can only maintain.

Increase the distance progressively Lor.wat ur secret able to run and finish rong distance like 5, 10km?
i run like 800 m i out of breath liao....![]()
Go slow first n then slowly increase your mileage.wat ur secret able to run and finish rong distance like 5, 10km?
i run like 800 m i out of breath liao....![]()
i can finish 3k w/o stopping?i run 3km only